We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best view!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tortuga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Tortuga Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Concepcion, Chile
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best view!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I knew about this hostel in www.staydu.com looking for some travel work exchange.Then i met the owner, a very nice a beautiful person, always worry about treavellers, always lookig for the best for you..

the hostel is really nice, clean. The dorms ar big, they have a very complete kitchen and a tv room with a lot of pictures. they also tell you what to do. the have a dive instructor just for the hostel. could it be better???

the best? the bar, in the roof with the best bay view, you can see almost all taganga

Room Tip: you can stay in a dorm or in a private bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankiwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    57
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
6
31
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tanganga
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Its a good, friendly, clean hostal. it's notvery close to the 'centre' where it all happens, a little bit dangerous to walk by yourself at night as well as small groups. romos are small but clean. a 4 room bedroom is better than a 6 bed bedroom!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DorienSuntjens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We headed to La Tortuga Hostel with a bunch of friends, having a lot of expectations, what we couldn't imagine it was going to be way better than what we thought. La tortuga is the place to be!!! Awesome place with friendly easygoing staff, they would give the shirt off their back for you If they could! They took us to a nice party/concert in a beautiful local bar, where we all danced and had an amazing time!! Plus of that, the place is clean, chill, and they've got an amazing terrace with a breathtaking view!! I would recommend it x 1000000!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ADRINABE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoeilaart, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Fellow travelers,

I have stayed in this hostal for quite some time and spent some nights in a couple of the other hostals around. Each hostal differs from another although they all have more or less the same goal. But La Tortuga was the one for me, it gave me this feeling i could stay there for a way longer time then i did. It's a very free, relax, zen hostal which will make you feel like your home.
La Tortuga might be located a bit further from the beach as the rest of the hostals (and the difference wont be big anyway) but this is meaningless. Taganga is a small town, small community where everything is nearby and in a 5minute walk.
La Tortuga house is made, for a big part, of bamboo and the roof is covered with the leaves of palmtrees. It really gives a summer,vacation, carribean vibe.
Downstairs you have a really big, good kitchen with a patio connected to it, very open and relax. The rooms are clean and comfortable with good showers, the way its supposed to be.
Upstairs you will find the place where we all like to be, the bar. This is a bar with an extraordinary advantage, because you are all the way on top you have a magnificent view of Taganga. You can see the beach, the sea, the horizon and the sun slowly going under. This view plus a beer in your hand makes you remember how beautiful this [--] life is.
The staff and owner of la tortuga will always be ready to help, they are very welcoming and will bring smiles upon your faces.
If you dont want to worry and just enjoy your vacation/trip with the sun upon your face and the wind in your back, then go to La Tortuga Hostal in Taganga.

Matt

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MathieuStrobbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this beautiful hostel - Moni was a lovely host and we felt very comfortable and safe here. We stayed in a private room which was cool enough and spacious and the dorm rooms looked just as good. La Tortuga was a quiet, relaxing place to stay, upstairs on the hammocks on the rooftop was superb. Moni was very accommodating and let us check in early on arrival and also let us stay longer as our bus out of Taganga was late in the day. The fishing village itself is quite lovely, does feel a little touristy though and the cafes/restaurants along the beach front unfortunately have all westernised food - I would suggest finding the local food and eating the fresh seafood if you can. La Tortuga was a great play to stay and a base for many adventures - only thing for improvement would be the kitchen, it was a little dirty. Also they are currently building a pool out the back and when that is there it will be magnificent and a really cool area :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkatiekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geel, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Loved Tortuga, don't know where to start first... The owner, Moni is an absolute gem, and does everything you can humanly expect to make your stay enjoyable... Rooms are nice, the hammocks have excellent views, and the roof-top bar makes me want to stay forever... 3 months was definetely not enough! Heard that they are replacing the inflatable pool by a real pool, and trust me, in this heat, you'll feel like in heaven... Can't wait to go back and dream away on the rooftop bar staring away at the incredible sunsets... Love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PGoovaerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The hostel is a bit out of the way, but the staff are friendly, the terrace is nice and it has a big kitchen. Overall a decent place to stay. Taganga is less impressive than expected, but the Playa Grande, 10 min walk away is alright.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattyboombatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taganga
0.6 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
21.1 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa de Felipe
La Casa de Felipe
#3 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Masia Summer Hostel
La Masia Summer Hostel
#20 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 68 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Relax
Casa Relax
#4 of 68 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hostel

Property: La Tortuga Hostel
Address: Calle 9 # 3 - 116, Taganga 470007, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a traditional neighborhood on the sunny Colombian Caribbean coast, La Tortuga Hostel inmerses you in the local athmosphere. Here you will make friends and enjoy cocktails on our rooftop bar with a breathtaking view of Taganga bay. In addition to offering accommodation, we also have certified scuba diving staff that can show you the bautiful underwater world. La Tortuga adds something special to Taganga, making it more than just a jump off point from which to access Tayrona Park. This is a place where you´ll feel like staying, enjoying and relaxing. Just follow the turtle and welcome home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your La Tortuga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing