We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Republika Divanga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Republika Divanga
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Not the best location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We actually stayed in an apartment that Casa Divanga rents out next to the hostel. The apartment wasn't particularly clean. The refrigerator & kitchen area was particularly dirty. Also, one of the toilets never seemed to flush properly.

I will say that the staff was very helpful & friendly - the highlight of Divanga.

My main concern was the location - it is located 5-6 blocks from the main part of town and the walk back at night always felt kind of sketchy. (plus it is just a long ways to everything - comparatively) There are a lot of reports of mugging in Taganga recently and because of this we wound up moving to a spot on the beach so we could stick to more populated streets,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwheatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    23
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
19
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed there at the end of april and had a great time, the patio had 5 hammocks hanging from trees, excellent to chill out, use the WiFi, read or just take a nap, the private room they gave us was cleaned every day, the kitchen was big enough and furnished with 2 fridges and they had free water for everyone to drink. We had access to the swimmingpool at the other Divanga (100 meters away) which was a blast, the food in the restaurant was amazing and we hung out a bit at the bar on the rooftop from where we were able to see a pretty sunset on the sea. The place is only 2 minutes walk from the beach and the main area of Taganga. I guess we were lucky, they told us they had new staff (the bald guy was not there anymore) and they were pretty nice and helpful to us, they got out of their way to help us with whatever we needed. The guy in the tourism office they have there gave us all kinds of information about Tayrona Park and Lost City with all the possibilities and prices, he even helped us book a flight to Bogota. They have a locker room if you want to leave your bagpacks there to go to Tayrona Park or the Lost City. We will definitely come back there some day!

Room Tip: ask for the bigger room, rosada something
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfgang W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Admittedly, I stayed here just before Christmas, when the prices were higher - but the hostel literally tried to hold me to ransom, by doubling the price of the room after my first night there. Also, one young French girl that was working there told me that breakfast was anytime before Midday, so when I went looking for it at 10am, I was told bluntly there wasn't one. Add to that, the shower was filthy and turned off half the time to let the washing machine run, and there's a slightly irritating bald chap who semi-works there, who just stands around holding court, trying to sell people various trips, and got quite aggressive with me when I justifiably complained about the service. All in all, one to avoid....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesSteerforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
373 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

A nice place all in all, the pool is nice, the restaurant really good (at the moment 2nd on tripadvisor), pretty clean rooms. Location is not amazing but not really a problem, during fri-sat a place next doors sometimes host after party's from around 4am-9am = very laud music and a bit annoying if u want to sleep like to get up 8am to go and dive and so on, cant hold the hostel responsible for this or something like that more FYI. The staff in the reception could be a bit more interested in u when checking in and out and so on, takes a bit more time then necessary and makes u feel like u have to really tell them like i want to do this now not tomorrow : )

Room Tip: Dont really know
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TozCaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

There are two Casa Divangas. We stayed in the cheaper one without the pool for a night after visiting tayrona and got a double room for 60000 pesos (more of you want breakfast included). The staff were friendly and sorted us out, the room was cleanish although there was hair etc in the shower and the bathroom was pretty run down. All of the rooms faced the courtyard so it can get noisy depending on the other guests. There is a kitchen but none washes up and there were things I couldn't identify on the bench for the duration of our stay. The stove looks like it has never been cleaned and I wouldn't use anything in there. Ok for a night but you probably Wouldn't want to spend a week here and definitely not if you're planning on doing any of your own cooking. The other casa divanga looked really nice and clean. You can use their pool, restaurant and bar even if you are staying at the cheaper one. Location was ok but not right on the beach. A few blocks to the start of the main town area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kieranspt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
366 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

we did the walk around checking out the hostels in Taganga and found this to be the best value in terms of price and room/hostel quality

staff are friendly, rooms are ok size, decent common area with hammocks, wifi quite fast

and you get to use the pool at the associated hotel up the road. breakfasts there are great too

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travla67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whistler
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

It started off with a 2am arrival, 15 hr bus turned into 20 hour bus trip (arrived from Medellin), had exchanged a few emails the day before, as was trying to work out which one to stay at either Divanga Or La Masia summer hostel, once arriving the decision was easy, i got service right from arriving at 2am, they were expecting me since i had tentatively booked by email (Lucia was the only one that replied to emails, the other hostel still havent heard back from)!

We had originally booked the hostel, but had been upgraded to the B&B, which was great especiailly after the long bus trip, (got upgraded as the hostel had become full, and i hadnt made an official booking yet, however as soon as i saw our name pencil'd in the book to arrive i knew this was going to be a great spot,)

There are 2 locations the B&B with an amazing breakfast or the hostel, and guests can use either facilities at both properties, the pool is amazing at B&B

Price - its def worth paying $2 more for the B&B - the hostel is 20,000 / plus breakfast is 6000 if you want it / the B&B is 3000 which includes breakfast

Lucia, is a great person, we been travelling for 1.5 months, and this is the nicest hostel owner we have meet, she has owned it for 6 years, helped with everything from booking tours to booking buses, Ullien was great to with all last minute questions
(i will say book the boat yourself you can get cheaper)

Great place, great service, also has a restaurant amazing food ! and large portions, and a nice bar

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ttravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Taganga
Hotel Bahia Taganga
#6 of 12 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 68 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Casa de Felipe
La Casa de Felipe
#3 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Tortuga Hostel
La Tortuga Hostel
#6 of 68 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Los Cerros
Casa Los Cerros
#1 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Republika Divanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Republika Divanga

Property: Republika Divanga
Address: Calle 11 no3-05, Taganga, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Republika Divanga is the place you would never like to leave. If you are looking for a heaven in Taganga to relax, make new friends and enjoy the best party, this is your place. The special: you have acces to Divanga B&B swimming pool and all facilities including in very cheap accommodation rate in taganga. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Republika Divanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing