We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights en route to JHB in the Lakeside suites. Accommodation was comfortable bordering on luxury. Small maintenance issues need addressing eg. toilet roll holder non-existent/broken and curtains came off the rail. Overall cleanliness was good. The views of the rolling hills was exquisite and the grounds were well manicured. The lodge is rather isolated and so we had to have dinner, lunch and breakfast there (didn't mind as there was lots to do on the property). Dinner the first night was great, second night, not as fabulous with an oily lamb bredie and watery soup. Breakfasts were sublime as were the lunches. The staff were fantastic as were the spa treatments that we indulged in. Overall a fabulous stay, would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoodieCPT01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time writing a positive feedback about us. I can tell you, that one year later, we have done a lot to the property and constantly upgraded our hotel rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (89)
There are newer reviews for Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 89 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Went there mid Feb and stayed in the lakeside suite.
Great views rooms and staff. I liked the trout fishing and archery. The chef was quite good as well as Melanie who helped a lot with the conference we had earlier in January. I found the bar to be very pleasant and it's menu quite nice. Only downside was the lack of room service despite being rated 4 star

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank gdelpoort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive response. We have been busy and absolutely listened to you about Room Service. We have changed that and much much more for the better. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Unfortuntely their was a problem with the electricity and we were stayed in the Hotel Rooms.The Room are neat and have a lovely view on the Lakes and Mountains.The Breakfast and Dinner was very nice ,but a bit more variety between Friday and Saturday will be nice.The Spa treatments was nice,but abreak between treatments for a snack or drink will be nice.If you looking for a nice quiet week end with lots of fresh air Kloppenheim is a very good choice

Room Tip: Lake side Chalets is a good choice
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hendrikgrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive response. We use information like this to ensure proper training of staff, motivation purposes and also to exceed guest’s expectations. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed one night in a Lakeside Suite. It was the most beautiful, spacious room - even had a dressing room - loved it! Unfortunately, it was a misty, wet weekend and we couldn't even see the lake right outside our door, but we sat in front of the fireplace all evening and relaxed.

The weather prevented us from doing any of the activities, such as fly-fishing, walking in the maze or archery (R200 for a bow and 6 arrows).

Lunch at the bar was delicious and great value for money, and you can't go wrong with the breakfast they served. However, dinner was appalling - a buffet that served what looked like frozen box chicken and frozen veggies, which I could have made myself at home.

The hotel is located a few kilometers from the N4 and you need to take a rocky dirt road to get there. If you're travelling in a 4x4 or rental, no problems, but otherwise it's not a road I would want to take twice a day when going out for sightseeing trips. Best to stay put while there.

With the exception of dinner, we had a lovely time. The hotel is absolutely stunning and if you happen to go when the weather is nice, I'm sure it will be brilliant.

Room Tip: When we booked the Lakeside Suites cost the same as a normal suite, so definitely go for that if you...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nr1b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive response. We use information like this to ensure proper training of staff, motivation purposes and also to exceed guest’s expectations. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This place is a good break between south Kruger and JNB airport.
We had the Lakeview room, dinner,B & B deal, and even had evening meal room service thrown in with very good food,and nice chap delivered it.

Just found the hotel a bit odd and it seemed strange that this place was built here - still had a good night and was allowed a late check-out ( had to change room though) as we had an overnight flight from JNB.

The hotel needs to improve their online map and road signage to give their punters some chance of finding it! The drive could be given a bit of a scrape as well, as the road surface was poor.

Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Lakeview room was very good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brewersfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive response. We use information like this to ensure proper training of staff, motivation purposes and also to exceed guest’s expectations. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very dissappointed. Staying in a self catering house and it is NOT worth the money! Furniture is OLD and SHABBY! Would not use the cutlery. This cannot be a 4* establishment. I would not even give it 2 stars! Only refurbishment I can see is some paint. If you have to stay here, we enjoyed the Lakeside suites which is part of the Hotel, last year.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oceangypsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2015

Thank you for your review. We've taken note of your disappointment and rectify problems.
Kindly report any unsatisfactory problems or issues to management. We are here to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Shared a weekend with friends in the Highlands suites on the Kloppenheim estate and what an amazing time we had. The estate is well maintained, the Kloppenheim staff very heplfull and friendly and the weekend , albeit cold, very warm and relaxed. We had amlpe fire wood to keep the fire place burning the entire weekend, great food (and plenty of it) and good company. Fishing wasent to great with the wind blowing over the dams, but had a t least one on the hook and manage to see many more just investigating the fly....... Thanks to all the friends that mad our weekend special and will surely be back soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and have good views!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JokerNev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francois R, General Manager at Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive response. We use information like this to ensure proper training of staff, motivation purposes and also to exceed guest’s expectations. Hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Belfast
20.0 mi away
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
Walkersons Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Dullstroom
494 reviews
11.2 mi away
Acra Retreat - Mountain View Lodge - Waterval Boven
18.4 mi away
Dunkeld Country Estate
Dunkeld Country Estate
#9 of 31 in Dullstroom
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
The Highlander Country Retreat & Spa
22.4 mi away
Valley of the Rainbow
Valley of the Rainbow
#2 of 31 in Dullstroom
61 reviews
17.2 mi away
Treelands
Treelands
#4 of 31 in Dullstroom
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel

Address: Winnaarspoort Road | District Belfast, Belfast 1100, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Belfast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Belfast
Price Range: $114 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate is the ideal country retreat for business and leisure in the heart of the Highlands Meander, near Machadodorp and Dullstroom and just 2 to 3 hours from OR Tambo International Airport. Gooderson Kloppenheim offers the discerning visitor a range of accommodation options, from 14 twin lakeside suites, 20 gorgeous twin estate rooms and 10 elegant 2 bedroomed self-contained lodges, each beautifully appointed room has a magnificent view of the rolling hills. There are 3 stylish conference rooms, a wedding venue, private dining room, breakfast terrace, colonial style lounge, library, pub and restaurant, and a wellness centre. The energetic can enjoy 6 trout dams, hiking trails, archery, volleyball, badminton, mountain bike trails, horse rides, tennis and swimming. Gooderson Kloppenheim will spoil you with culinary delights from sumptuous breakfasts served in the enclosed terrace to delicious dinners in The Triple Twigs, 60 seater dining room - or private function room for something more intimate. Light meals are available in the Teddy and Tankard pub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gooderson Kloppenheim Country Estate Hotel Belfast, Mpumalanga, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing