We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money and new restaurant in garden”
Review of Chateau de Paquier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Martin-de-la-Cluze
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau de Paquier
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Returning after a few years, we had an excellent welcome on 2 visits this year and the same high standards we remembered. The rooms can be a bit quirky and vary in size and outlook, but the beds are all comfortable and the furnishings interesting.

Jacques and Helene's daughter now runs a little restaurant in a restored building across the lawn. Free welcome aperitifs and and excellent menu with choices at very reasonable rates, produced by the Irish chef.

Copious breakfast round a communal table and b&b for no more than a room in a budget hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 47 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at Chateau de Paquier for one night on our way back to UK from Italy, it was one of the best places we havw stayed in. The welcome from Jacques and Helene was lovely, we booked our evening meal at the chateau and ate with 2 other guests and our hosts, the meal as superb. would definately stay here again as it is very good value for money

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiametta60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This has to be one of the best b&b's to stay in France, food superb, hospitality, rooms just everything brilliant if you have the chance to visit dont miss it!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filltek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed at Chateau de Papuier for 2 nights en-route to southern France. Hosts were very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. We were given a free jug of wine from their own vineyard upon arrival which was much appreciated. Like other reviewers we opted for the meal at the chateau and were not disappointed. Beautiful surrounding countryside which we explored on foot, the owners will point you in the right direction for the walks. Would recommend Chateau de Papuier with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Neath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at the Chateau de Paquier as the final night of a three-week tour of South France. After miles of mountain travel, we wanted a cozy, relaxing finale to our trip. We weren't disappointed. After weaving through the town streets (follow signs for St-Martin, don't put too much faith in your GPS), the excellent signposts led us to the chateau grounds. Yes, it's a real chateau, grand and imposing, with ivy-covered stone walls, a tower and spiral staircase, and magnificent rooms steeped in history and beautiful decor.

However, for such a fancy place, the house feels warm and well-loved. Our hosts, Florence and Jacques, could not have been more welcoming.
We ate dinner en commune with our hosts and the other guests (HIGHLY recommended if offered); fruits and vegetables are harvested from their expansive garden, and eggs are fresh from the chickens they keep in the grounds. (And after weeks of pastry-only breakfasts, delicious as French croissants are, being offered a fresh-from-the-hen boiled egg is a marvellous treat.)

Jacques offers wine from their own vineyards and walnut liquor from his trees. It really doesn't get any more home-made than that!

Both Florence and Jacques will demur about their English skills, but spoke wonderfully and engagingly on a variety of topics - it was really delightful to share dinner with them.

You may also encounter Baloo, the huge (but docile!) castle dog, and one or more cats may brush your legs at mealtime - all added to the charm of the chateau.

Guests have access to a kitchen if table d'hote is not offered during your stay, or if you prefer to cook for yourselves.

In the rooms, the furnishings are simple and well-chosen, not stodgy or fussy. Our room (number 3) had two joined twin beds to make up a king-size (note, however, that one side was firm, the other was a little saggy). It also contained a huge, tiled bathroom (larger than some of the bedrooms we'd stayed in) with a standing tub. Our room faced the back of the house; other rooms have Alp-facing windows so you can see weather moving in from the mountains. The stone stairs are old and well-worn, and use of the handrail is strongly encouraged for the less-mobile, or those who've enjoyed Jacques' wine before ascending to bed...

Definitely one of the best choices of our holiday, and one we'll look forward to returning to, for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank squidalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We have stayed here four times before, two of those times with clients of our small, private and exclusive tour company and we have always loved the experience. More importantly, so have our clients. We stayed here two nights (two nights is pretty much the minimum number of nights I would recommend) and just thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The first night, we had the dinner which is fantastic. The second night, my wife cooked a full meal for six using the guests' kitchen in the oldest part of the chateau. We enjoyed this under the great tree in the garden at the long wooden table. It was perfection, with tea lights we bought at a supermarket and wine provided by Dutch guests who we invited to join our little party. This is an extremely convivial place and one that should be treasured, relax, take in the scenery, take a nap in your room with the wonderful breezes. Chill out. And then, go back and repeat.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Jacques and Hélène Rossi live the dream. They have their own small chateau in a stunning, rural area of France. They have plenty of land and they are heavily into growing their own produce and maintaining a delightfully attractive garden. Luckily for the rest of us they are happy to share it with paying guests at reasonable rates!
My wife and I spent a marvellous, relaxing 2 nights there.
On arrival we were offered a choice of lovely rooms, each with beautiful and traditional furnishings and decor. We booked a double room and ended up with a 3 -bed suite on two floors at no extra cost. Our bathroom was not exactly modern, but very tastefully fitted with everything we needed. Access was via a centuries-old spiral staircase of worn-down stone. A communal kitchen (with many ancient features as well as some electrical appliances) is available, without charge, if guest wish to cater for themselves.
Breakfast was taken in the company of other guests around a huge dining table with an excellent choice of breads, croissants, home-made conserves, cereals, yoghurts, as well as perfectly boiled eggs almost direct from the hen!
On certain nights only, the hosts provide a marvellous communal meal for a very reasonable fee, complete with delicious home-made wines and punch. We enjoyed home-made hors d'oeuvres on the patio, followed by 4 generous and delicious courses around a large outdoor table shared with story-swapping travellers from 6 nations and joined by our genial hosts. We can't wait to return.
If you seek an air-conditioned box with TV, computer points, mini-bar, room service, elevator access, full cooked breakfast, etc., this is not for you.
But if you, too, want to live the dream . . . .

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeteW51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de Paquier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Paquier

Address: Chemin du Chateau, 38650 Saint-Martin-de-la-Cluze, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Isere > Saint-Martin-de-la-Cluze
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Martin-de-la-Cluze
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The châteauA peaceful environment to relax in !Reached by a 600 m. stone path. Altitude 650 m. 16th Century Château. 2 ha. grounds. Terrassed gardens. Exceptionally calm and green environment. Private parking. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing