We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor of Love”
Review of Villa Magnolia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Magnolia
Ranked #5 of 36 Carovigno B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and I have always stayed at hotels but during our recent trip to Italy we planned three days in the Puglia area. After looking through travel books we decided to book the Villa Magnolia and venture away from the luxuries of a hotel. What a wonderful surprise, the Villa has all of the amenities of a hotel and yet the privacy and relaxed atmosphere of an private estate. Ron (an American) and Lesley (a Brit) purchased this property five years ago and have labored over renovating, adding and restoring the property.It was a bit hard to find, although it is on a main road, our Garmin navigation did not have it listed. The coordinates are N40*39.379' E017* 45.204' for any future travelers. Many reviewers mentioned pizza night and for my husband and I , we found this to be a very special bonus to our stay. We were able to meet other guests, exchange experiences and appreciate other perspectives. Something we could not experienced staying in a hotel. The salt water pool is open 24/7 , we swam under the moonlight the first evening we arrived. We felt as though it was our estate.

Ron and Lesley are equally interesting to speak to. Ron has spent five years making this property self sustaining, putting in LED lights, water conserving bathroom fixtures, and solar heat ed water. He even has installed a cistern to collect rain water, and grows a variety of food. Conservation and the environment is at the heart of his renovation.

I would highly recommend the Villa Magnolia and don't leave home without your swimsuit.

Room Tip: If you are using a navigation program- the Garmin has identified the coordinates as N40*39.379'...
Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank homerun60811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Villa Magnolia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 169 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

I would highly recommend the Villa Magnolia to anyone who hates being part of the crowd. The love and care with which Lesley and Ron have restored the villa and created a place where guests feel both pampered and completely at home make it somewhere very special to spend time escaping it all. I just wish I’d had more time there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

This boutique eco hotel is a fabulous find - just 15 minutes drive from Brindisi and in some pretty impressive countryside. Room was fabulous with the quietest air con and call me old fashioned the lovely soft linen and antique furnishings that I need to make a trip complete. It's adults only unless you book all 4 rooms, so was totally quiet. Anglo- American hosts didn't intrude unless you had a question, then a great answer.

Try anti pasto and no more in local restaurants until you get used to HUGE portions, but with guaranteed sun and great days out a total no brainer. Horrible to be back in rainy London.

Room Tip: I got showed the honeymoon suite, go for that, but all room rather grand and spotless.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed for four nights with the intention of exploring the local area. The pool was so inviting, we couldn't bring ourselves to leave, except to go to the superb restaurants in the area. Ron and Lesley are both very knowledgable about the area and amenities and their restaurant recommendations were spot on. We were made to feel very welcome and we enjoyed our stay so much that we have already booked for next year!

Our advice to future guests.... Make sure you have Ron's pizza lesson and sample Lesley's superb cooking!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Bozzerdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Villa was perfect for spending days relaxing and in the evenings there are great restaurants in the area. I could not have asked for a better mix of exploration and ease of a short break.
Top tip: Fly into Bari and stop for a swim on your way down.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the villa and it was everything we hoped it would be. Tranquil, beautiful, spotlessly clean and with an eye for detail that makes this a very special place. Ron and Lesley are warm and welcoming: happy to chat and make recommendations if you wish but also completely unobtrusive if you want to just lie by the pool and soak up the sun. Lesley's mandarincello is also not to be missed - totally addictive! The incredibly elegant bathrooms give a modern touch to the lovely classic period feel of the rest of the villa. We found it to be a haven of calm in an area bursting with fantastic food and wine. The small kitchenette at the back for guests is a nice touch and we had some delicious lunches with produce from the nearby town. We highly recommend a visit. We will certainly be heading back ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I can't say enough about how great our stay at Villa Magnolia was. Ron and Lesley were the perfect hosts. Lesley's knowledge of the local sites and restaurants was a tremendous asset. The places she recommended to eat were great but the villa was such a great place to just hang out and spend time at night that our group brought food back to the villa just so we could have more time to spend at the villa and with Ron and Lesley. The room and bathroom were wonderful. Ron has done a great job rebuilding the villa and the surrounding grounds and pool. It is hard to believe the house had been abandoned for 45 years before Ron and Lesley bought the property and transformed it into what it is now. The house looks as if it was a stately manor of some prior dignitary and the pool makes you think you are back in the golden age of Rome.

As I said before, but it bears repeating, Ron and Lesley are the perfect hosts. Always available for any questions or concerns but also respectful of everyone's privacy. Ron displayed a subtle sense of humor when he appeared as not Ron, but "Ronaldo." Everyone had a great laugh. As the week went on we found ourselves spending more and more time in conversation with Ron and Lesley. By the time we left it felt like we were leaving old friends behind. It would be hard to imagine a better place to spend a week in Puglia.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carovigno
4.5 mi away
Relais Masseria Caselli
Relais Masseria Caselli
#7 of 14 in Carovigno
155 reviews
7.5 mi away
CiCo Boutique Hotel
CiCo Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Torre Santa Sabina
108 reviews
6.8 mi away
Corte Di Ferro Hotel & Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Riva Marina Resort CDSHotels
9.3 mi away
Masseria Salinola
Masseria Salinola
#1 of 71 in Ostuni
659 reviews
7.1 mi away
B&B La Vigna
B&B La Vigna
#4 of 36 in Carovigno
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Magnolia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Magnolia

Address: Contrada Argentieri Sn, 72012, Carovigno, Italy
Location: Italy > Puglia > Province of Brindisi > Carovigno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Carovigno
Price Range: $117 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Magnolia, a Noble Villa dating back to the XVIII century. A peaceful retreat, Boutique Hotel, far from urban stress. Accommodation is comprised of 4 extra large ensuite bedrooms with AC. In the grounds is a beautiful roman style salt water swimming pool, temple and sunken Spa. Villa Magnolia is private and exclusive offering all our guests attentive, quality service. Environmentally friendly, Organic food, great wine, healthy lifestyle. Villa Magnolia is the place to relax your mind, pamper your body, replenish your spirit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Villa Magnolia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Magnolia Hotel Carovigno
Villa Magnolia Italy/Carovigno, Puglia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing