We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“First class staff...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Le Zagare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Le Zagare
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gragnano
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“First class staff...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a quad/family room for 4 nights as a base for family visit to Pompeii, Vesuvius and Herculaneum. Firstly, the hotel is quite isolated unless you have a car but that shouldn't be a surprise based on location. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly - from waiters to housekeeping to front desk. The rooms are clean, roomy and comfortable but not luxurious. It is a very popular wedding venue (2 weddings every day throughout sept we were told!) and fireworks are popular with the newly weds. Breakfast was ample and served up until 10.30. Felt like pretty good value and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GWS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Direttore at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guests,
thank you for your comment!
We're honoured that you liked our service.
If there were little problems, we hope to have you again as our guests to have the possibility to offer you wonderful days.
Best regards from all the Staff
Villa Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    54
    23
    7
    12
See reviews for
86
70
1
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights. Very good value. lovely rooms and food, but area around generally downmarket residential. There were 8 weddings while we were there, so some late noise in our friends room at least one night. Two evenings they tried to put us at the back of the room where the wedding reception was. loud noise etc so refused and had lovely table on the terrace. English speaking Waiter called Charlie looked after us really well. No where locally walkable to eat apart from a fun cheap Pizza place. However food in hotel was god and well priced.

Room Tip: get one at front with balcony overlooking the roof Jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fallopian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Direttore at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guests,
we would like to thank you for having spent time to write a comment for us!
We're sorry if you had some problems with noises, but you know, normally our weddings end at least at 09.00 p.m.
We always try to make our best for our guests.
We're happy that you liked the rooms and the food!
We hope to see you again in our hotel!
Best regards from the Staff
Villa Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We got a great rate on Expedia for this hotel so thought we give it a try. We liked it.

The best:
- Gragnano is located only 15 minutes from Pompeii, also close to the Vesuvio and Herculaneum. Also, there is a direct road from the hotel to the Amalfi coast.Is a fairly narrow mountain pass, not worse than the coastal road though.
- The hotel has great views of the Vesuvio and the surrounding mountains.
- The staff is super-friendly yet professional, with decent English and/or German language skills.
- Hotel is a newer building in good and very clean condition.

Not for everyone:
- The building and interior decoration is typical Italian "neo-baroque" style, not everyone will like this.
- And the micro-location is a bit odd - not a very touristy area, few restaurants.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this property and we would recommend it to everyone who would like to explore the southern half of the gulf of Napoli and the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank falk-wulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Family Falk-Wulf,
thank you for your comment! we work to do always the best, to make the stay of our guests pleasant, and the most important thing is that we also enjoy to spend time with our guests!
We really hope to see you again in our hotel!
Best regards from the staff of
Villa Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We received a very warm welcome, the staff was extremly caring and professional.
Breakfast was just fabulouse. The best we had in Italy
The room and bed were very very comfy. We could hardly get out of bed

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley_P_447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear guests,
we're very happy to read your comment from Israel! Our desire is always to make our guests satisfied.
We hope to have you soon again as our guests.
Best regars!
the Staff
Grand Hotel Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrick-on-Shannon, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Me and my wife stayed in Le Zagare for 3 nights in August 2012. We had double superior room with access to the terrace. Great value for money, high standard and very clean hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Easy access to Sorrento (30min by car) and Amalfi Cost (approx 1hr drive). There is a large restaurant walking distance away. Nearby there is a shop with fresh fruits 2 min walk. Large free carpark on the site. Highly recommended. Great view from the terrace on the cost and the Napoli with Vesuvius.
Adam&Marta

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Guests,
we're really happy to read your positive comment! Thank you so much!
We always try to make the stay of our guests good, and such good results make us very happy and satisfied.
We hope to have you soon again as our guests.
Best regards,
The Staff
Grand Hotel Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

After driving 5 hours from Florence, we arrived to a warm and wonderful Oasis. It was an amazing site to see after such a journey, and the staff was so welcoming and accomodating. They made sure that we were taken care of from the minute we stepped foot through the elegant front entrance, with personalized care and service. Everyone there were kind and courtious and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasurable and memorable one. The Hotel is really grand, the grounds and pool add beauty, and the staff is top notch!. The rooms are big and spacious with great views from any of them. The food was also amazing. The location to Pompeii is so close whether by car of by their shuttle service. Would definitely book there again and mention it to family and friends to stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, Direttore generale at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Guests,
what a pleasure to read your wonderful comment!
We were really happy to have you in our hotel, and we hope to see you soon back in our house!
Best regards:
the Staff
Grand Hotel Le Zagare****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We only stayed for one night on a stop- over to Pompeii, but we discovered an absolute oasis. The hotel is decorated in a pretty, lavish Italian style. The grounds are amazing with a lovely pool, terraced gardens and wonderful wedding facilities. We had a quad room for my husband , me and my two boys - great size and a balcony leading on to the sunset deck on roof. Amazing view of Vesusius. Recommend to anyone with a car - worth the slight detour off main road. Will go back if possible. Very friendly and very helpful staff throughout. Should be 5 star. Hubby travels A LOT and he was amazed.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChfordLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna C, General Manager at Grand Hotel Le Zagare, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your positive comment.
It was a pleasure for us to have you in our hotel. Althaugh it was just for one night, all the staff was happy to make your stay here amazing.
We're looking forward to welcome you again here!
Best regards to all your wonderful family!

The Staff
Villa Le Zagare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gragnano
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
Grand Hotel La Sonrisa
#1 of 1 in Sant'Antonio Abate
4.5 of 5 stars 459 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
La Medusa Hotel & BoutiqueSpa
#1 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Europa
Hotel Europa
#3 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Coast
Towers Hotel Stabiae Sorrento Co...
#4 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sant'Angelo Resort & Spa
2.3 mi away
Villa Cimmino Hotel Restaurant
Villa Cimmino Hotel Restaurant
#7 of 15 in Castellammare Di Stabia
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Le Zagare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Le Zagare

Property: Grand Hotel Le Zagare
Address: Via Visitazione 68, 80054 Gragnano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Gragnano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Gragnano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Le Zagare 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Le Zagare, charming house for unforgettable stays, allows you to quickly reach the main tourist and cultural sites such as Pompeii, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Capri, Amalfi, Sorrento and Gragnano with its famous pasta factories, the same pasta that you can enjoy at our restaurant thanks to the skill of the chef. Surrounded by a Mediterranean garden where you can relax on sunny days, it is the ideal place for leisure or business. To complete it all the staff, professional and courteous, available to customers to meet every need. To avoid disappointment, guests are kindly requested not to bring food or drink into the rooms from the outside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Le Zagare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing