We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grat but small”

The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This great little award-winning and family-friendly Museum contains two fun and fact-packed biographical galleries, the fantabulous interactive Story Centre and a sunny courtyard. Situated in Great Missenden where Roald Dahl lived for over 36 years, it was created as a home for the author’s archive (which visitors can see on our regular tours) and as a place to inspire creativity and a love of reading in children, about which Roald Dahl was passionate.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“grat but small”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

i visted with my school in january and i liked it. are tour guide was very helpful she show us around the musuem and answered any questoin about him.in the musuem they had the gates from charlie and the chocolate factory

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    156
    69
    39
    19
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A unique experience with something for everyone”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

A small but perfectly formed museum which is the unique and trusted source of everything Dahl. The information on offer covers history buffs, Dahl fans, children of all ages and even little babies - my son loved all the bright colours and different artefacts he could touch. I particularly liked the recreation of Dahl's writing room and seeing all the inspirational pieces for his various works, most of which I loved as a child. The staff are on hand to add an extra dimension too with little know insights into the exhibits and stories already on offer.

An unexpected treat came with the associated, guided walk around Great Missenden, culminating in a quiet moment to pay respects, stood on the BFG's footprint, next to Dahl's grave. End all this with the themed drinks and treats in the tea room and you'd be hard pressed to find a more memorable day out.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueReZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

So it isn't the largest museum ever, but it is superbly organised, and truly evocative. It's a colourful mix of Dahl's life and the stories through a couple of galleries. Seeing his writing shed (both transplanted into the museum, and in the video in the story centre) was an unexpected pleasure. When we visited we were able to view a little of the extensive archive kept on the site, which added further to the experience. There is something here for all ages, and it was a real pleasure to visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fascinating insight into the greatest story teller”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Really interesting insight into Ronald Dhal, what an incredible man. Theplace is packed full of his personal items and his writing chair

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Asif B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yackandandah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun and inspiring”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

This little museum is a real gem, and had my husband and I enthralled for about two hours (those who have said that there's only enough to keep one entertained for 15 minutes obviously didn't bother to read any of the information on display or watch any of the marvellous video footage - let alone try out any of the interactive displays!). There's plenty to entertain and give you a real insight into the man behind "Fantastic Mr Fox" and "Matilda". The replica of Dahl's writing hut is fascinating, the information beautifully presented, and I believe there would be a lot here to entertain young Roald Dahl fans. We lunched at Cafe Twit - the food was good, and service, wonderful. Make sure you pick up the brochures detailing the two trails around the village and nearby woodlands to learn more about where Dahl got his inspiration. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre also viewed

Beaconsfield, Buckinghamshire
West Wycombe, High Wycombe
 
Chalfont St. Giles, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing