We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, friendly service and a rooftop bar”
Review of La Tortuga Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Tortuga Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed at La Tortuga for around 10 nights, between trips to the near by Parque Nacional Tayrona and diving trips. The staff were great and always let us leave our bags behind on the different trips. We stayed in a four bed dorm on the second level which had a nice view and lovely breeze. The showers are cold (which is fine because of the heat) and the room was cleaned every day. They have a rooftop bar which seemed to only open on weekends, which is fine, you can buy beers downstairs and take them up the top to watch the beautiful sunset, take in the amazing view or see the nightly thunder storm roll in. They also have a small pool downstairs, always clean and nice for a quick dip to cool off in. I would highly recommend La Tortuga and Taganga - it was one of many highlights of my two months in Colombia.

If you're looking to do some diving in Taganga I would definitely recommend Escuela de Buceo Vida Marina. I did both my PADI open water and PADI advanced with them. They were professional, fun and the equipment was in perfect condition. They haven't registered on Trip Advisor yet so unfortunately I can't review them yet, but they great!! Highly recommended! Thanks Santiago, Fabio and Junior!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor facing the bay got the best breeze and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elle_elyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 188 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

Hi travellers, my girlfriend and I spent two weeks at La Tortuga Hostel using it as a base to book and do the myriad of tours and adventures available in the area. We found the hostel very clean and comfortable and the staff extremely helpful with everything. They have a rooftop bar that is the "Bees Knees", boasting a 3 story view over the beautiful bay and valley and is the perfect place to enjoy a cool beer or fresh cocktail while watching the Carribean sunset before heading into town for dinner! They also have a pool, shared kitchen with all the neccesities, wifi, cable tv, fans in the rooms and a great chilled vibe!
Dave and Jess, 31yrs old, Australian. Mid-August 2011.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ramiro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank gloristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Márcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johanq134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Relax
Hostal Casa Relax
#3 of 76 in Taganga
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Masia Summer Hostel
La Masia Summer Hostel
#21 of 76 in Taganga
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 76 in Taganga
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostel Nirvana Tganaga
Hostel Nirvana Tganaga
#11 of 76 in Taganga
207 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Casa de Felipe
La Casa de Felipe
#5 of 76 in Taganga
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divanga Bed & Breakfast
Divanga Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 76 in Taganga
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Tortuga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tortuga Hostel

Address: Calle 9 # 3 - 116, Taganga 470007, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Price Range: $23 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a traditional neighborhood on the sunny Colombian Caribbean coast, La Tortuga Hostel inmerses you in the local athmosphere. Here you will make friends and enjoy cocktails on our rooftop bar with a breathtaking view of Taganga bay. In addition to offering accommodation, we also have certified scuba diving staff that can show you the bautiful underwater world. La Tortuga adds something special to Taganga, making it more than just a jump off point from which to access Tayrona Park. This is a place where you´ll feel like staying, enjoying and relaxing. Just follow the turtle and welcome home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your La Tortuga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing