We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the salad was just ok”

Bitacora Restaurante
Ranked #4 of 34 Restaurants in Taganga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Colombian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“the salad was just ok”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A starving vegetarian might find solace in the Ensalada de vegetales Bitacora, but I wasn't impressed. I came here upon recommendation of a friend. The salad is a load of veggies but not very coherent as a salad. Tomato, cucumber, yellow squash, avocado, canned corn, canned mushrooms, 2 slices of cheese (possible mozz), green olives, topped with grated parm cheese over a bed of chopped lettuce and red cabbage. The tangy dressing that's mixed in barely brings all these things together and becomes a bit overwhelming at the end. The only redeeming element was the few bits of eggplant, thinly sliced and fried and full of delicious flavor. I could eat a lot of these. I would go back to try another dish, but IMO the salad is a meh.

Service was fast and friendly when I visited around mid-day, mid-week. Coffee was alright. Decent and a nice contrast to the super sweet brew sold by the street coffee ladies.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andariega_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    90
    22
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Diverse type of food and good service”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

taganga is famous for its fish and seafood, but if you want to try some variety and international cuisine Bitacora is the perfect place. They servemany kingds of foods and price is all right, not really expensive. TRy the 'jugos'! they are amazing!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea_7seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Muy rico”
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I was recommended Bitacora by a fellow traveller who had already been to taganga. I was not disappointed!
All our food was great! I had a Robalo (to myself) it was delicious. Well worth the wait. I tried my friends beef dish too. Also very tasty! The service was a bit rubbish but I'd be happy to endure that again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peeet77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Very, very good food for the money. Try the vegetables, really good after a lot of rice and chicken. The postre of the day is also nice!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lots of food”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The food here is really good, but the portions are big! I shared the roblado with my sister- it was delicious and enough for 2 people. I ate here a few different times, and everything my party ordered was enjoyed.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten_Y326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bitacora Restaurante also viewed

Taganga, Santa Marta District
Taganga, Santa Marta District
 
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
Taganga, Santa Marta District
 
Taganga, Santa Marta District
Santa Marta, Santa Marta District
 

Been to Bitacora Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing