We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“An Oasis in the desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Le Zagare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Le Zagare
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gragnano
Certificate of Excellence
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
“An Oasis in the desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

What an amazing hotel with a "cream de la cream staff" (especially Ms. Ana and Ms. Teresa). We spent three nights in the month of November and we loved it. Our experience was very positive. The grounds meticulously manicured with water fall, fountains, Palms, lighting and many architectural features in contrast to the surrounding run-down community, a perfect oasis. The staff treated us like family, very attentive to our needs. The room was very clean with a beautiful view of the garden from the balcony. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and recommend it highly to those visiting local sites.

Room Tip: With a view of the Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luigig2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    54
    23
    7
    12
See reviews for
86
70
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed in Villa Le Zagare for 4 days 3 days, We arrived to the very warm welcoming receptionist, who was also our waitress at the restaurant. The restaurant was very nice, Food Quality was good, price was okay.. The breakfast had a lot of choices and friendly chefs!!
The room was spacious, we had 2 twins and 1 king bed and still extra space.. We had a nice sized terrace area with a table and an okay view.
The bathroom was a nice, big! just around the corner from our room was a large patio space with a viewing tower, which had view to Vesuvius and the ocean! The area had deck chairs, a cold jacuzzi.. just around the corner from our room was a large patio space with a viewing tower, which had view to Vesuvius and the ocean! The area had deck chairs, a cold jacuzzi... hotel had many rooms for parties such as weddings, sweet 16's etc, which made it very easily noticeable that is their specialty. The garden is beautiful! Big, spacious, calm & peaceful space! The pool is small & cold, although I did not swim in it, I noticed it was not heated nor had been cleaned in quite a while.. The location is amazing! 15 minutes from Pompei, 30 from Herculano, 45 from Naples, 40 from Amalfi and 1h approx. from the Naples Int. Airport.

But... the bad thing about the amazing hotel was that we where alone in the hotel. Staff always asking if and when we will have our included meal. The hotel was very quite and we so was the restaurant when we ate/ had the whole restaurant to ourselves, other than the 1 CD that kept on playing on- and-on all through the hotel! We also had one of the residents of Villa le Zagares dogs barking ALL NIGHT! Which was a downfall to the 4* rating!

Not my type of hotel, if you feel like it's your type either I wouldn't go for Villa le Zagare

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor will be farther away from the dog bark and street noises-- Facing the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeaAlmeida08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Super clean and elegant hotel,very nice staff and the view from our room-202-I will never forget it!!!
Very rich breakfast,good value for money.
They received us with an welcome drink and gave us a little present when we left.
Garden was spectacular,reception like in movies.
Yes,it is true that surroundings in Gragnano are not so nice,but all that zone -including Napoli the town of contrasts and contradictions-are something spectacular.For us it was the 3 time to visit all region and I can say it is not enough.
I hardly left it.
I will be back again for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beautifulitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you so much for your comment!
We're always satisfied when we become positive comments! We really hope to have you again as our guests.
Best regards from the staff
Villa Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We as a family of four stayed for 4 nights. On arrival the staff welcomed us, speaking good English. Our bags were taken up to our rooms for us, and as ore requested we got rooms at the side of each other. Rooms were clean, roomy and had fantastic air conditioning. Towels were cleaned daily, the room cleaned and the bed made. The hotel is a must if you want to visit Pompeii, versuvias and sorrento. The only down falls are the water in the room is not free and at €2 a small bottle could be expensive. The hotel does serve evening meals but again these were expensive and not a lot of choice. Do drive out to eat because there is a pizzeria less than 5 mins away with stunning views out to Vesuvius and delicious pizzas, at a bargain price. I would recommend this hotel to couples and families alike its, warm friendly and the staff are very helpful. Thank you for a great stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scruffy12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear guests,
thank you for having commented our hotel!
we always want to make the best for our clients.
We're sorry for the comment about the restaurant service: we think that € 25.00 for a complete menu is a fantastic price!
We hope to have you again in our hotel!
Best regards from all the staff
Villa Le Zahare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a quad/family room for 4 nights as a base for family visit to Pompeii, Vesuvius and Herculaneum. Firstly, the hotel is quite isolated unless you have a car but that shouldn't be a surprise based on location. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly - from waiters to housekeeping to front desk. The rooms are clean, roomy and comfortable but not luxurious. It is a very popular wedding venue (2 weddings every day throughout sept we were told!) and fireworks are popular with the newly weds. Breakfast was ample and served up until 10.30. Felt like pretty good value and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Direttore at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your comment!
We're honoured that you liked our service.
If there were little problems, we hope to have you again as our guests to have the possibility to offer you wonderful days.
Best regards from all the Staff
Villa Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. Very good value. lovely rooms and food, but area around generally downmarket residential. There were 8 weddings while we were there, so some late noise in our friends room at least one night. Two evenings they tried to put us at the back of the room where the wedding reception was. loud noise etc so refused and had lovely table on the terrace. English speaking Waiter called Charlie looked after us really well. No where locally walkable to eat apart from a fun cheap Pizza place. However food in hotel was god and well priced.

Room Tip: get one at front with balcony overlooking the roof Jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fallopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Direttore at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
we would like to thank you for having spent time to write a comment for us!
We're sorry if you had some problems with noises, but you know, normally our weddings end at least at 09.00 p.m.
We always try to make our best for our guests.
We're happy that you liked the rooms and the food!
We hope to see you again in our hotel!
Best regards from the Staff
Villa Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We got a great rate on Expedia for this hotel so thought we give it a try. We liked it.

The best:
- Gragnano is located only 15 minutes from Pompeii, also close to the Vesuvio and Herculaneum. Also, there is a direct road from the hotel to the Amalfi coast.Is a fairly narrow mountain pass, not worse than the coastal road though.
- The hotel has great views of the Vesuvio and the surrounding mountains.
- The staff is super-friendly yet professional, with decent English and/or German language skills.
- Hotel is a newer building in good and very clean condition.

Not for everyone:
- The building and interior decoration is typical Italian "neo-baroque" style, not everyone will like this.
- And the micro-location is a bit odd - not a very touristy area, few restaurants.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this property and we would recommend it to everyone who would like to explore the southern half of the gulf of Napoli and the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank falk-wulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Family Falk-Wulf,
thank you for your comment! we work to do always the best, to make the stay of our guests pleasant, and the most important thing is that we also enjoy to spend time with our guests!
We really hope to see you again in our hotel!
Best regards from the staff of
Villa Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gragnano
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
#1 of 1 in Sant'Antonio Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 457 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
#1 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#3 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,148 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sant'Angelo Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Villa Cimmino Hotel Restaurant
Villa Cimmino Hotel Restaurant
#8 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Le Zagare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Le Zagare

Property: Grand Hotel Le Zagare
Address: Via Visitazione 68, 80054 Gragnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Gragnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gragnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Le Zagare 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Le Zagare, charming house for unforgettable stays, allows you to quickly reach the main tourist and cultural sites such as Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento and Gragnano with its famous pasta factories, the same pasta that you can enjoy at our restaurant thanks to the skill of the chef. Surrounded by a Mediterranean garden where you can relax on sunny days, it is the ideal place for leisure or business. To complete it all the staff, professional and courteous, available to customers to meet every need. To avoid disappointment, guests are kindly requested not to bring food or drink into the rooms from the outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Le Zagare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing