We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous ambiance, but unfriendly to locals.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa de Felipe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Casa de Felipe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous ambiance, but unfriendly to locals.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

This hostel is perfect if you are the type to hang around the hostel all day...they have an array of hammocks, excellent views, a great restaurant, and the facility is very clean. If you like to venture out and interact with locals and bring home new friends for after-hours, it isn't the optimal spot. They have a strict guard at the gate who does not allow you to bring home guests, even if it's early in the evening. Also, it's ages away from the beach, so when you head to town, you have to bring ALL of your stuff. There was also some irritation with the computers because there are only 2 and no time limit is posted, so people would tend to be on there for hours. The kitchen also falls short as it has no utensils or cups or bowls. You have to ask the restaurant to borrow them and then return afterwards.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meghan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    114
    37
    12
    11
See reviews for
13
121
69
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great things: Fast wifi in many rooms and common areas, Very nice and helpful staff, Very big outdoor area where you could spend many hours, Lovely rooftop with hammocks where you get an amazing view over Taganga and the sunset, A restaurant with very very good food, Snack bar open all day long with good breakfast, The rooms has the best standards i've been to so far in hostels, comfortable beds, big rooms, a big and nice spacious and pleasant hostel overall!

Not so great: THE LOCATION! 10 min walk from the beach and center of Taganga. Felt like a hassle every time you go out at night to get back (especially if you are a solo girl, not recommend). I stayed in Casa de Felipe 1 week and didnt leave the hostel that often due to the location. Another minus is that this hostel has like 70% germans! No offense to German people, but a bit more mix of nationalities wouldn't hurt. I felt for me the biggiest minus of the hostel was the other backpackers there plus the location.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibzberlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Missouri
Level Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

If it wasn't for the attitude of the staff, this hostel would score higher. The place itself is a little walk from the beach (prob no more than 5 mins uphill), but it is a lovely atmosphere. There is plenty of space around the hostel, so the rooms are not all on top of each other. There are lots of hammocks dotted around, and a rooftop space with more hammocks.

Dorms are COP16,000 per person (20k for a 3 bed dorm), and private rooms are COP 50k.

The food at the restaurant was expensive, but excellent. The iced coffee at the bar is *terrible*! Go into town to the 'watersports' bar for iced coffee!!

The wifi was terrible - for the 4 nights that we stayed in total, the internet only worked for 2 nights. The staff were in no rush to try to resolve the issue. I had to argue quite strongly just to get them to try turning the router off and on again!! This attitude of the staff, along with the fact that their admin is so tenuous that it takes a long time to do anything, made the hostel a worse place.

Room Tip: The staff seem to put the rubbish bins directly outside room 11 - so there were lots of flies in tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLPKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I generally do not stay at hostal's but other travelers had good things to say about this place so I gave it a try and stayed there before and after a trip to Tayrona N.P. I got a private room-it was quite modern, spacious and comfortable-same standard as a western hotel room minus the tv. There are several common areas on three different levels (all open air) and a good sized shared kitchen. The food was the exceptional and I wish dinner were available every night. It is a very social atmosphere and I enjoyed the other travelers I met there.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank soulrebel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

the place is beautiful, you can lie in a hammock all day to enjoy the shade, the bar serves great juice and beers, the coffee is decent and in the evening they host the best restaurant in town. This said, you also have a few shortcomings. The kitchen is higly underequiped. The front desk is run by a few teenage-like girls who giggle the day away, and just laugh in the face of people who dont speak Spanish (luckely we do!) The rooms are very hot and there are only fans, and when people accidently leave the front gate open you bump into drug-dealers in the kitchen! There is no time limit to use the public computer, so people can expect to wait for hours while someone is chatting on facebook. we enjoyed it, but the place lacks a bit of soul.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Great place to stay in Taganga. This is a unique hostel with wonderful rooms where you can relax after backpacking in Colombia.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcineliasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foix, France
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very nice and very big hostel 5 minutes walk from the center of Taganga. From 16.000 pesos a night for a 8 beds dorm and around 60.000 for a private. Quite a nice restaurant too with a french chef. A bar that sells beers only from 9am to 11pm. It's a shame that the kitchen is a bit crap : doesn't have a toaster, just one fridge, half of the gaz things don't work and the utensils are not very good. A part from that it has a nice mirador with hammocks and nice resting areas.
The fans in the dorm are not very good so don't take the upper bed because you will roast !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yannick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.2 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Taganga
Hotel Bahia Taganga
#6 of 12 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 68 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Relax
Casa Relax
#4 of 68 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Masia Summer Hostel
La Masia Summer Hostel
#20 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Felipe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Felipe

Property: La Casa de Felipe
Address: CRA 5 A No 19-13, Taganga, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Casa de Felipe 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hostel "La Casa de Felipe" is situated in Taganga, just 15 minutes by bus from Santa Marta. It's located in the upper part of the village, seven minutes walk from the beach. It's ideal for relaxing on the terrace after a day of excursions to Tayrona Park, The Lost City, diving, or on the beach. We offer dormitories, private rooms with private bathroom and studio apartments with fully equipped kitchen facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa de Felipe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Felipe Hotel Taganga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing