We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in little village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in little village”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at Casa D'Mer in March 2012 for 4 nights. We booked this a few days in advance via thier website which was easy. They asked for a deposit and we paid hte balance when we left.

The hotel is at the far end of the beach away from the noisy bars which was good as we needed good night sleep for our morning dives. By far, i mean that you can walk from one of the beach to the other in 5 minutes so you are not at all far away from anything here.

The staff were really helpful and even offered us a room with a better view for a few nights if we wanted. The room had a TV and normal double bed. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was huge! Good for washing sandy shoes without comprising your shower space with sand! Only cold water was available but thats standard across most places in Colombia.

We had two fans in the room which was good but we felt ok leaving the door open in the day to keep the room cool. There was a water dispenser downstairs which was great as we didnt then need to keep buying water bottles.

They were really helpful around walks to neighbouring beaches and dive schools. They even called and booked us a cheap bus back to Cartagena for the end of our stay.

Overall, this was a really lovely little place to stay. Staff were more an helpful and the overall vibe of the place is so peaceful and safe that i would definately recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sea view so request if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladybug2000Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    50
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
23
132
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
875 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 835 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Located at the far end of the beach, this hotel is still close enough to all the action and is excellent value for money. The rooms are spotlessly clean, the bathroom pristine but be ready for the shower which is lukewarm water only. Sheets and towels are changed daily, the wi-fi is free and of excellent strength and there is also an LCD TV with cable. The breakfast is extra but well worth the cop8000 or just outside the hotel door you can buy delicious street food from the local ladies. The choice to install fans rather than air conditioners may not have been the best decision as on a very hot night those fans just shifted the hot air rather than cooled the room. And it can be a bit noisy - but this is a party town - everywhere is a bit noisy. What really makes this place is Hector. He was everything a guest could want - nothing was too much trouble and his local knowledge was invaluable. Plan to spend an hour or two on the terrace - chill out with that view.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the first floor - easy access to that view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elsiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

This is the best place to stay in Taganga - Casa de Mer is an oasis at the far end of the beach in the sometimes party-central village. The two owners, Hector and Wilmer (hopefully I've spelled their names correctly!) are as helpful as can be without ever making you feel pressured. They had checked before I made the booking that I was aware there would be building works going on during my stay, although to be honest I didn't hear a thing from my room. But it was a lovely show of concern. My room was new, clean and comfortable, with a very nice en suite bathroom. The is no air-conditioning - just fans - but this is for environmental reasons, and suited me fine. The breakfast was about the best I've had in Colombia. All in all, I can't recommend Casa de Mer highly enough. Come and stay here. 

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicaLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

You can do a whole lot worse for 40 bucks a night that this hotel. Rooms are probably the cleanest we have seen in 5 mths of traveling in South America (and cleaned everyday). Rooms have fans and LCD TVs with cable. Breakfast for 8000 pesos is a bargain, and very tasty (fruit salad, pancakes, scrambled eggs). The 2 guys that run the hotel are also very friendly and happy to help.

Room Tip: Upstairs is probably cooler due to the breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WebsterSpaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Well located, this small hotel brings the simplicity and care of a family house that makes the difference, with helpful staff who can provide us with a very comfortable stay in Taganga.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgrtam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

The title to this review says it all. The rooms were very clean and a flat screen t.v. The owner, I believe his name is WIlmar, was very helpful in helping us get to Tayrona National Park from here. He called us transportation and got us a discounted rate because I guess he knew the guy that ran one of the local bus companies. The location is great, it's a few blocks away from the craziness that is Taganga, so, you can still get a good night's sleep. The rooms were extremely well priced too. For a small charge, you can also get breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately, I didn't get to try it, but I wish I would have. I would definitely go back to this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Taganga.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Nice rooms... good value and great staff.

Great place for couple travel. Not a great place to go if you want to party as you need to ring the bell when you arrive late at night but all in all a good option.

Very clean rooms!

Room Tip: I stayed in two different rooms and both good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taganga
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Taganga
Hotel Bahia Taganga
#7 of 12 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.7 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#3 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Ballena Azul Hotel
La Ballena Azul Hotel
#8 of 12 in Taganga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hotel
Villa Maria Tayrona - a Kali Hot...
#1 of 3 in Tayrona National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Jaba Nibue
Hotel Jaba Nibue
#10 of 12 in Taganga
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kikuxtah
Hotel Kikuxtah
#4 of 12 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga

Property: Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga
Address: Calle 9a 1 - 33 | Taganga - Santa Marta, Taganga 470001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our location is ideal, we are close to everything but in a quiet area. Enjoy our pleasant terrace on the top or a refreshing swim in our small pool floor. Taganga and around you live multiple experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Casa D'mer Taganga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing