We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau Ormes de Pez
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Place”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My gf and I just spent a scheduled two nights but decided to stay an extra because of how much we enjoyed Ormes de Pez. Giles our host was incredible in all aspects. I actually almost ran us out of gas and therefore we missed our dinner reservation and he put together the perfect snack for us to enjoy in our room and watch the olympics which turned a would-be disasterous evening into something special. The chateau was exectly the experience I wanted to have in France and especially Bordeaux. It was the biggest room and most comfortable bed that I experienced out of 7 different hotels and B&Bs throughout France and Spain. We will be back.

Room Tip: I left the windows open and got eaten by mesquito's - my own fault but just a warning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
51
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed a single night in July. Our room on the ground floor was tastefully decorated - with beautiful furniture, fabrics and wallpaper. The bathroom was large with white tiles and a bathtub. Our room overlooked the huge, well-kept garden. The pool area is quiet with a nice, deep pool and sunbeds. Gilles, the host at Ch. Ormes de Pez, was very helpful and his English is excellent. Included in the room rate (€145) is breakfast and a tour and tasting at Ch. Lynch Bages. We can highly recommend this place if you are looking for a quiet place to stay while visiting some of the most famous chateaus in the world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRossen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Met up with friends from Australia here in early July. We were perfectly looked after, comfortable rooms, a lovely dinner, delicious wines. Nothing seemed a problem. Our host booked us dinner on the Monday night and pointed us in the right direction, He also organised two trips to vineyards. A great place to celebrate my 50th birthday. Thank You!

Only suggestion woudl be if they could have bicycles to borrow from the Chateau as the countryside was lovely to wander in - and very few cars.

Room Tip: Did not see upstairs rooms but the two suites downstairs were lovely with access onto the terrace an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frizzle406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed here for several nights this past May. We stayed upstairs in 'Leonie'. A beautiful old world room with a view over the vineyards, nice bathroom with bath and huge comfortable bed. The floors were a bit creaky but we just figured out how to walk around the creaks.

Plenty of parking. It was very peaceful and serene. We slept with the windows wide open so we could hear the birds chirping. The morning sunshine streaming into our top-floor room was a lovely.

Jean Michel Cazes owns both this and Chateau Lynch-Bages so you can get a wine tasting without having to pay the 7 euro fee. Chateau Lynch-Bages is very close... only a few minutes drive from Chateau Ormes de Pez.

Breakfast is chocolate and plane croissants (which I assume come from the Bakery in Bages) selection of jams, orange juice and coffee. They will provide you with a plate of charcuterie and a bottle of local vintage which was yummy but a little expensive.

The Chateau surroundings are beautiful and we ambled around town a little bit during our stay. To say "town" though is a stretch considering it's really just what's left of an old village.

We were the only ones staying there for most of our visit so it felt like we had our own Chateau. Caretakers leave at night so you on your own if you need anything. But that made it feel all the more like it was your own house. Wifi was included. I highly recommend this as a wonderful place to stay while you are tasting the finest vintages in the world!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifrflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

We stayed here for one night in Spring 2010. Our room 'Leonie' (on the top floor, 135€ for the night incl. breakfast) was beautiful - elegant, wooden floors, view over the vineyards, nice bathroom with bath, huge comfortable bed. There is parking onsite. We don't have much to say aside from it being a beautiful place and we highly recommend it. It was very peaceful, all we could hear during the afternoons and mornings were the birds chirping (and the occasional loud motorcycle). The morning sunshine streaming into our top-floor room was fantastic. As part of our stay, we were invited to visit Chateau Ormes de Pez's sister Chateau- Chateau Lynch-Bages for a tour and wine tasting without having to pay the 7 euro fee. Chateau Lynch-Bages is only about a 10 minute drive from Chateau Ormes de Pez. This was a nice touch and the Chateau tour was very informative.

Breakfast is inlcuded in the price and was huge...2 chocolate croissants, 2 croissants, toasted baguette with a selection of jams, orange juice and coffee. We also brought down some left over cheese and salami with us to accompany the breakfast provided. The food was of a high quality and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

The Chateau grounds are beautiful and are surrounded by vineyards. Apparently there is a pool, but we didnt search this out as it was far too cold to contemplate a swim. I imagine this would be a lovely option in the summer months.

Luckily, we were the only people in the four room building for the night of our stay, so we had free roam in the building (including use of the downstairs living room area) and were undisturbed (the property caretakers did not sleep in house whilst we were there). As the floor boards creak a lot, our only thought is that it might get a little bit noisy if the building were full in peak season, but we really don't know. In any case, we highly recommend it and would definately stay here again ourselves.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bubamaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2009

We stumbled on this enchanting property by randomly choosing it from the tourist guide we picked up in the Pauillac tourist office. What a stroke of luck. It was by far the best place we stayed at in the Medoc. The chateau is only for guests and has been very tastefully decorated. ( It looks as if it has recently re-decorated.) The soft furnishing are very stylish and the furniture is a mixture of modern and old. The rooms are all spacious with high ceilings. Our room had French doors opening onto a large patio where we had a picnic dinner. The huge bed was very comfortable with lots of attention to detail in the room. There was a tea tray with a selection of beverages and a biscuit snack, a lovely writing desk, cushions and a TV, which we did not even turn on. Highly recommended especially if you are interested in wine. Grape vines surround the propery.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GinaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2008

There are not hundreds of places to stay in the Medoc. We had some trouble at our first place only as the bed was too small. We went to the tourist office in Pauillac and were referred to this chateau. What a place! It is owned by the family that owns Chateau Lynch Bages.

The property is in Pez, immediately adjacent to St. Estephe. It is on several acres with huge grassy areas, mature trees and a pool. Vineyards surround the property.

Only residents are in the building with the caretaker and breakfast provider residing in an adjacent building.

The interior of the property is spacious and filled with comfortable furniture. High ceilings dominate. The public areas are wonderful.

The bedroom we shared had a colossal bed, very high ceilings, a mammoth bathroom and beautiful details. It featured views over the patio and the rear of the property

What is surprising about the property is that during the tourist season we were the only ones there for two of our days. A huge chateau to be enjoyed as if owned by you.

Each day breakfast is served in the dining room with any other guests sharing the same large table as you. The price for breakfast was included in the reasonable amount charged for the stay. You would have expected to pay far more.

We loved our stay at Chateau Ormes de Pez.

  • Liked — Privacy in opulence
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mahatma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Estephe
5.3 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
1.2 mi away
Chateau Pomys
Chateau Pomys
#1 of 1 in Saint-Estephe
125 reviews
15.6 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hotel de France et d'Angleterre
10.9 mi away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
16.2 mi away
Le Pavillon de Margaux
Le Pavillon de Margaux
#2 of 2 in Margaux
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Ormes de Pez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Ormes de Pez

Property: Chateau Ormes de Pez
Address: 29 route des Ormes, 33180 Saint-Estephe, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Saint-Estephe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Estephe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chateau Ormes de Pez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Ormes de Pez : a holiday resort full of charmIn the heart of the vineyard of Saint-Estèphe, the château Ormes de Pez is a place of comfort and serenity.The guest house, a large and beautiful mansion of the 18th century, surrounded with a magnificent park with hundred-years-old trees, propose five rooms, comfortable and bright, decorated carefully in the French spirit and all with private bathroom. All the rooms offer a magnificent view on the vineyard and the raised park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chateau Ormes de Pez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing