We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MISSENDEN ABBEY ACCOMADATION”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Missenden
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The accomadation is not inside the abbey but a ugly brick built building next door I recently stayed at missenden abbey overnight following a wedding . The accomadation is only to be discribed as very basis and out dated (not decorated in at least 10years ) , not plush as you would expect . The place overal needs a good redecoration . The rooms are very small and over priced at £70 per night ( not as good as travel lodge ) The place is in the middle of no wear so they take full advantage of this . The room has a bed which is discribed a double , more like a large single and very uncomfortable . The room is ok for 1 person . the room is designed for 1 person as there is one set of towels and 1 mug provided . They do supply tea, coffee , sugar but only 2 milk potions . They do not provide any shampoo / shower gel . they do provide a hair dryer and mirror and plug near by for ghds
The breakfast provided was excellent and loads of fresh toast and fresh tea and coffee available . I would only stay and i night if i had too

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma2806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Missenden Abbey Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 258 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2010

Stayed for three nights on a work training course and was underwhelmed by this venue. A dated room (its quite a while since I had to lock a hotel door with a key) with an uncomfotable bed. Staff a mixed bag, some, especially the bar and food staff were excellent while some at the front desk bordered on rude on a few occassions. The dirty pond with an attempt at a fountain was almost laughable.

Redeeming features are the grounds, the tv in the room and the staff serving food - also the village seems a nice place and it is not too far to the train station. The food itself was of a good standard.

If you are going for conference at the venue it is a bearable experience but I would not return for any other reason. - in fact if I had to attend another overnight conference at this venue I would probably give it a miss.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McKitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

I booked this for £45 via laterooms - I knew it was a conference centre so wasn't expecting hotel facilities. I had a standard room in the new building, with TV, Free broadband, Tea/Coffee, small double bed, hot shower etc - the ground floor room opened out onto a patio/pond/fountain (very calming albeit murky) and the grounds are very pleasant to walk around. The buffet breakfast (your choice of both hot and cold) was an added bonus. Perfect for short overnight stays. Don't come expecting pool, sauna, gym, room service, restaurant etc but then try and find all that for £45 - less than many local B&Bs charge.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Runthatbyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2008

I stayed here repeatedly, about 20 nights in all, during the summer of 2007, due to business nearby.

Look - it's not a hotel. It's a somewhat dated conference venue with a couple of nice hotel-standard rooms in the main building. But there are some great aspects to this place. From the top:

Location - on the edge of Great Missenden, an affluent commuter belt village. Several very good pubs/gastros/restaurants nearby.

- Reception/arrival. Very friendly and helpful.

- Rooms. If you're in the Abbey - 4-star standard. Elsewhere - 1 star. Range from adequate conference venue fare to monastic cells. Ask for double rooms as they do have them, for the same cost.

- Facilities. No restaurant but see above - lots of decent places nearby. FREE WIFI - which is fast and effective. This kept me coming back. Irons in all rooms.

- Food. Breakfast consistently excellent.

Hotels round here book up early and are expensive. This IS better than the nearby de Vere centres, and I believe is good value for business.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jcbluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2008

I booked this on the basis of the previous review plus the hotel website which claims it has a gym and sauna. When I arrived, the receptionist said that it no longer had either a gym or sauna, and the only leisure facility was the bar ! How on earth the previous reviewer could praise this place beats me.
I got a tiny room, with a tiny wardrobe, a basic shower room with the tiniest hand basin, and a basic bed.
At breakfast you're even expected to sit at long tables with other fellow sufferers.
The place is run by a local university, and if you're happy with basic no-frills student accommodation, you'll be happy.
Me, I'll be staying in a Travel Lodge next time - more upmarket !

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

I spent two weeks studying crafts. This was my third time and I was booked for a ground floor room which has a door opening on a lovely pool area but I decided to take the top story and was allowed to view the room first. It was room 51 on the east side. There are only a rew rooms on this side all of them with twin beds. Room was therefore a bit larger. Each room is cleaned for about 20 minutes a day! No elevators but staff will carry suitcases. No air cond or refrig in room but has iron, tv, clock radio, room telephone and lovely bathroom with window. Closet a bit small for two. Room includes full board and I gained 2 kg so beware. The Abbey has extensive grounds with a tree 400 years old and also crochet on the lawn. The main bldg also has a library and bar plus garden room where tea and coffee provided. Free computers available in lobby plus all the newspapers. Staff is very pleasant. Location is a small village with train to London nearby. But the weekend train service is problematic so check first as I had to get a bus at one point where train stopped running!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marianknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross H, Operations Manager at Missenden Abbey Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Missenden
6.5 mi away
De Vere Latimer Estate
De Vere Latimer Estate
#1 of 2 in Chesham
799 reviews
2.7 mi away
Chartridge Lodge
Chartridge Lodge
#2 of 2 in Chesham
332 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
Travelodge High Wycombe Central
#4 of 14 in High Wycombe
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#5 of 14 in High Wycombe
81 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 2 in Amersham
768 reviews
6.7 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Missenden Abbey Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Missenden Abbey Conference Centre

Address: London Road, Great Missenden HP16 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Great Missenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Missenden
Price Range: $80 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Missenden Abbey Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Missenden Abbey Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre Hotel Great Missenden
Missenden Abbey Conference Centre Great Missenden, England, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing