We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm & cozy hostel and amazing staff!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Divanga Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I can't say enough great things about Divanga B&B. We had a group of 5 traveling through Colombia for about 2 weeks, and the 4 days that we spent in Taganga were a highlight - mainly because of Divanga!

We were looking for a high quality, great valued place to stay and that's exactly what we found. The rooms were clean and we were thrilled to have a pool available to us. Location is a bit far from town compared to other lodging, but we were very happy to be set a bit further back from the sometimes chaotic nightlife of Taganga.

The property had excellent security and a great owner and staff. Lucie and Liliana were always quick to help us set up shuttle service for the airport or trips to Tayrona, to set up our diving plans in town, or to recommend restaurants. Herberth and Rafael were always available to make fresh, delicious (strong!) drinks at the bar (we tried many cocktails made from fresh juice/puree of local fruits!). We spent more time at the property than I am used to spending at a hostel or hotel when I travel, but we had so much fun talking to the staff and laying around the pool in hammocks that we were happy to spend our time there. Breakfasts were simple, tasty, and filling, and the food at the restaurant that we had for lunch/dinner/snacks was honestly some of the best that I had in Colombia - definitely try the fresh, hand cut french fries sprinkled with fresh herbs and the DELICIOUS chicken curry.

In my opinion, if you want to stay in Taganga there is no other option than Divanga - I think that the fun that we had can be attributed to the Divanga staff and great accommodations. I would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kk1978_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 426 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is my first tripadvisor review, and I am pleased to be motivated to write it by an overwhelmingly positive experience as opposed to a negative experience.

Divanga B&B is a magical place. Great accommodations for the price, a beautiful pool, an awesome restaurant, and an all-around relaxing atmosphere are what you get at Divanga.

But what really makes this place stand out is the staff. The owner Lucie is as sweet as can be, and goes out of her way to make sure that everyone staying at Divanga has a great experience (she even went into town and bought me a charger for my camera when I lost mine!). Rafael is a fantastic host filled with information and stories about Taganga and the surrounding areas. Heberth, the bartender, makes killer fresh-fruit cocktails, and Liliana's smiling face and desire to always help out any way she could always made me feel happy to return to Divanga after a long day exploring.

I would recommend Divanga to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Everything you need in a great hostel with helpful staff. Location could be better, but really it's a small town and you can walk anywhere and security is good at the hostel. Food and drinks are great and cheap. Breakfast good. Pool lovely. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rehgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We came without reservation and found a nice place with excellent service and helpful staff, cooling pool, delicious meals and heavenly tasting drinks as well as clean rooms with fans. The place is an oasis after long day on the beach - i can only recommend it to any Taganga visitor.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KasiaDem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I cannot even begin to describe how amazing the Divanga experience was! Besides being a clean, practical and affordable place (although it's more expensive than other places i've been told but totally worth it), i fell in love with the team managing this beautiful place. From the lovely and strong Lucie (owner of the place) to sweet Liliana and the adorable Rafa at the bar making tasty cocktails and telling us stories of Taganga. They made the Taganga experience even more authentic than i would have imagined and they really take care of each person visiting.
They also have a restaurant with great fresh food which is very convenient if you spend the day lazy on a hamoc and in the pool (and yes the pool is great!) and they are also one of the very few to provide you with touristic information and offering some tours, especially since Taganga is not yet very equiped for tourism which was extremely helpful. They also offer a bus service straight from the hostal to Cartagena in case you're headed there afterwards.

Everything was perfect and I would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joelle_Ha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Casa Divanga which is one block away from Divanga Bed Breakfast. Believe it is owned by the same individuals. Staying at either place gives you access to the restaurant, bar and swimming pool at the Divanga B&B. Room at was a private room with 2 beds for approximately 25.000 pesos/person. Room was nice, clean, included a fan and had a private bathroom.

Divanga B&B was clean, the staff was extremely nice and accomodating (they will take your drink order and then if they do not have it, they will run to the store to get it). The food was awesome! Breakfast was basic but good. Dinner, I had the green chicken curry with rice and it was perfectly done and the homemade brownie and ice cream were a nice finish.

I highly recommend the accomodations, the service, the food and the pool/bar area. This is a great find. Whatever you do....please do not waste your time staying in Santa Marta...head straight to Taganga.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ77_Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It started off with a 2am arrival, 15 hr bus turned into 20 hour bus trip (arrived from Medellin), had exchanged a few emails the day before, as was trying to work out which one to stay at either Divanga Or La Masia summer hostel, once arriving the decision was easy, i got service right from arriving at 2am, they were expecting me since i had tentatively booked by email (Lucia was the only one that replied to emails, the other hostel still havent heard back from)!

We had originally booked the hostel, but had been upgraded to the B&B, which was great especiailly after the long bus trip, (got upgraded as the hostel had become full, and i hadnt made an official booking yet, however as soon as i saw our name pencil'd in the book to arrive i knew this was going to be a great spot,)

There are 2 locations the B&B with an amazing breakfast or the hostel, and guests can use either facilities at both properties, the pool is amazing at B&B

Price - its def worth paying $2 more for the B&B - the hostel is 20,000 / plus breakfast is 6000 if you want it / the B&B is 3000 which includes breakfast

Lucia, is a great person, we been travelling for 1.5 months, and this is the nicest hostel owner we have meet, she has owned it for 6 years, helped with everything from booking tours to booking buses, Ullien was great to with all last minute questions
(i will say book the boat yourself you can get cheaper)

Great place, great service, also has a restaurant amazing food ! and large portions, and a nice bar

Room Tip: The only negaitve is the showers is a single stream of water, nothing else to fault
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ttravel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Taganga hotels
0.1 mi away
Hostel Villa Mary
Hostel Villa Mary
#2 of 72 in Taganga
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Casa Relax
Hostal Casa Relax
#3 of 72 in Taganga
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Los Cerros
Casa Los Cerros
#1 of 12 in Taganga
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Masia Summer Hostel
La Masia Summer Hostel
#23 of 72 in Taganga
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa Buho Tropical Paraiso
Casa Buho Tropical Paraiso
#13 of 72 in Taganga
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sierraventura Hostel
Sierraventura Hostel
#5 of 72 in Taganga
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divanga Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divanga Bed & Breakfast

Address: Calle 12 n 4-07, Taganga, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department > Santa Marta District > Taganga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Taganga
Price Range: $18 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Divanga Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divanga B&B is a beautiful boutique-style hostel with exclusive design located in the heart of the village of Taganga. It includes 10 rooms with private bathroom, 2 dorm rooms with only 2 to 4 beds in each with private facilities, patio with a beautiful swimming pool, kiosks and hammocks.Divanga offers internet access and wifi and a great breakfast included in the price.The terrace offers a view of the sea and all the village. You also have a bar offering exotic cocktails and fresh fruit juices with the features of this beautiful region that you can enjoy while playing pool, chess or other plenty of games.In the restaurant "RepubliKa Taganguera", you can enjoy the finest French cuisine with local ingredients at reasonable prices and with incomparable quality near the pool or on the terrace with its delightful breeze.We guarantee the best quality of sleeping in our cozy rooms decorated in French style with tight maintenance, cleaning and services.Come and enjoy! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Divanga Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing