We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bourne End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Cottage
Ranked #1 of 1 Bourne End B&B and Inns
Penistone Uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Home from home.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Delightful stay at this wonderful, warm little B & B. Stayed for two nights work related and it was a fabulous haven. Genuinely charming hosts, Jenny and Graham for whom nothing was too much trouble. Great breakfast with newspapers and the radio. Recommended wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
34
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Jenny and Graham were great hosts - so friendly and thoughtful. We stayed with them twice in June (in the "King" room - had an ensuite) and then in late July (the "Twin" room - picturesque view of the garden). Both rooms were nicely decorated, comfortable and very clean and I particularly enjoyed the varied and delicious fresh fruit salad at the generous breakfast. It was just a short walk to the bus stop, village and railway station. There are lots of nice villages and the Thames nearby to ramble to. A great spot that we will return to again.

Room Tip: It was nice to have an ensuite in the "King" room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v joanne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Despite living in Bourne End for ten years, I was never aware of this lovely little B&B on Hedsor Road until I needed to stay there for a work-related visit. The room I had was clean, cosy and beautifully decorated, and the hosts couldn't have done enough for me in terms of a lovely breakfast (with morning papers and Radio 2) and a lift to the local library in the morning. The view across the garden and fields behind them are a lovely accompaniment to breakfast. The B&B is perfectly situated for access to Cliveden House (well worth a visit - see my review of the hotel), Windsor, and the beautiful Bucks/Berks countryside. I recommend OTT in Bourne End - the riverside restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welshwonderLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Thank you Jenny and Graham for a wonderful nights accommodation. The house itself was beautiful, but what's even more important is the people that run it. The owners are incredibly friendly and so thoughtful with their service and attentiveness towards guests. Everything is clean and well kept, and the breakfast is substantial and delicious.We ate at The Ferry in Cookham which Graham and Jenny had recommended to us, and even ran us there via the ATM what service 5* all round

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacksprat10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Jenny and Graham are excellent hosts, who make you feel very welcome in their home and go the extra mile, even driving us to the station very early in the morning so that we could attend the Olympic rowing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

An excellent place to stay to visit Windsor. We were made to feel very welcome and it is ideal for family's

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I'm not sure how I managed to miss doing my review for this B & B, especially as me and my partner enjoyed such a good stay.

Our room was very clean with a very comfortable bed and top of the range bedding .There were also plenty of accessories in the shower-room - which is a bonus - together with coffee making facilities.

The breakfast was magnificent, although my partner has asked me to trumpet the 'continental' alternative, which was of excellent quality and quantity. However, if you do decide to go the whole hog, you won't be disappointed.

Another thing that impressed us was the guests living room downstairs. Although we didn't take advantage of it, it was a lovely room and meant that if you were staying in for whatever reason, you weren't restricted to your room.

The property is situated next door to a pub, but you shouldn't let this worry you, as it's very quiet, with limited local trade. If you don't fancy heading further afield for food, the pub does some basic nosh, which according to some other guests that were staying, was perfectly satisfactory, without being at all memorable. They also had a good selection of real ales.

Graham and Jenny were superb hosts and could not have done more for us. Our visit coincided with a two day downpour of biblical proportions, and they even laid on brollies for guests to use during the never ending downpours. We were attending a funeral, so this offer was very gratefully received.

We only stumbled across this B&B because our normal accomodation was fully booked. We will have no hesitation in returning to The Old Cottage when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octoberman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourne End
0.8 mi away
Chequers Inn Hotel and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Macdonald Compleat Angler
2.5 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Cottage

Property: The Old Cottage
Address: The Old Cottage Hedsor Road, Bourne End SL8 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Bourne End
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bourne End
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing