We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here and get your stuff stolen #2” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bayview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bayview
Ranked #33 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay here and get your stuff stolen #2”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

I wish I had read the reviews of this hostel before staying here!

Our valuables were stolen from the locked storage room by a staff member and the owner took no responsibility whatsoever, not even giving the guy´s name to the Police. He also said this has never happened before but now that I have read previous reviews of Bayview I realise it is a much more common occurance than we thought.

In addition, there are loud parties every Friday that are open to anyone off the street, there is a lot of drug dealing going on by the owner and staff, and rooms are like concrete boxes (though this could be the least of your worries).

Again, DONT STAY HERE

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank allanah22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
Families
0
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paphos
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Some of the things the hostel promises and completely and utterly fails to deliver: the hostel does not "include breakfast", there is none at all not even to pay for. There may be a TV room but no DVD player to play the "huge DVD library". There isn't a jukebox or video game consoles. While there is a hostel van it doesn't actually get used at all so no free ride to town. There is a good kitchen, there is a nice pool and while there is a bar this is only open occasionally so no chance of lazing in the pool with a cocktail. There are computers for internet but you have to pay for them. So not exactly the dazzling array of services promised except as an idea in the owners head that he could do! Also like an earlier review I also now of quite a few peoples things going missing with the owner at first promising to deal with the issue then denying all knowledge and shouting at the poor people whose stuff got stolen when the asked him to follow through on his promises. Think thats the problem with this place all round all promise and no commitment to deliver but charging as though it had been delivered

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank themaskedreviewer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Taganga hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

By Taganga standards, this place is top notch. The pool here deserves about a million stars, and the common area was great, but the room itself left much to be desired (and by much, I mean all). The music was deafening until 2 am, the sheets weren't super clean and didn't stay on the uncomfortable bed, and the room was like an oven. My friend's bed actually collapsed between the slats holding it up, and no amount of MacGyvering was able to rig it back up. So that was interesting.

I would not recommend taking their bus to Tayrona. It was supposed to leave at 9:30, but did not leave Taganga until 11, and didn't get to Tayrona until 2. It was as though it was in some sort of time vortex.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crollernyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

This place was the most horrible hostel in all of Colombia and Ecuador in our experience. Totally overpriced, noisy and uncomfortable. They don´t even give you towels! The sheets on the bed aren´t fitted, just top sheets so they slide when you are sleeping and you find yourself laying on bare yucky mattress!! DONT STAY

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

I stayed at the Bayview for nearly three weeks nearing the end of Nov 2010. At first I loved it- great pool, internet on site, "friendly" staff, a great movie room- the works! I even tried to get my buddies who were staying over at Tortuga to swap over. A couple days in, I started hearing stories from other backpackers about their stuff going missing. I didn't believe them because I liked where I was and didn't have any stories of my own.

About a week in, some money went missing out of my bag. I was the only one in the dorm at the time, so I know it wasn't any other traveler... but when I asked the owner about it, he blew it off. I didn't pursue it because I thought it was my own fault for leaving money in my things.

Then, a mate of mine got money stolen out of her money belt that was IN THE SAFE. I was with her all day that day and the next so I know she didn't spend it or lose it. 270,000 COP went missing. I know the safe is meant to be secure- but for god's sake, they leave the keys sitting out on the front desk to the "safe" which is perched right above that. The owner started going mad when she demanded to know what had happened. He started yelling and threatening etc etc etc. He even started laying into ME because I was her mate and I was translating her side of the story for the police. He then threatened to have us deported. I was just STANDING there!!

I swear- it looks nice and the breakfasts are good.. but you'll be paying a lot more than the room fees. I tried standing up for this place to my mates that all told me to get out- and look what I got!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samonella84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

I am unsure where to begin. The staff, the beds, the filth in my room, the location!! All of these things factored into my worst experience yet, please don't stay here people!

Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank langleyfootballsucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

There´s very little ventilation in the rooms, even with two fans, it is very hard to sleep well in the heat. The swimming pool is a great way to cool off but you can´t sleep in the pool, can you? Also, once in a while, you´ll get a whiff of a nearby chicken coop, it lingers in the heat. Location is a little ways up the hill, away from the beach. Upside is they have a good kitchen, fridges and a filter for refilling your water bottle.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.0 mi away
La Casa de Felipe
La Casa de Felipe
#3 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Masia Summer Hostel
La Masia Summer Hostel
#22 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
ApartaHotel el Oasis
ApartaHotel el Oasis
#2 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Taganga Dive Inn
Taganga Dive Inn
#6 of 12 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Los Cerros
Casa Los Cerros
#1 of 12 in Taganga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hostal El Alquimista
Hostal El Alquimista
#23 of 68 in Taganga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayview

Property: Hotel Bayview
Address: Cra. 4 17B -57, Taganga, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview Taganga, it´s a mid range budget hotel with many facilities to make your stay with us full of confort and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing