We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and lots to look at”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maitland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tidal Life Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 3 Maitland B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2012

there was lots to like---a large room, modern bathroom, art on every inch of wallspace, books galore to browse, tasty breakfast, accommodating hosts.

Don't expect to find much to do in Maitland, however, and there was only one restaurant, which was fine. We stayed here because it was close to our river rafting excursion the next day. If you want lively, though, Maitland is not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 37 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days after a seven day whirlwind tour of Cape Breton Island in a 21 foot motor home. By then we needed some R&R and space. This place definitely fit the bill. After only an hour or two we had amorphisized with the house. Its a 150 year old Farm house which Kelly and friend Steven have decorated with local folk art,and paintings. ( some of them are works from Kelly.) Kelly also owns Bings the local eatery and social gathering place. Great food and service. One afternoon my wife and I enjoyed a bottle of wine with assorted cheeses on the balcony. We plan on coming back next year and tour around the southern shore. As an off shoot, the white water tidal bore rafting is a must. But take your own desposible camera.
Thanks again Kelly and Steve.

Room Tip: We loved the Blue Room, what a beautiful sun set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Lovely village, lovely house, lovely room, lovely welcome. Best drinking water found on a 5 week trip to Canada. (Much better than I have to drink at home, but that's not difficult.)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam635836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

This isn't your floral chintz B & B, but instead is a rambling house filled with quirky, unexpected touches. Pluses are a great breakfast, a lounge for guests with comfortable sofas and chairs (and lots of board games), books you'd never come across anywhere else (I spent some time with the story of a Nova Scotian sailor), and a host who always has something on the go. Two caveats - all guest rooms share one bath which could be dicey if there's a full house, and the age of the house means it has a mustiness that can set off mold/mildew sensitivities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelbing, Owner at The Tidal Life Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Thanks for the review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay! Just to clarify a few points. The house has more than three full washrooms, only one is designated per room. No one ever has to share a washroom, we take bookings based on that alone. Also, this house is 150 year old heritage home, so it doesn’t have loads of character, but the house is tested on a yearly basis, given it’s age, and it is 100% mold free. We apologize if you had any sensitivities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

I travelled with 4 of my best mates to this beautiful country town and stayed at this guesthouse!!! And my goodness, I could not have wished for anything better. Kelly and his mascots (Louie and Armstrong) make you feel so warm and welcomed to be in their home. It truly is a home away from home. And even then, it may just be that little bit better. From croquet to sitting around a fire, venturing out in the woods to ghost tours. I had the best four days of my holiday here at Tidal Life Guesthouse and there will be so many moments and memories I will never forget. Kelly will be able to tell you anything you want to know in the area and about his home "hint hint", be sure to ask the history of this amazing 150 year old pleasure. Kelly transformed this amazing place into a guesthouse with the utmost character and heart-filled home I have ever seen, and the best part is, he wants to share it with everyone. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!! Thanks for such an amazing holiday Kelly x

Room Tip: No need for a tip here. The room will pick you :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

A group of 4 of us (Australians) stayed at this fantastic b&b. The 140 year old house as a charm all its own with a spacious yet coosy feel. All the rooms were very comfortable each with its own style. Kelly was am amazing host making at all feel right at home. His knowledge of the areas history was of great interest to me.We even had a day of Croquet and drinks in the huge grounds around the house. Bings restaurant only a min away from the b&b is must do in maitland with great food and beer selection.
This was an undoubted highlight of my 8 week north america trip that i couldn't recommend higher to any traveller.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taylorwoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

I spent 4 days at the Tidal Life Guesthouse and it was truly a magical experience. Kelly (the owner), Louie and Armstrong (the dogs) were amazing hosts, they were extremely warm and welcoming and accommodating into their home, which made it hard to leave to see the sights of Maitland. Kelly who also owns Bing's Restaurant, which is located about a 3 minute drive up the road, served up beautiful and delicious food, with a variety of beer. I can't fault anything about my stay and look forward to coming back to Maitland from Australia just to experience it again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirstie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Tidal Life Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tidal Life Guesthouse

Address: 78 Cedar Rd, Maitland, Nova Scotia B0N 1T0, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Maitland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Maitland
Price Range: $31 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tidal Life Guesthouse is a laid back and eclectic house built in the 1850's. It caters to all walks of life, is situated on 13 acres of lush wetlands, and boasts four distinct rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Tidal Life Guesthouse Maitland, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing