We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok, but i had better”
Review of La Tortuga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Tortuga Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I stayed in Taganga just for the diving so I settled for La Tortuga based on the reviews. I stayed in the dorms with a shared bathroom and everything was good for the first night but I put off when things started to get dirty.

There are no roads in the town so people bring in a lot of dirt into the hostel. I wasn't so fussed about that until the dirt and mud traveled all through the bathroom and bedrooms from everyone walking around in shoes. Especially in a wet bathroom where it turns muddy. It stayed dirty for days and i just didn't feel clean even after a shower. I don't know how often they clean the floors but it wasn't done in the 4 nights i was there. That is my only disappointment with the hostel. The sheets and beds was clean. I slept well and the staff was friendly enough.

Room Tip: Dorms may get dirty quickly because of all the traffic with muddy shoes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 190 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

The view from the bar (top floor) is indeed super cool. An excellent place to hang out. That said the bar is hardly ever open (low season) so you can bring your own and relax in comfort. For me this was a good thing! There is plenty of action/bars in town if you want it.

The beds are really new and very comfortable. Agree with previous comments about the loose fitting sheets and the ground floor dorms are unbearably hot - we moved to the first floor as soon as space was available were its much cooler.

Pool was out of action when first got here but did get cleaned eventually.

Wifi throughout the building which is nice and free coffee in the morning. kitchen as big old fridge for storing your food and drinks.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank steveslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Really enjoyed my stay here. the view is incredible from the roof top bar, and is very relaxing in the hammocks. I wish more people were staying there at the time! the room was clean and so was the bathroom. showers sucked but thats the least of my concerns.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mclouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in La Tortuga for 3 nights. We had a private room, which was super clean, and everything appeared to be brand new. The bed was comfy, and the staff cleaned the room, took out the garbage, and made the bed every day. The view from the deck/bar was awesome. It was a pleasure to lay in the hammock, listen to good music, and look at the bay. The pool was clean and refreshing after a day at the beach or a day in kayaks. The staff was helpful in making arrangements for us to go on to out next destination. I absolutely recommend La Tortuga whether you are staying in Taganga for awhile or just passing through before heading on to Tayrona. Oh, also, their mojitos are really good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a nice enough hostel, clean with nice views from balconies and bar but two major problems with rooms.

1. We had a 3 bed dorm and the ceiling fan was small and far too high up so had no affect at all on temperatures. The wall fan only hit one of the beds, making the bunk beds incredibly hot to sleep in.
2. The fitted sheets did not stay on the mattresses so you ended up sleeping on a bare mattress, which isn't ideal.

Also on google maps the hostel appears as being next to the coast and it isn't. As with most hostels in Taranga, it's quite far in land down a very dusty bumpy road. However, don't listen to people who say the area is unsafe - it's perfectly safe, and locals are friendly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_Bags_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Everything about this hostel was amazing. The staff take you in, treat you like family and are so welcoming. Monica (who runs La Tortuga) is a funny and amazing person, as are the bar staff there (and their cocktails are delicious...passion fruit mojitos, yum). Look out for the pet turtles hanging around near the pool- they're the cutest!
There is a great little bar just down the road called El Garaje which is super fun too!
The only thing that upsets me when I think about La Tortuga is that I didn't get to stay longer!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I knew about this hostel in www.staydu.com looking for some travel work exchange.Then i met the owner, a very nice a beautiful person, always worry about treavellers, always lookig for the best for you..

the hostel is really nice, clean. The dorms ar big, they have a very complete kitchen and a tv room with a lot of pictures. they also tell you what to do. the have a dive instructor just for the hostel. could it be better???

the best? the bar, in the roof with the best bay view, you can see almost all taganga

Room Tip: you can stay in a dorm or in a private bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankiwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
0.2 mi away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 76 in Taganga
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Relax
Hostal Casa Relax
#4 of 76 in Taganga
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Divanga Bed & Breakfast
Divanga Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 76 in Taganga
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa de Felipe
La Casa de Felipe
#7 of 76 in Taganga
354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Nirvana Tganaga
Hostel Nirvana Tganaga
#11 of 76 in Taganga
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hostel

Address: Calle 9 # 3 - 116, Taganga 470007, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Price Range: $17 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a traditional neighborhood on the sunny Colombian Caribbean coast, La Tortuga Hostel inmerses you in the local athmosphere. Here you will make friends and enjoy cocktails on our rooftop bar with a breathtaking view of Taganga bay. In addition to offering accommodation, we also have certified scuba diving staff that can show you the bautiful underwater world. La Tortuga adds something special to Taganga, making it more than just a jump off point from which to access Tayrona Park. This is a place where you´ll feel like staying, enjoying and relaxing. Just follow the turtle and welcome home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Tortuga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing