We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an amazing find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hospedaje Casa Blanca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hospedaje Casa Blanca
Ranked #44 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“What an amazing find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

After reading some of the bad reviews on tripavisor I was hesitant to stay here. My partner and I spent a night at Casa Felipe as it had the best reviews. After finding this was just too far away from the beach, and felt unsafe to walk back to at night, we decided to give Casa Blanca a go...

Well, although the rooms are basic and the staff speak very little english, it turned out to be the highlight of our trip. The sea facing rooms all have balcony/hammock and boast million dollar views of the sea and surrounding mountains.

The rooms are basic but clean and perfectly adequate for a hostel. The manager of the place is probably the sweetest lady we have met in SA. She makes you feel very much at home despite the language barrier.

Reception has a fridge with water and other beverages for sale at very reasonable prices - quite handy. They have wifi but it generally only works on the lower levels or near reception.

A previous review stated that there was plastic on the pillows and dangerous wiring - we saw no evidence of this.

With its perfect location, very inviting manager, very reasonable rates and best sea views I have ever seen in my life, this is the place to stay!!! You won't regret it! Just make sure you get a sea facing room.

Excellent rooms:
Room #12 (for its balcony and view)
Room #8 (for its view and privacy)

Room Tip: Best value rooms #12 and #8
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larrikin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    4
    7
    8
See reviews for
2
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cusco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

We stayed at Casa Blanca after hearing rave reviews through MINI HOSTELS (online booking agency) and to be honest the only thing this Hostel has going for it is it's location. Staff were friendly but useless and the rooms were falling apart. Roofs leaking, live electrical cables hanging from sockets and old saggy uncomfortable beds with pillows wrapped in plastic. We booked through mini hostels and when we went to finalise the bill the hostel would not honour the booking by way of allowing us to pay the balance (90%). Mini Hostels had already charged us 10 % on our credit card, and even with proof they were adament that they had no such deal with them. We ended up paying an extra US$80 dollars just to end the nightmare and get out of there. We highly recommend people not to stay with these shonky people and they should be banned from the lonely planet book because they are crooks.
If you want to stay somewhere really decent with a great restaurant and excellent grounds - and cheaper..stay at Casa De Felipe. 10 min walk from the beach but totally worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfuerza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taganga hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

I knew about this place form Lonely Planet. I went there to check the room.
When I was taken to the top floor and I saw the view I just knew I will stay here. Literally from the bad I could see the bay and blue water =)

It was amazing. There is also patio on which hangs hammock so You can relax during sunset =)

Room was big with very high celling. On it during the day and night You could spot geckos which were making really cute sounds.

There is free wi-fi and fridge with drinks. What is nice is that their prices are really low so it is easier to buy them then go to the shop.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pschemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

We knew about this place from tourist guide. When we arrived we knew we wanna stay here.

Great views from top rooms which has also huge patios. There is no A/C but it is not needed while there is nice breeze from sea.

The hostel is really safe and in night it is closed and watched. Rooms are very big and clean. In night You can hear the gecos which we found delightfull.

There is also fridge with beverages in reasonable price so You don`t have to go to shop in night what is really nice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvii85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

Don´t stay on the very top floor. We had no water 1/2 the time for three days. Water was in the rest of the hostel though. The staff was friendly, but guests are not allowed to enter and there is no area close to it where you can hang out with non-guests. As long as all of your friends are in this hostel it is a great option. Rooms clean. And there is even a little fountain to wash the sand off your feet when you enter. Beautiful views.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anjelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelling!
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

the hotel sounds great on their website but i have no idea where the pictures of the room are from! true the hotel is right on the beach but once you walk through the doors you walk out of paradise! the room we had was dark, and we did not have the seaview balcony with hammock. room 5 looks onto the corridor! the bathroom was flacking everywhere and there is only cold water, thats fine because it is so hot. the music from the bar down the street is so loud you can not keep the window open for air so it can get very stuffy at night. we also think we may have seen a rat but can not be sure as it ran under the door and out of sight just as we walked back into the room. the kitchen is good though but we didnt use it after the rat incident! the front door gets locked early at night and so once we were locked out ringing the bell after dinner for about 20 minutes and another time we were locked in the hostel with no sign of any staff!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliciafromIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.0 mi away
Taganga Dive Inn
Taganga Dive Inn
#6 of 12 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Alquimista
Hostal El Alquimista
#23 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Masia Summer Hostel
La Masia Summer Hostel
#22 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
La Casa de Felipe
La Casa de Felipe
#3 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal Casa Jamaica
Hostal Casa Jamaica
#21 of 68 in Taganga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Buho Tropical Paraiso
Casa Buho Tropical Paraiso
#14 of 68 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospedaje Casa Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Casa Blanca

Property: Hospedaje Casa Blanca
Address: Carrera 1 No 18 - 161, Taganga 470001, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hospedaje Casa Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing