We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A genuine greek restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Taverna Agrapidos

Taverna Agrapidos
Ranked #1 of 18 Restaurants in Poros
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A genuine greek restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

A family owned restaurant. Very good genuine greek food and perfect service. Ask the owner adn they will compose a good menue for you. The owner was very charming and started dancing with some guests.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hm32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    43
    17
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week in Poros and we were lucky to stay in a beautiful B and B just a stones throw from this fantastic taverna. The food was excellent and the owner and his family were so welcoming and friendly. The fish was delicious, as was the home made wine and the moussaka. We would not normally visit the same taverna twice because there are so many tavernas to try but we visited this one three times! the food was cooked to perfection and the owner made the the whole dining experience fun and enjoyable with his good humor. The views of Poros,the sea and the mountains from the dining area were stunning and if we return to Cephalonia we will certainly visit Taverna Agrapidos.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lou1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
111 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We ordered stakes,which all 3 of them were very hard to eat!! Also the moussaka was full of oil and we needed lots of coca cola to digest it. Also the cuisine was DIRTY!!!

Helpful?
Thank kinyo92000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best in Kefalonia? A gem to discover, with fabulous views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We drove all the way from Argostoli to experience Agrapidos located just beyond the Poros Port, tucked away atop a hill. Indeed, it was well worth the drive, even for a light lunch. We were greeted by Gerasimos,the owner, who took our order, cooked it for us and then served it- you cannot get better hospitality and genuineness than this.

The food was prepared with the freshest ingredients, olive oil and oregano that you can truly taste, and the meals were exquisite. We had an appetizer of grilled vegetables, and our main dishes were sea bream fish ( Tsipoura in Greek) , sardines and a fresh batch of greens
( "Horta") drizzled in olive oil & lemon. Out best meal in Kefalonia in years, even as a light lunch.

Gerasimos has worked here since 1981, where his late grandfather taught him the tricks of authentic Greek island cuisine. Gerasimos mentions that he is actually open all year round, so clearly the local love him as well.

Prices are also very reasonable and this was just an extra bonus.

As for getting there: it is atop a hill directly facing the Poros Port where the large ferries dock, so it is West of the port. Just follow the only road out of the port, leaving for Argotoli, going west. You can park at the port then walk, but it is a good 15 minute hike up the road going west- just follow the well placed "white with blue writing" signs for Agropidas. The first is large and located at the port and reads, "Agropidas, 500M" with the arrow pointing you to the direction. If you drive- 2 minutes. Again, just follow the signs and pass the steps on your first hill driving up, and then shortly thereafter you will see a sign to make a sharp right, then keep following the signs for Agropidas up a steep, but easily passable narrow road. Park anywhere on the side of the resto when you arrive on top.

Enjoy the fabulous hill top views of Poros Port, the mountains, Ithaki and the Greek Mainland; but of course, enjoy Gerasimo's warm hospitality and fabulous food. I am very glad we came here during the quit season, however, I am sure the experience is juts as exceptional during the peak season.

Enjoy this gem, especially during this quiet time of year. I have proved some pics for you to fathom.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PavlosMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Astonishing taverna - best in Cephalonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I just happened upon this place while exploring the island - we were looking for somewhere to eat, saw a stairway up the mountain with a little sign, and thought we'd give it a go.

So glad we did. The view is breathtaking, and there's no way I can do it justice here - 270 degrees of view, halfway up a mountain, overlooking the port and the village, with mountains, and sea, and islands and forest as a backdrop. Even if the food was bad, we thought, we'd have gotten our money's worth from the view alone.

The food, however, was spectacular - quite simple, not at all fussy, but the freshest ingredients, prepared beautifully. We started with toasted bread with tomatoes, olive oil and herbs and a large plate of mezze, and spent the next 15 minutes groaning. Absolutely awesome. My girlfriend ate a rooster pasta dish for main and promptly declared it one of the best things she'd ever put in her face.

This was by far the best food we'd eaten on the island, the owners were incredibly friendly, and it has the greatest view I've ever seen. If you go to Cephalonia, make sure you go here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Agrapidos also viewed

 
Poros, Cephalonia
 
Poros, Cephalonia
 

Been to Taverna Agrapidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing