We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A wonderful stay....so welcoming and lovely environment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Le Zagare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hotel Le Zagare
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gragnano
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay....so welcoming and lovely environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a fantastic stay here, it is an ideal location, views of Vesuvius close to the main roads to visit the Amalfi coast and Sorrento and a ten minute drive from Pompeii. It is on a slight hill so we could look down across Naples. The staff were so very helpful, always available and keen to make our stay as comfortable as possible. If the swimming pool had been more accessible in the afternoons it would have been scored a 5, but there were lots of weddings so only had pool access 3/10 days in the afternoon. We thoroughly recommend this hotel and staying on the roof with a jacuzzi outside was fantastic! Thank you to everyone.

Room Tip: Ask to face vesuvius or be on roof with jacuzzi outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    61
    24
    8
    14
See reviews for
99
74
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have just stayed for a week to celebrate out 30th wedding anniversary

The Good: The hotel is quite spectacular in style with chandeliers, elaborate decor and furnishings and very clean. We were welcomed warmly and given a welcoming ( soft) drink before being shown to our room which was large and clean with a huge bed, a balcony area which opened onto a rooftop patio with a (cold) jacuzzi and specactular views of Naples and Vesuvius. The air con was super efficient. Breakfast was very good ( although the coffee wasnt great) The Hotel is in a central location for the Bay of Naples and very close to Pompeii ( but see below) The evening meal is of a good standard ( but see below) The staff are excellent, helpful, hardworking and cheerful and although their English was limited we had no problems with communication.

Not so good: The Hotel is situated in a nondescript area of Napolitan urban sprawl- our hearts sank as we navigated the last few miles to the hotel although the hotel itself was a very pleasant surprise and has a very large free car park. The Zagare is mainly and wedding and event venue with an event every day that we were there. These take priority over guests and most of the gardens and faciltiies are taken over by these from midday onwards.The pool is closed to guests from midday One was not actually prevented from using other areas but one felt like one was gatecrashing a wedding. These were large events with much tuneless singing, daddy dancing and excitable children (although none of the drunken antics one associates with a British wedding) They mostly finished with fireworks at around 9-10pm. There were only a handful of hotel guests and evening meals were fitted around the requirements of the wedding parties. The food was good and not too expensive but with a very limited choice which didnt change much. The wine list was limited and the house red undrinkably bad although I can recommend the local Gragnano sparkling red which is served chilled and goes with most things ( although it was less than half the price at the pizzeria down the road). We would have liked to eat out but the hotel is situated in a very down at heel industrial zone and the only restaurant within walking distance was a huge (but very good) pizzeria 300yards up the road. The alternative would have been a long and terrifying drive through the (frankly bonkers) Naples traffic which would have meant that the driver couldnt drink. For our anniversary itself we chose to eat in our room- which was lovely watching the sun set over vesuvio but room service is fairly expensive.

Getting Out and About:

The Hotel offers a shuttle service to the nearest train station and to pompeii but this cost Euro10 per person and one has to phone and then wait for 15-20 minutes to be collected. We had our own car and chose most days to drive to Pompeii Scavi station and catch the cirumvesuviana train which takes you to Naples, Herculaneum, and Sorrento and is every 30 min and very reasonably priced. ( A useful tip: If you have hired from Europcar and can produce your contract or if you spend more than 40 Euro in the next door restaurant and get your parking ticket franked then parking in the camping car park is free rather than E2.50 per hour) In my opinion a free regular shuttle to the local station would be the single biggest improvent that could be made to this hotel- given its isolated location.

From Sorrento there is an excellent cheap regular bus service to Amalfi going through Positano. Do be aware that queueing/ taking turns is a foreign concept in this part of Italy. If the bus is nearly full then it is the the one with the sharpest elbows who gets on not the one who was there first- If you are not prepared to barge children and old people aside you could spend all day at the bus stop and still not get on.

If you have a car it is well worth driving up into the mountains behind the hotel to the mountain town of Agerola from wether you can walk the stupendous Walk of the Gods which goes from the mountains down to the coast with some of the most spectacular scenery I have ever seen. It finsished with 1800 ( !) steps down to Positano from where you can catch the bus to Amalfi and then back to Agerola.

If driving anywhere near Naples be prepared for other cars to stop, pull out without looking, reverse at high speed towards you, overtake on blind bends, go the wrong way round roundabouts, ignore stop signs and red lights and generally fulfill all the sterotypes about Italian drivers. Any hesitation to launch oneself into the melee will be rewarded by much honking of horns from behind. Pedestrian crossings are regarded as a way of herding pedestrians together so they are easier to run over. Scooters ( often carrying several children or a bored looking young man with the obligatory gorgeous girl riding pillion) will try to squeeze through any gap of more than an inch at full speed.

Would I stay again? A qualified yes. We had a great time but I would probably treat this as a posh B&B rather than a hotel. The hotel would be massively improved by having a free regular shuttle service to the local station so that one could visit the many atractions of the localityand eat out in the evenings without having to hire a car and brave the horrendous Napolitan traffic.

Room Tip: We had a top floor room which opened onto a sunbathing area and Jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

The hotel is located in a bit of a backwater with no tourist attractions within walking distance. A car is a must. But what a diamond we found. When we arrived the reception staff could not have been more helpful. Not being in the tourist area English was not commonly spoken but we managed to get by.
One of the receptionist, Francesca I think she was called, was particularly helpful and very friendly.
The hotel has a reputation for weddings. We were there for 6 nights and there were three weddings. All were finished before 11pm and none detracted from the stay.
The buildings are very well maintained and kept spotlessly clean.
Would we stay there again? - definitely.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front will be quieter and look out over the valley towards Vesuvius
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A_J0hn_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
204 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Oh my goodness! We are driving through Italy for one month and we booked here for one night and loved it so much we stayed another. Now, every other hotel cannot compare to the beauty and service of Le Zagare. All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially Pina. Our balcony was very large, the bed linens luxurious, and the food and service in the restaurant outstanding! The staff were continually cleaning and polishing this spotless gem! We hope to return one day!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pattyjo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

What an amazing hotel with a "cream de la cream staff" (especially Ms. Ana and Ms. Teresa). We spent three nights in the month of November and we loved it. Our experience was very positive. The grounds meticulously manicured with water fall, fountains, Palms, lighting and many architectural features in contrast to the surrounding run-down community, a perfect oasis. The staff treated us like family, very attentive to our needs. The room was very clean with a beautiful view of the garden from the balcony. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and recommend it highly to those visiting local sites.

Room Tip: With a view of the Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luigig2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in Villa Le Zagare for 4 days 3 days, We arrived to the very warm welcoming receptionist, who was also our waitress at the restaurant. The restaurant was very nice, Food Quality was good, price was okay.. The breakfast had a lot of choices and friendly chefs!!
The room was spacious, we had 2 twins and 1 king bed and still extra space.. We had a nice sized terrace area with a table and an okay view.
The bathroom was a nice, big! just around the corner from our room was a large patio space with a viewing tower, which had view to Vesuvius and the ocean! The area had deck chairs, a cold jacuzzi.. just around the corner from our room was a large patio space with a viewing tower, which had view to Vesuvius and the ocean! The area had deck chairs, a cold jacuzzi... hotel had many rooms for parties such as weddings, sweet 16's etc, which made it very easily noticeable that is their specialty. The garden is beautiful! Big, spacious, calm & peaceful space! The pool is small & cold, although I did not swim in it, I noticed it was not heated nor had been cleaned in quite a while.. The location is amazing! 15 minutes from Pompei, 30 from Herculano, 45 from Naples, 40 from Amalfi and 1h approx. from the Naples Int. Airport.

But... the bad thing about the amazing hotel was that we where alone in the hotel. Staff always asking if and when we will have our included meal. The hotel was very quite and we so was the restaurant when we ate/ had the whole restaurant to ourselves, other than the 1 CD that kept on playing on- and-on all through the hotel! We also had one of the residents of Villa le Zagares dogs barking ALL NIGHT! Which was a downfall to the 4* rating!

Not my type of hotel, if you feel like it's your type either I wouldn't go for Villa le Zagare

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor will be farther away from the dog bark and street noises-- Facing the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaAlmeida08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Super clean and elegant hotel,very nice staff and the view from our room-202-I will never forget it!!!
Very rich breakfast,good value for money.
They received us with an welcome drink and gave us a little present when we left.
Garden was spectacular,reception like in movies.
Yes,it is true that surroundings in Gragnano are not so nice,but all that zone -including Napoli the town of contrasts and contradictions-are something spectacular.For us it was the 3 time to visit all region and I can say it is not enough.
I hardly left it.
I will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beautifulitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your comment!
We're always satisfied when we become positive comments! We really hope to have you again as our guests.
Best regards from the staff
Villa Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gragnano
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
#1 of 1 in Sant'Antonio Abate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
#1 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#3 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Miramare Stabia
Hotel Miramare Stabia
#2 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
3.6 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Elisabetta
Hotel Elisabetta
#6 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Le Zagare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Le Zagare

Property: Grand Hotel Le Zagare
Address: Via Visitazione 68, 80054 Gragnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Gragnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gragnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Le Zagare 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Le Zagare, charming manor house for unforgettable stays, is strategically located in Gragnano, famous for its Pasta factories, between the Amalfi Coast and Sorrento Peninsula. Come stay, and enjoy the best that the area has to offer from Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, to Capri, Amalfi and Sorrento. We really recommend to taste the famous Pasta of Gragnano at our restaurant thanks to our chef's skills. Surrounded by a Mediterranean garden where you can relax on sunny days, it is the ideal location for leisure or business. In addition to this, our professional and polite staff members, take care of ll your requests. Please, it's not allowed to bring food or drink into the rooms from outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Le Zagare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing