We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday heaven for the kids.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Polean Farm Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2009

From the moment we arrived at this beautiful cluster of cottages set in the heart of the countryside we knew we were going to have a special holiday. The cottage was cosy and clean (we stayed in Waggoners) and just right for the four of us. Every weekday morning the kids and parents gathered in the courtyard to start the morning animal feeding. Everyone was included, even the tiny tots ( even my 18 month old has now bottle fed lambs, hand fed goats, collected eggs and chased chickens to her heart's content), My 4 year old is very proud of his new found "farming skills" and guinea pig handling! The outdoor play areas and indoor play room were great to keep kids busy and there were even pony rides but nothing topped the tractor "barrell rides"- my son still hasn't stopped talking about it. The location itself is just a couple of miles from Looe, which is a lovely seaside town and has a great sandy beach for kids. I would recommend this to anyone with a young family and will defiinitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiptop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 143 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2009

Couldnt have asked for a better holiday. We took our 18month old toddler and none of us wanted to come back. The farm was incredibly clean and friendly, Farmer Keith was superb! cant wait to go back hopefully later this year and cant recommend highly enough!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picky_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2009

This was the second time we have stayed at Polean Farm for Feb half term and we thoroughly enjoyed it once again. This time we stayed in the bungalow Waggoners which has recently been refurbed to a high standard for self catering accommodation. The kitchen was well equipped for a family of four, the bedrooms clean and spacious and there is a large lounge/dining area with log burner (we didn't need this as the bungalow was certainly warm enough with the central heating on). Simple touches such as fresh flowers, milk and a cream tea made it feel very welcoming.

There is plenty of opportunity and space for children to get involved with the farm - Keiths (one of the owners) laid back attitude reflects in the very patient manner in which he encourages all to join in every morning, from feeding the sheep to the absolutely marvellous "tractor" rides he gives. He is usually around and about the farm should you have any problems, but generally the owners stay at a discreet distance. They were always helpful and accommodating when approached.

We found the cottages to be very well placed for exploring the area, there are some excellent beaches within the vacinity, and if its raining, there is always the playroom at the farm. It is an ideal spot for families with young children.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

My family and I stayed at Polean Farm during August 08. The kids had a fantastic time and didn't want to come home.
I found the accomadation to be well furnished, well equipped and very comfortable. We stayed for a week in the Waggoners cottage and couldn't fault it. The scones and cream on arrival was a lovely touch.

The kids loved the animal feeding in the mornings and Keith was great with the children even on the wettest days. I'm not sure who enjoys the barrel rides the most the kids or Keith.

The children's play area was a good size and again well equipped. The games room had only just opened and had activities for all age groups. My children loved it and it was a god send when it rained.

We found the owners to be friendly and helpful.

Polean farm is in a beautiful area with lots of family attractions close by and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

WOW, Where do I start,we arrived much earlier than expected and were greeted and shown around. Warm scones, clotted cream and jam awaited us as we opened the door to Rosebud Cottage. It looked immaculate, i just hoped my kids didn't mess it up. This farm was just the most perfect retreat, with a disabled child, feisty princess, mum in law and over excitable doggy!
We were all happy and relaxed, the kids loved the tractor rides, animal feeding and play equipment, the muddier the better was their motto.
The cottage was clean and tidy, all was in good working order, the fire was perfect for toasting marshmallows and crumpets after a great day exploring.
There was lots to do in the local area, great pasties and icecreams in polperro, an added bonus was that everywhere was dog friendly.
The farm has a home delivery service with the local shop so all food and essentials can be ordered and in your cottage when you arrive, saving valuable car space.
I would highly recommend polean farm, the only bad bit was having to pack up and come home, but we will definately be returning. 5 STAR HOLIDAY!!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tashjemlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We had a fantastic at Polean Farm. The girls are still smiling and still talking about everything. They loved helping out with the animals especially the guinea pigs. and cannot wait to go back again next year . It was a holiday we will remember for years to come. The hospitality and friendliness of you all was exceptional. .

Mark Fiona, Amy and Lauren Sansbury

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Steve66666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

This Christmas and New Year our family spent 2 weeks in Rosebud cottage at Polean Farm. The cottage was exactly as described on their website and looked extremely lovely on arrival.

It was large, had a fully equipped kitchen with microwave, dishwasher, oven etc....It had a large living space with log burner... It had a secure court yard for our puppy and bikes. It had 3 large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and and ensuite.....

The farm also offered a large play area and games room for children. It had a small reception with ample dvd's to be able to keep you busy during the winter evenings. During Monday to friday 9.15-10.15 ,children were offered the chance to feed the goats, chickens and g pigs and also they were able to ride on the barrels.

They had two extremely friendly dogs, Molly and Bonny who were extremely taken with our puppy and came looking for her each morning and evening to play.

All of the above would have made for a fantastic holiday if the resort owners had paid more attention to detail.

The dishwasher was not working on arrival. We spent two weeks at the resort and in that time it was not looked at or fixed. Even after us requesting they do so.

The shower over the bath was broken and on trying to use it sent water flooding onto the bathroom floor.

The towels they provided were too small and during our two week stay were not changed once, even after asking. The same applied to the bed linen and tea towels, they were not changed at all during our two week stay.

The logs for the fire came in at £4 a basket. A visit to the garage around the corner got you the same logs for £2?????

As their dogs were allowed to roam free, the guest car park collected quite a bit of dog doo, which unfortunately no one cleaned up.

The heating cost us £56.00 for our two week stay but was only on from 7.30 until 11 and from 4 until 10.30... It left the cottage extremely cold at certain times of the day, forcing you to go out. We did ask for the heating to be left on and offered to pay for it but instead we were told to use a small electric heater...

In addition to all of the above their website states that father christmas would call with a present for each child on christmas day. He did not.

The website also states that there is a bread maker in each cottage and that they provide the ingredients. There was no bread maker or ingredients?

Would i say we had value for money? At nearly £900 per week plus heating charges, no we didn't have value for money.

No where have we ever stayed were the customer service has been so bad. As mentioned before they need to pay more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank holiday-maker-wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pelynt
1.9 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
886 reviews
3.3 mi away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luccombe Farm
Luccombe Farm
#1 of 2 in Milton Abbas
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.7 mi away
Degembris Farmhouse & Cottages
1.2 mi away
Trelawne Manor Holiday Park
0.8 mi away
Trenderway Farm
Trenderway Farm
#7 of 12 in Polperro
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Polean Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polean Farm Cottages

Address: Polean Farm, Pelynt, Looe PL13 2LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe > Pelynt
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Pelynt
Hotel Class:4 star — Polean Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Polean Farm Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing