We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Magnolia
Nearby Hotels
$148
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CiCo Boutique Hotel(Torre Santa Sabina)
$133
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Victoria(Carovigno)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Mirage(Torre Santa Sabina)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveler rating
162
7
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
7
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizza nightsaltwater poollocal winefantastic hostspizza ovenpuglia regionbooking restaurantspreservesbeautiful propertyboutique hotelhouse guestsreviews on tripadvisorpalm treescold bottleprivate estatewent out of her waycooking class
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 173 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The Villa was perfect for spending days relaxing and in the evenings there are great restaurants in the area. I could not have asked for a better mix of exploration and ease of a short break.
Top tip: Fly into Bari and stop for a swim on your way down.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We had a wonderful week at the villa and it was everything we hoped it would be. Tranquil, beautiful, spotlessly clean and with an eye for detail that makes this a very special place. Ron and Lesley are warm and welcoming: happy to chat and make recommendations if you wish but also completely unobtrusive if you want to just lie by the pool and soak up the sun. Lesley's mandarincello is also not to be missed - totally addictive! The incredibly elegant bathrooms give a modern touch to the lovely classic period feel of the rest of the villa. We found it to be a haven of calm in an area bursting with fantastic food and wine. The small kitchenette at the back for guests is a nice touch and we had some delicious lunches with produce from the nearby town. We highly recommend a visit. We will certainly be heading back ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I can't say enough about how great our stay at Villa Magnolia was. Ron and Lesley were the perfect hosts. Lesley's knowledge of the local sites and restaurants was a tremendous asset. The places she recommended to eat were great but the villa was such a great place to just hang out and spend time at night that our group brought food back to the villa just so we could have more time to spend at the villa and with Ron and Lesley. The room and bathroom were wonderful. Ron has done a great job rebuilding the villa and the surrounding grounds and pool. It is hard to believe the house had been abandoned for 45 years before Ron and Lesley bought the property and transformed it into what it is now. The house looks as if it was a stately manor of some prior dignitary and the pool makes you think you are back in the golden age of Rome.

As I said before, but it bears repeating, Ron and Lesley are the perfect hosts. Always available for any questions or concerns but also respectful of everyone's privacy. Ron displayed a subtle sense of humor when he appeared as not Ron, but "Ronaldo." Everyone had a great laugh. As the week went on we found ourselves spending more and more time in conversation with Ron and Lesley. By the time we left it felt like we were leaving old friends behind. It would be hard to imagine a better place to spend a week in Puglia.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

the villa is a great please to stay, everything is perfect clean and the owners Ron and Lesley are very discrete but also very open. The cookingclasses we take were great, lesley is a real kitchenprincess and realy understand the art off given taste to the food. i am a chef so i now the difference. Thanks Ron and Lesley, we will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corrie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

When you read anonymous reviews, you have to learn to read in between the lines in order to get an accurate representation of what to expect. Everyone has a different perspective on what is important for a place to offer in order to make his or her travel experience a memorable one. When friends ask me for travel advice, I usually tell them that the best advice is to not solicit too much advice.

But when I was looking for a place for four of us to spend a week in Puglia, I couldn’t ignore the fact that Villa Magnolia had such overwhelmingly positive reviews. Looking over the stunning photos on their web sealed the deal for me, so we booked the week.

My wife and I arrived in the early afternoon after spending a few days in another part of Puglia and were immediately struck by the beauty of the place. Ron met us when we drove up to give us our initial tour of the villa and its grounds, and the attention to detail was impressive - the amazing bathrooms, the dazzling pool, the handcrafted stonework, the beautiful tile floors, the tasteful furnishings of the villa, the comfortable outdoor sitting area covered with a canopy of grape vines, the elaborate lighting inside the villa and out, even the pillows on the beds…. I could go on and on.

After our tour, Lesley greeted us with a warm welcome and a complimentary bottle of prosecco. We were picking our friends up late that evening at the Brindisi airport where they were arriving after an overnight flight from the States and an 8-hour layover in the Rome airport. Because they would be in no condition to go out for a late dinner in a restaurant, Lesley offered to go shopping and provide us with a spread of antipasti, bread and wine that we could eat at our leisure under the stars on the beautiful, warm evening.

The week only got better. The perfect weather didn’t hurt matters, but Lesley and Ron made the stay what it was. They gave us our space when we wanted it, and joined in on the fun when it was appropriate. The four of us really liked their company, so we opted for pizza night under the stars with them – which we highly recommend!

Lesley also gave us a couple of great dinner recommendations, but because the villa was such a comfortable place, we bought food in the markets (accompanied by olive oil made by the 90 ancient olive trees on the property) and ate under the stars on several evenings. Lesley would invariably show up at the right moment with a homemade dessert or house liquor.

Oh… and did I mention the breakfasts? They were awesome, of course. Lesley began the week with a spread of baked goods, yogurts, cereals, juice, fruit salads, bottomless carafes of hot coffee, etc… and would then adjust the variety as time went by based on what she observed that we had been eating.

And then there’s the salt-water pool, where we would take a cool plunge after a hot day wandering the streets of Puglia’s whitewashed towns, followed by a hot poolside solar-powered shower. And to top off the week, we had a late afternoon poolside full body massage by Lesley’s friend Maria, a certified massage therapist.

After reading my review, you can decide for yourself if Villa Magnolia is right for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SignorTerenzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews