We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and homely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pelynt
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tremaine Green Country Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful and homely”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Third time staying here with my girlfriend and I think the place deserves a review from us! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and we made the most of our time off by spending New Years down here and seeing friends. The owners, Justin and Penny always make us feel so welcome and this time was no different.

My photo is when we went on a walk in Hannafore about a ten minute drive from the cottages, we also visited Looe and Polperro which are about the same distance away and are still both lovely and quaint.

All in all a great trip and no doubt we will be back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamescthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Having recently returned from our holiday to Tremaine Green we couldn't be happier. I visited with my boyfriend and our dog William, who had a great deal of fun with the owner's Great Dane Hamlet. We stayed in the Dairy Maids cottage, which had a lovely open fire, and views across the animal fields and surrounding areas. No complaints with cleanliness as it was spotless and the welcoming tea tray complete with mince pies was much appreciated.
We are already planning our return. I was surprised to read one review claiming the area to be unkept and overpriced. This is far from the truth and feel this reviewer must be writing about somewhere else.
Thank you very much Penny and Justin, we hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank William_The_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in Ploughman'ds Cottage in early October this year and had a wonderful time. The cottage was clean and welcoming. There was a tea tray and a welcome pack so that we didn't have to rush out to the shops for supplies. The owners Justin and Penny were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. The cottage was cozy with the log fire and full of the character as you would want from a cottage in Cornwall. . Penny and Justin had added lovely details reflecting the name the cottage, an old harness for the ploughman's horse and other ploughman's related antiques. We flet very much at home and settled in quickly.

The grounds are beautifully kept and we had fun playing table tennis in the Games Room but most of all I loved feeding the animals, ducks, rabbits, goats and ponies.

All in all a great tiem was had. Penny and Justin, nothing was too much trouble for them. A first class stay and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doug D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Positives - the owners are nice and friendly, the cottages look nice from the outside and the area the cottages are set in is really nice! My 18 month old loved all the animals - ducks, goats, ponies and rabbits! They provided hours of fun!

Things to improve -
outdoor play areas such as playground and tennis court need a lot of attention. The playground isn't suitable for toddlers and had a lot of rubbish and broken toys on the floor! Neither look very user friendly!

Our cottage (the ploughmans) had a different smell in each room all unique and very off putting! Although the cottage appeared to be quite clean it didn't feel like it because of the smells and quite frankly we couldn't wait to get home and have a shower in a shower which isnt surrounded by mould and also wash all our clothes - even the ones we didn't end up wearing! Our room on the ground floor smelt like an old people's crossed with a strong smell of urine and every morning the kitchen smelt like poo or sewers!!

The facilities provided are of a good range but all could do with updating so that they are in good working order! Furniture also smelt and I understand they want to keep the place authentic but some modernisation would make the olsce a lot more welcoming and I have seen some excellent examples of modern cottages which still look authentic!

I think that for the amount we paid we should have had a better stay - unfortunately it did put a bit of a dampener on our holiday because we felt dirty staying there. You are asked to clean the place before you leave and strip the beds but you also have to be out by 10am - for the price we paid and having to vacate by 10am I would expect to leave the cleaning to the owners/staff - I couldn't believe it!

It is a real shame because the owners are lovely and I do feel a bit mean but I also think I should be honest because the cottages could be lovely if a lot of attention was paid to them! I wouldn't recommend to anyone in their current condition I hope the owners are already on the case and the others cottages have already had a makeover commenced!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samj1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandanna, Owner at Tremaine Green Country Cottages, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We were pleased to hear that your 18 month old enjoyed all the animals. They are a great source of fun, especially when Coco, the little brown pygmy goat, jumps on the pony’s back and has a ride!!

However, we were very upset to hear that you had problems with Ploughman’s Cottage, especially as I had seen you the day before you left, looking happy and relaxed, and you did not mention that anything was amiss. It is a pity that you did not mention the issues you have now raised when first noticed, as this would have given us the opportunity to address the situation promptly during your stay in a professional manner.

Each of our cottages is inspected and graded annually. Ploughman’s Cottage is over 250 years old and is very popular with many of our returning guests.

Your comments on the drains of the cottage were invaluable to us. This was obviously the main source of the problem. We are taking the cottage out of commission to make a thorough investigation and will take the opportunity to bring forward the pre-planned refurbishment of the kitchen.

The main bedroom was completely gutted and refurbished last year including a new en suite bathroom and roof! We have obviously been checking with the current guests; they have not experienced any problems or concerns.

We ask guests to vacate the cottage at 10am on their day of departure to enable us to clean and inspect all12 cottages before reoccupation at 3pm. This gives us very little time, particularly if there is anything that needs repairing or replacing. Late departures have been arranged previously when requested due to extenuating circumstances and individual needs.

We do indeed state in our welcome folder that we would appreciate it if the beds could be stripped at the end of your stay, as this airs the bedding and helps our cleaners. This is not obligatory and only a request. We are very sorry if this was found demeaning or offensive.

We feel very proud and privileged to own Tremaine Green. Our gardens have won several awards and so many of our guests return year after year as they love Tremaine as much as we do.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent place to stay – highly recommended for those with toddlers (although they will need supervision at all times in old buildings!).

Our toddler had a truly wonderful time looking at the ducks, the rabbits, the goats and the pony. There was a playground for him to play in and a large green space with a football and net for him to run around. There was also outdoor toys.

The hosts were very welcoming and were there if we needed them, while at the same time leaving us to enjoy our stay. We had a few issues but they resolved them promptly.

The cottages were warm and cozy. (I have stayed in some cottage-type places where it was cold and draughty, but our cottage, Ploughmans, was nice and warm)

Location - The location is good for seeing a number of things. My toddler and I had a wonderful type at KidzWorld. I've been to other indoor playcenters but this was much more fun than others I've seen. And it wasn't busy - but our trip was out of season...

Food - They say this side of Cornwall isn’t known for amazing eateries but we had good food at most places.

The cottages have thick walls and so it was nice and quiet - we heard almost nothing from the neighbouring cottage.

Location was good too – we were able to drive to a number of sites and enjoyed the views along the ways. There was good local amenities and a local shop that was open late and opened early (5am!) .

Could they improve? Only in a few small ways.
Better wifi and the toaster took a bit of figuring out...(I couldn't remember the instructions I was given!)
The trees could be cut back to bring more light into the playground area and perhaps getting a modern baby-swing. (the swing was fine, we were just a bit unsure at first...)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matt_Bristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from a wonderful 2 week holiday in Cornwall staying at Tremaine Green cottages. First time we have stayed here and I'm sure it will not be the last. We had a wonderful time visiting all different places, but we felt nice and relaxed if we wanted to stay at the cottage. Plenty for the kids to do. Park, tennis court, pool table and all the animals to feed. Justin and Penny are very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Look forward to going back again and hopefully the weather will be just as good.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pops123434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KwaZulu-Natal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Absolutely 5 star. Had a wonderful week staying in the Farmhouse. Accomodation and facilities were excellent. Thank you Justin for having the central heating on in June, most appreciated as we come from South Africa and found the wet weather a bit daunting.
Missing the early morning wake up 'quack' of the ducks!!
Would highly recomend a stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Zini6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pelynt hotels
1.0 mi away
Jubilee Inn
Jubilee Inn
#2 of 5 in Pelynt
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Little Larnick Farm
Little Larnick Farm
#3 of 5 in Pelynt
38 reviews
2.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Polean Farm Cottages
Polean Farm Cottages
#1 of 5 in Pelynt
136 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Tremaine Green Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tremaine Green Country Cottages

Property: Tremaine Green Country Cottages
Address: Tremaine Green, Pelynt, Looe PL13 2LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > Pelynt
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Pelynt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tremaine Green Country Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect Cornwall cottage holiday can be found at Tremaine Green, with Exclusive self catering holiday accommodation, in an idyllic setting with wonderful country views. Only a minutes by car to the beach, Smuggler’s Coves, the spectacular SW Coast Path & moors. 1 to 3-bedroom cottages for 1-7 people. The Eden Project, Lost Gardens of Heligan & glorious National Trust houses & gardens are within easy reach. Share in our peace & tranquility. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing