We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best start but nice place and friendly owner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Tortuga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Tortuga Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Not the best start but nice place and friendly owner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We booked a private double room for 3 nights a week in advance and the owner,Mona confirmed our reservation!However when we arrived we were told there was no reservation as we didn't pay a deposit but we were never asked to and a deposit was never mentioned!The guy on reception wasn't the friendliest of folk,he said he had room in a dorm for us!I asked if we would be the only ones in a dorm and he said yes so we went in there! At 11pm that night when both asleep after a long day the door opened and 2 people arrived after apparently having booked the other 2 beds in the dorm!We weren't impressed as we had been told differently!The next day we moved to a private room and Mona apologised for the error!
The hostal is nice, rooms are good, bathrooms nice,only cold water but Taganga is hot so it's nice!There is a paddling pool in the garden and a nice bar on the roof!They have a random system where they don't give out keys...not a big inconvenience but everytime we came back we had to ask to be let in our room and sometimes there was a crowd at reception!
Overall it is a nice place and Mona is lovely, very helpful!Think the other guy needs to be a bit friendlier and smile though!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cday84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    57
    15
    9
    6
See reviews for
6
31
61
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in a really clean and comfortable double en suite room at La Tortuga on the first floor.The hostel has nice rooftop area and plunge pool and very friendly and helpful owner and staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillr152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

I has a very relaxing time in this remote and beautiful town of NE Colombia!
Do the diving with Juan or Monica... or better Both!

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank SuperFrenchDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

A really excellent hostel with a shared kitchen. Bedrooms were really nice and clean. Bathrooms only have cold water and there is no airconditioning which seems to be pretty much the same everywhere in Taganga.

The staff were excellent and really accomadating. Especially as the owner has implemented a scheme of not giving guests keys so each time you want to come in and out the person at the front desk has to come up and unlock your door. This was more annoying for them than us though as they were always fast and available. It is possible to lock the door yourself though.

The price was slightly high we felt, we paid 80 000 COP per night for a double with ensuite but this was compensated by the very refreshing "paddling pool in the yard" and the excellent roof terrace with thatched roof and hammocks that had a fresh cooling breeze and fantastic view out across the bay.

Certainly one of the best hostels in Taganga but please fix the door handles as almost all were broken (although the locks worked), resolve the key issue if only for your staff's sake and get some AC. This would make it perfect as Taganga gets very hot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansdreamworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La_Tortuga_Taganga, Owner at La Tortuga Hostel, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review... doors are fixed now :)
About the keys: we are just trying to make things easier for all of us, if we keep the key you don´t have to worry about anything else other than having beautiful days and nights; and we don´t have to constantly replace the locks everytime someone loses the keys at the beach ;D
Hope you had a nice expierence with us, feel welcome at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed at La Tortuga for around 10 nights, between trips to the near by Parque Nacional Tayrona and diving trips. The staff were great and always let us leave our bags behind on the different trips. We stayed in a four bed dorm on the second level which had a nice view and lovely breeze. The showers are cold (which is fine because of the heat) and the room was cleaned every day. They have a rooftop bar which seemed to only open on weekends, which is fine, you can buy beers downstairs and take them up the top to watch the beautiful sunset, take in the amazing view or see the nightly thunder storm roll in. They also have a small pool downstairs, always clean and nice for a quick dip to cool off in. I would highly recommend La Tortuga and Taganga - it was one of many highlights of my two months in Colombia.

If you're looking to do some diving in Taganga I would definitely recommend Escuela de Buceo Vida Marina. I did both my PADI open water and PADI advanced with them. They were professional, fun and the equipment was in perfect condition. They haven't registered on Trip Advisor yet so unfortunately I can't review them yet, but they great!! Highly recommended! Thanks Santiago, Fabio and Junior!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor facing the bay got the best breeze and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elle_elyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa, Peru
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Hi travellers, my girlfriend and I spent two weeks at La Tortuga Hostel using it as a base to book and do the myriad of tours and adventures available in the area. We found the hostel very clean and comfortable and the staff extremely helpful with everything. They have a rooftop bar that is the "Bees Knees", boasting a 3 story view over the beautiful bay and valley and is the perfect place to enjoy a cool beer or fresh cocktail while watching the Carribean sunset before heading into town for dinner! They also have a pool, shared kitchen with all the neccesities, wifi, cable tv, fans in the rooms and a great chilled vibe!
Dave and Jess, 31yrs old, Australian. Mid-August 2011.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taganga
0.6 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
21.1 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa de Felipe
La Casa de Felipe
#3 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Masia Summer Hostel
La Masia Summer Hostel
#20 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 68 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa Relax
Casa Relax
#4 of 68 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hostel

Property: La Tortuga Hostel
Address: Calle 9 # 3 - 116, Taganga 470007, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a traditional neighborhood on the sunny Colombian Caribbean coast, La Tortuga Hostel inmerses you in the local athmosphere. Here you will make friends and enjoy cocktails on our rooftop bar with a breathtaking view of Taganga bay. In addition to offering accommodation, we also have certified scuba diving staff that can show you the bautiful underwater world. La Tortuga adds something special to Taganga, making it more than just a jump off point from which to access Tayrona Park. This is a place where you´ll feel like staying, enjoying and relaxing. Just follow the turtle and welcome home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your La Tortuga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing