We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of La Casa de Felipe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Casa de Felipe
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Pros
- fantastic common areas
- has charm
- big, thereby easy to meet people
- nice mix of guests (nationality, age)

Cons
- location, while the town is not big at all, Casa De Felipe is at its upper edge, so the walk to beach and the restaurant-strip is the farthest you'll walk in Taganga. Admittedly only 10-15 minutes.
- hot - while there was a cooling breeze down near the sea each evening, the hostel seems to sit in a bit of a wind-protected area and remains pretty hot at night. I assume staying closer to the breezy area, it would be a bit more bearable at night (in a room without aircon).
- I didn't like the fans installed in our room, small, fast, oscillating - I prefer ceiling ventilators for bedrooms = big, slow, gentle constant breeze.
- the room didn't have glass windows or netting, just wooden slats, which allowed mosquitos in. Not many were present, but 1 or 2 each night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rolandinho10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    114
    37
    12
    12
See reviews for
13
122
69
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
324 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Casa de Felipe is a lovely hostel, though I wouldn't spend too much time in Taganga itself. The hostel is set around a pretty, large courtyard with several tables and hammocks to relax. The rooms are a decent size, very clean, comfortable and quiet. Reception staff are very friendly and helpful, though the bar staff can be a bit less friendly until you accept you have to pay in small change every time. The bar serves a range of drinks including lovely fresh juices and the restaurant serves good food. There are a range of breakfast options available to buy, even just the muesli with banana was great.

Location is a short walk from the beach front. A lot of people will try to scare you off Taganga but you just have to be careful. We were a group of girls and made sure not to take bags or any possessions out with us at night and not wear flashy jewellery, and we were perfectly safe, though the area is not as generally safe and friendly as the rest of the country.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarahk1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa de Felipe for two nights. When we first checked in the staff was helpful. The room was ok and the bathroom too. There was one wall damaged with water causing fungus. When we went to have breakfast we could not get it charged on our account, but had to pay cash. We still had to go to the atm, so we asked if we could have breakfast and afterwards go to the atm. At first that was a big problem (???!!) afterwards the allowed it. When we finally went to have our breakfast, I asked without eggs. I got an extra plate with toasts, but when I asked for a cup of tea, the waitress took the extra plate of toast in order for me to get a cup of tea. It was a horrible experience!!!!! I had never seen something like that. We paid 90 000 pesos for the room and when we asked for fresh towels they gave us something that once maybe was a towel ( 20 years ago). When we checked out I asked them to call a taxi but even that was too much. Please don’t waist your money @ Casa de Felipe, it is not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hasna88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Casa de Felipe is one of the best hostels in South America.The only thing missing is swimming pool, The rooms are big, nice kitchen and restaurant with great food. Staff was very friendly as well. My only advise is not to walk alone there at night as you might get robbed as me!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Casa de Felipe was really a great hostel for the price! They had a great french chef who came to cook on weekends and had a good breakfast option as well. It was worth the hike up the hill away from the mail street on the beach.

Pros:
- good food ( a bit expensive though)
- nice accommodations
- fans over every bed
- the staff speak English (Unfortunately, my Spanish was not strong enough so it was helpful to have them speak English)
- There is someone there to help coordinate any trips you would like to plan
- I found it very safe!

Cons:
- It's a bit of a walk away from the main area with all of the restaurants
- It can be a bit sketchy and unsafe late at night
- the reception closes late at night and doesn't open until the next morning which means you cannot use their computers or get any information when you get back after a late night.

If you have any questions let me know!

Safe Travels :)

Room Tip: Stayed in two different room styles and found that the 6 bedroom dorms were small. However the 8 bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Bit of a climb up the slope to get to the hostel and sometimes can feel a little bit unsafe, I wouldn´t recommend walking it alone at night but personally I had no problems and I walked it alone sometimes during the day and with some friends at night. Staff are very friendly and my room in a shared dorm was nice and clean, spacious and with single beds, no bunk beds! Fan was sufficient, not sure if they have rooms with air conditioning. Lunch and dinner is overpriced but breakfast was reasonable and the jugo´s were delicious! Lots of hammocks to chill out in during the day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahNiemiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vallejo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Second time on this hostel.
Like always staff are very friendly and breakfast.. well.. no better on Taganga or around..
Just a couple things don't like us..
It's a hostel for young people.. a night seems like have a party so we cannot sleep... come with the price and the place..
Second.. I really would love they have a place for smoking people separate from restaurant.. really was a flaw eat in the same place were people was smoking..
Last.. bed was so hard on my back.. very very hard... But that's just me..
For the rest, really cheap, stunning place, with safe box on dorms (a very good point) and convenient close to everything.. we're back... next year...

Room Tip: I still think the best is the aparta studio on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garrobito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.2 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
0.4 mi away
Hostal Techos Azules
Hostal Techos Azules
#17 of 71 in Taganga
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#1 of 71 in Taganga
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Relax
Casa Relax
#3 of 71 in Taganga
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Los Cerros
Casa Los Cerros
#1 of 12 in Taganga
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Felipe

Property: La Casa de Felipe
Address: CRA 5 A No 19-13, Taganga, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa de Felipe 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel "La Casa de Felipe" is situated in Taganga, just 15 minutes by bus from Santa Marta. It's located in the upper part of the village, seven minutes walk from the beach. It's ideal for relaxing on the terrace after a day of excursions to Tayrona Park, The Lost City, diving, or on the beach. We offer dormitories, private rooms with private bathroom and studio apartments with fully equipped kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your La Casa de Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Felipe Hotel Taganga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing