We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun on the river”

Shubenacadie River Runners
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Maitland
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun on the river”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived at Maitland on the way to Truro and were not intending to go out on the river that afternoon but called in to make a booking and ended up going later that day. What a laugh we had with Keith who took out - there were three boats and we were in the boat with a little boy called Ali. Safety was obviously paramount during the whole time we were out but we had great fun and laughed so much as we got soaked by the waves. We went into whirlpools and crashed through the waves. It was not a very high bore that day but that suited us fine and we were able to see wildlife as we went up the river. We had a great few hours and cannot thank the people at Rivver Runners for giving us such a memorable experience. Would love to return one day. One problem was that it is difficult to take photos during the experience but Keith took the photo of us all at the end when we were all thoroughly soaked and it was not a fashion moment!. Loved the hot chocolate!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    20
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
dundee
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic day”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

we were visiting from Scotland and had the best day of our holiday, Jeremy was a great guide and great fun, for a guy guy he could handle the raft. never experienced anything like this before, we were over on 2nd Sep the highest tide we were told, 3 hours of pure mad fun, thanks for a great time, would tell any thrill seeker to givve it a go!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 844caroline_n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“a blast!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is one of the most exciting things you can do in Nova Scotia. Although we didn't have the best tide conditions due to lots of rain, our very authentic local guide Allie, made it a very memorable experience. We loved watching the tide completely cover the sandbar we stopped on within just a few minutes. We had a fun mix of people on our boat and just watching the difference of low and high tide from a boating perspective was really cool. Would love to try this with the monster waves they had just a few days before we got there. The guides are very fun very knowledgable and very professional. The warm hot chocolate waiting for you at the end of the trip is a nice touch. This should be at the top of anyone's list while visiting Nova Scotia.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Do It Again!!!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Went on August 25, 2012. This was the most fun I've had on the water in my 34 years. Our adorable guide Tom was calm and collected as he grinned while sending us crashing over 16-foot waves. My sides hurt from laughing after sitting up front and hanging on for dear life. but it's totally safe. We went on an extreme day and had three kids in our boat. Don't be afraid to go...I got nervous and almost chickened out at the last second and am forever glad that I didn't. Planning another week-long trip to Nova Scotia next summer and setting aside two days so I can do it twice more, even on my limited budget!! Thank you all at River Runners for making this melancholy gal hoot and holler for three hours straight like I didn't have a care in the world. Definitely a highlight of my life and I'll never forget it :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Shawna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, ON
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Most fun in years!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We were a family of 9 on this tour. It was absolutely fantastic! Our guide, Hugh, made the trip so fun. He was very knowledgeable and entertaining. We got absolutely soaked and couldn't stop laughing the whole time. The company is very well organized and all the equipment is in great shape. Nice to have the hot showers at the end along with a cup of tea/coffee/hot chocolate. Would definitely recommend this tour and would definitely do it again!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shubenacadie River Runners also viewed

South Maitland, Nova Scotia
Maitland, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Shubenacadie, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Shubenacadie River Runners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing