We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views...close to tidal bore rafting...comfortable large room in beautiful home with gardens”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maitland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cresthaven By The Sea , A Waterfront B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Maitland B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This well maintained heritage home sits high on a hill, overlooking the mouth of the river with an amazing vista. The room was large, comfortable and very clean as was the extra large bathroom attached. Unfortunately, we arrived at night and missed the wonderful sunset. Thankfully we didn't have to get up too early as the tidal bore rafting (not to be missed) is literally down the road. The house and its large property are beautifully decorated and Warren welcomed us back later on in the day to see and tour his grounds we had missed the night before as we continued on the short journey to Halifax. Would love to do both again - stay at Cresthaven to take advantage of all those rocking chairs on the front verandah and shoot the rapids. Both highly recommended.

Room Tip: call ahead and talk to Warren or Cathrine themselves
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 85 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed there last summer while we were heading from one side of Nova Scotia to the other. It was really memorable, and we just loved it there. The family was great (we're including the dogs, who were wonderful company!), the house was gorgeous and comfortable, and the view over the water was spectacular. The bright chairs out front were really inviting, too, and we spent our share of time in them. We're looking for a good excuse to come back!

Room Tip: The first floor corner room has a great view over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed two nights in the summer of 2011. Great location - can't get any closer to the famous tides without getting wet. View from well-placed Adirondack chairs includes bay, tidal bore, surfing zodiacs, and eagles. Comfortable accommodations, nice breakfast, interesting mix of Canadian, US, and overseas visitors. Hosts friendly with an interesting personal history - involving Fort McMurray, as does nearly every personal history in the Maritimes, we discovered. Maitland area pleasantly rural with a handful of destination shops and 15-minute drive to park with red sandstone cliffs and broad tidal flats. Truro not too far if more restuarants are needed. Our stay at Cresthaven was an excellent opening to a Nova Scotia vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I had the opportunity to spend a night at this beautiful B & B in Maitland last summer (2011) and to usa one word as a summary, "beautiful," would most aptly apply. The property sits along the coast of the Bay of Fundy, with a beautiful vantage point to observe the tidal bore that makes it way in up river in front of the house. The family that operates this B & B treat you as family, and felt welcomed into their home. Warren seemed to have be an unlimited resource about all the info of the area that you could ponder to ask. Such a fine example of the hospitality best exemplified by Maritimers. The meals offered to us exceeded that which I would typically expect to find at any B & B that I have stayed in before. Really to experience the region, and receive the finest of hospitality, as well as stay in such a beautiful home, then Cresthaven would be my absolute highest recommendation. No doubt the next time that I am visiting Nova Scotia I will set time out to go visit here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

I cannot say enough about the proprietors and the accommodations. The views are spectacular! Zoi and Oscar are great greeters and very well behaved. Missing my own dog, I appreciated having them welcome me. I was on a genealogical search and Warren even knew where an unmarked cemetary was located. There I was able to find an ancestor's grave. The property, inside and out, is lovely and well cared for. The bed, the most comfy I have slept in for some time. Modern facilities (including wireless internet and cell access) but in keeping with the antiquity of the surroundings. I wanted for nothing during my 4 night stay. And I do hope to return before too long. Special thank you to Catherine for sharing some scrumcious coucous.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisenboathouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Seriously, only one thing wrong with our stay at Crestaven - we'd only booked the one night. A beautiful property in a stunning spot, plus delightful, welcoming hosts made our one night's stay in this B&B more like staying with friends. Our first time in NS and we would thoroughly recommend staying at this peaceful, relaxing spot. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable, made all the nicer by the girls' muffins and a fresh jar of coffee by the log fire in the evening, the stunning view accross the water and the easy convdersation with Warren and Catherine (the owners) and our fellow guests (who, it had transpired, been on the same flight to Halifax as us). Would definitely go back.
If you're not sure about staying here then check out the Facebook clip of the piper on the porch. Sums the place up to a tee.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This was our first stop in nova scotia, it is very close to Halifax and was very easy to find. The host are lovely and offered to make us a pot of tea and loaned us a cutting oard to cut our food. The location is just FANTASTIC and the breakfast yummy. Very warm and easy going hosts. The rooms are spotless with very roomy bathrooms There is only one restaurant in town which close early so bring a nice baguette and cheese
and sit outside and watch the tide do it's magic on your
soul. The pictures on the web do not lie, if anything it
does not do justice to the place.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanne-Pascale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cresthaven By The Sea , A Waterfront B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cresthaven By The Sea , A Waterfront B&B

Address: 19 Ferry Lane, Maitland, Nova Scotia B0N 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Maitland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maitland
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cresthaven By the Sea, a spectacular 4 star waterfront bed and breakfast is the jewel of the Fundy Shore. An 1850's ship builder's home meets modern luxury and comfort. Each suite is complimented with a queen bed and full, private ensuite and spectacular views of the worlds highest tides. Our guests are invited to relax and mingle around our wood burning fireplace in the greatroom, or watch the tidal bore and eagles soar while sitting in our adirondack chairs at the water's edge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Nova Scotia
Nova Scotia Country Inn
Cresthaven By The Sea , A Waterfront B&B Maitland, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing