We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”
Review of Casa Los Cerros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Los Cerros
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I booked one night here and stayed 8. My excuse was that I would have time to do a diving course, but I didn't even want to leave this place for that! It is just idyllic. Jean-Luc picked me up from the airport and did nothing but crack jokes for the next 8 days. I didn't see Ana as much but she was great with the breakfast each morning. I barely saw the kids at all.

I got a chance to stay in both rooms (I think there is a 3rd one now down below but not 100%). They are essentially the same except one can't access the wifi signal. They have great little rock bathrooms, plenty of space, air-con which Jean-Luc says he never uses but I found essential, a minibar which gets refreshed all the time and you just add up the total when you leave and a terrace with a hammock. The $10k set meals are the best deal. It is always something from the menu that ordinarily costs more but because the family is having it that night anyway, you get it cheap!

It is definitely expensive for the area but the service is great. Jean-Luc took me to Santa Marta to get money out and buy a cable for my camera, showed me around different parts of Santa Marta twice and drove me to all the best diving centres. You just don't get that kind of service in many places. And he was always happy and cracking jokes in almost perfect English. He just loves it there.

Room Tip: The one closer to the pool has wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerardT_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
142
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

After deliberating on whether to stay in Rodadero, Santa Marta or Taganga, we decided on Casa Los Cerros after reading the reviews. We stayed there for a total of 3 nights (2 nights prior to camping in Tayrona and then 1 more night after returning from the park). Jean Luc and Ana are perfect hosts....friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The place itself is very secure and the room was nicely furnished, very clean and the fan and a/c kept it comfortable. We enjoyed having breakfast with a view over the village to the ocean and the pool was great.

Jean Luc is also a good chef, and he cooked us an excellent dinner one night (along with lots of fun conversation). We even ran into some problems later on in our trip and felt comfortable calling Jean Luc on his cell phone to get some help and advice from him. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravels604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here after completing the Lost City trek and it was the perfect place to relax, enjoy the views of Tanganga and the warmth of Jean Luc. We had two nights here and ate in both nights, and enjoyed the quiet, a/c rooms after roughing it in the jungle for 3 nights. Jean Luc cooks everthing fresh for you, and charms you along the way. We had an amazing thin crust ham and cheese pizza and on the second night a brilliant mixed meat grill. Some of the best steak we have eaten!

Breakfast overlooking the pool and bay of Tanganga is the perfect way to start the day. Fresh mixed fruit, eggs, coffee and juice - everything you need to begin your day of indulgence and relaxation. This place is extremely good value, for the views, service and included breakfast.

If we had longer in Taganga we would have extended our stay. Keep in mind that this place is incredibly popular and with only 3 rooms you need to book ahead. We walked in prior to heading off on our walk so only booked 4 days in advance, however when we were there it was booked out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

We absolutely LOVED staying here and even decided to book an extra night.
Jean Luc and Ana have the absolute best place in town. Plus,they go out of their way for you in all respects and really make you feel at home.
Lovely breakfast (incl), lunch and diner and great rooms, pool and views over the village. Only downside is the walk from centre of Taganga: the garbage/ waste everywhere and the poor conditions form a big contrast with L.C. But even so: go stay here!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KartB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We were at the end of a two month trip in Colombia. We wanted a little time near the beach.
No one raved Santa Marta or Rodadero beaches to us. Staying in Tayrona park seemed somewhat complicated and also very expensive for anything other than a hammock. And, as an older couple, the intense backpacker rep of Taganga didn't initially appeal to us. But, on the other hand, Casa Los Cerros itself - set a bit up the hill from Taganga town sounded perfect - great food - swimming pool, cabana, nice room, etc etc. Sounded like just the relaxing spot to end our busy trip. And it was!! Jean Luc and Ana were super hosts. We were tempted not to move from the cabana/pool. Breakfasts in the cabana were great. And we ate two dinners there as well. Jean Luc is an excellent and experienced chef. And a very interesting and entertaining guy as well! Prices were reasonable for everything. Ana went out of her way to find us a good day trip to Tayrona (playa crystal). The pool was lovely. The bed - though firm- was great. The all stone bathroom was lovely. Hammock in front of room was nice touch. The view of Taganga bay from the b and b was nice too. And we enjoyed walking along the waterfront, sitting at the outdoor cafes and people watching. Highly recommend the B&B.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms right now and they are exactly the same. They are both located steps down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for a full week over my birthday after spending a full week trekking in Peru we wanted a nice place to relex for a while. When we arrived we were greeted by a very friendly French gentleman called jean Luca and his wife ana he was at our beck and call what we wanted he would get for us which was always done with a smile and a funnily little whistle. The food was the best in taganga, the setting was perfect with stunning views over the bay and only a short walk from the beach. The rooms have air con, plasma tv, your own fridge, bathroom, stereo and personal balcony with hammock and chill area set over the bay. The pool is also the best In taganga. If you want some peace and quiet you can relax there and catch some rays! all in all it was perfect and would go back if I ever returned.

Also forgot to mention that on my birthday there was a card and a bottle of rum waiting for me which was very much enjoyed.

Thank you jean Luca and ana from stevie and james

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzz1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My wife and I spent 6 days at Casa Los Cerros. Jean Luc and his wife welcomed us warmly, and treated us well throughout our stay. Our room was comfortable, quiet and clean. Great breakfast each day and we often enjoyed Jean Luc's cooking for dinner. The swimming pool was a delight on those hot sunny afternoons after a morning of diving. By the way if you plan to dive while in Taganga Poseidon is #1 in my books, a ver professional operation. We highly recommend Casa Los Cerros.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taganga
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jaba Nibue
Hotel Jaba Nibue
#9 of 12 in Taganga
95 reviews
0.8 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Taganga
Hotel Bahia Taganga
#6 of 12 in Taganga
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
562 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kikuxtah
Hotel Kikuxtah
#4 of 12 in Taganga
227 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casa de Isabella - a Kali Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Los Cerros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Los Cerros

Property: Casa Los Cerros
Address: Carrera 2 No 1-35 | Dumaruka, Taganga 470001, Colombia
Phone Number:
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Los Cerros 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you very much for your information request. La Casa Los Cerros is located 300 m from the sea in the beautiful bay of Taganga, and 5 street from the town center, in an ideal place for relaxation and enjoyment of all, in a familiar environment, with calm and security. The house has only 3 beautiful and comfortable private studio, independent, SHOWER WITH HOT WATER, fully equipped (air conditioning, fan, safe, plasma TV, dvd-cd-mp3-radio, a kitchenette (fridge, microwave oven), terrace with hammock, table chairs. One studio with full kitchen. Each study is designed for a couple and an additional person and has everything you need to make your stay a truly enjoyable experience. Our only interest: make your break a dream. The house is with a swimming pool (11m x 5m) with 3 palm kiosks, game room, bar, sound, gym,american billar, ping-pong, WI-FI Unlimited, hammocks kiosk, we have a complete BBQ master and also for our guests, we offer restaurant and laundry. In addition, for your transport and trips, we have a comfortable van with 7 seats. Any question or inquiry about transport from the Santa-Marta airport or from Cartagena Casa Los Cerros, we are at your total disposition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Los Cerros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing