We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better places to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Benjamin Taganga
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The Benjamin is very popular with Israelis out of the army letting loose. I spent three days here, and load Israeli techno music blared every night until 5 am. I do not speak Hebrew so it was hard to communicate with other backpackers staying here.
The hostel itself really sucks. It is dirty (there was copious amount of hair in the shower), it smells like mildew and the food at the restaurant made me sick. It is the most expensive hostel i stayed at in Colombia, so I expected more. There is wireless, but the signal does not work in the rooms. There was no water at the hostel for quite some time while I was there. It is air conditioned, which is important in Taganga, and the location is very good, right on the water. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richarddiamond1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 94 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013

First off this is a good hotel/hostel but if you are not from israel i wouldnt go there my wife and i were made to feel very uncomfortable even had people come up to us and say "are you from Israel?" I said "no" to their reply "then why would you come here".
and it is well over priced at 140000 pesos for a private room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Troy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel Benjamin Taganga has all the facilities for being an excellent hotel, but there is one major drawback. They play loud techno-music 24/7. We stayed there for three nights, of which one was New Years Eve, so maybe we were just very unlucky, but the hotel literally turned into a night club. I generally like to party, but I also like to sleep every now and then. If you are a real party-animal, then go ahead. If you are not, then I would not advise you to stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Benjamin's place was a great hostel, it seems pretty new so the whole building is well maintained, clean and every room has a/c and an ensuite bathroom. The pool is a nice touch and the third floor hammock area gets you some AMAZING ocean breezes. The staff is pretty easy going and with the exception of the lady working nights, speak english. A couple of the staff manage the night club "Sensations" a few doors down and when the party stops there, the DJ comes back to Benjamins and spins in their lower level club. If your looking for a good nights sleep, their curtains block most of the light so you can sleep in easy, they do play music at night and when people come back from the club it can get a bit noisy. Buy some ear plugs if you think that will be an issue because the staff are not party poopers and won't ask people to quiet down.

I heard a lot of really bad things about Taganga but after staying there for 4 nights I really felt safe. In fact I asked one of the employees about safety in Taganga at night and hsi response was "We are Israeli's, we will protect you" hahah great answer!

Obviously don't carry much cash but I was expecting a really trashy dangerous fishing village. They have a main strip with some good restrauarants. There is one restaurant under a tiki hut right across from a pizza cart (has annoying LEDs cant miss it). You can get a fillet mingnon steak w/ mashed potatoes for 20,000p. I've never been impressed with steaks south of the US border but can tell you this one is a nice tender peice of red meat.

It's really everything you need. It's an Israeli owned hostel, and there is a lot of Israeli travellers. I still felt welcome as a non jew but there was a lot of Israeli's staying there. Their hummas however SUCKS. I've travelled Israeli and was really disappointed that the hostel didn't serve decent schwarma and hummas. Their schnitzel is probably the best thing on the menu along with their mixed fruit drinks. Make sure to go out of the hostel for food as it's better value and just over all better.

The whole place is built like a fortress so you can feel safe against unwelcome guests. They have a nice TV area with apple TV and a hard drive full of movies, so if you just want to take it easy in the shade there is plenty to watch. A nice basket ball / foot ball court, and even a childrens play area (ball room and jungle gym). They also have a pretty cool parrot that seems to like to nibble on the necks of beer bottles and a few other birds.

The pool table is in really rough shape and should really be replaced or refelted. The WiFi was decent when it worked but it seemed like everyday for an hour or two it was down. There is 1 public computer.

Really can't say enough good things about this place. They are very liberal and want you to have a good time.

The hostel doesn't have any safety deposit boxes. We had a private so wasn't a big deal, but if we had a dorm I'd have been pretty upset.

I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Seems all rooms are the same. Might want to ask for a higher floor if noise is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelsRboring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Spent one night in Benjamin in Taganga and I wished I stayed there few more nights. The place is incredibly nice. Newly built with a huge pool and a roof terrace. Nice clean rooms with running hot water (apparently it is not an option in many places). Good sized beds. Two minute walk to the beach. Taganga is small, it is a staging ground for visitors to the Tayrona park. Plenty of good options to eat nearby, hotel also offers food on premises. Come and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

wowwww i miss this hotel so muchh !!
i never thought i would find such a modern and beatiful place like this in taganga, we came all dirty from the lost city and the benjamin's stuff took really good care of us, its the only hotel with hot water in all the village they gave us a good service, delicous resturant, huge pool and alot of fun ! amazing !
very recommended

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NataliaBarreraV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012 via mobile

The best place in taganga..close to the beach great rooms and the only place with hot water!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maorrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
0.6 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ocean Taganga Internacional
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kikuxtah
Hotel Kikuxtah
#4 of 12 in Taganga
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jaba Nibue
Hotel Jaba Nibue
#7 of 12 in Taganga
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Taganga
Hotel Bahia Taganga
#6 of 12 in Taganga
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Benjamin Taganga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Benjamin Taganga

Address: Calle 8, 1A- 43, Taganga 57000, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Price Range: $20 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Benjamin Taganga 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Benjamin Taganga,Santa MartaHotel Benjamin,located minutes from the sea in Taganga,recently constructed, and close to Santa Marta, Tayrona Park and Lost City, Colombia.The hotel offers large and comfortable rooms, with air-conditioning, each room with own private bathroom with hot water; young, kind, and joyful staff, very good restaurant, and entertainment during all your stay.The hotel is specialized in young people who want to have the best time and unforgottable hollidays..!!!COME TO SEE US AND YOU WILL SEE what a great party time you will have with us!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Benjamin Taganga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing