We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No longer a sports centre but now only there to make money.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wishaw Sports Centre
Wishaw, Scotland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“No longer a sports centre but now only there to make money.”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Don't try and take any children to the swimming Monday to Friday as the children's pool is not available unless you wish to pay for swimming lessons.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank imminent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    7
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“poor pool”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have only ever used the pool at Wishaw Sports Centre and cannot comment on the other parts of this centre. Parking good. Entrance to centre,a bit grubby, cigarette ends everywhere. Reception is OK staff usually nice but some can get short tempered when centre is busy. The changing rooms are good now they have been refurbished but still have dirty ceiling tiles. The showers are OK but a bit tired and grubby. The pool needs a good clean, when swiming it looks like sand on the bottom in some areas! On leaving the pool it was difficult to get dried in the changing area because of the humidity, it did not look like there was any ventilation in the changing area and it felt clammy. Cafe not big on choice. Some improvements have been made in the last year but just needs more work to finnish the job.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank robcScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not as impressive as advertised”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I work in the wishaw area and joined the gym at wishaw sports centre. My first week there the place was closed due to a legionnaires break out in the water system !!!!! I continued going to the gym which is very small and sometimes very busy so getting onto machines can be very difficult, and when you go upstairs to the weights again its small and usually there are guys there weightlifting and dont give you a chance to use the machines. I was advised to try ravenscraig gym and foud such a great difference, its big and roomy, fresh and up to date and you will always get on a machine. Wishaws ok but nothing compared to others round the area !!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“BethanyJC = Graeme Morrison”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Does anyone here think that BethanyJC is a little bias and knows a little too much about the facility detailing certain aspects finely.

Helpful?
6 Thank TheGrinch666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
“Wishaw Sports Centre review”
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Having been a loyal user of Wishaw Sports Centre for 6 years now it gives me great pleasure to finally be able to sing the praises of the centre. I have been coming swimming for many years and have never really had any complaints about the quality of the product but the recent introduction of the restructured pool timetable has only enhanced my experience. Whilst using the health suite facilities i have overheard many moans and groans about the lack of free swimming time but as a keen swimmer i enjoy the extra order that the lanes provide.

That being said there are a few things that could be done to improve the experience on the whole. Ignoring the recent Legionnaires rumours surrounding the centre, it seems that management have taken no major steps in improving the cleanliness standards. The vent visible from the pool is disgusting. Surely this should have been taken care of by now? Instead money is being poured into areas that do not need the work as much. After such a major scare you would think that this would be a major priority?

I don't know if the dirtiness of the changing area and health suite is a result of the staff not taking care of the facilities or that the facilities are just that old that the staff have no real chance of keeping up with the mess but with the recent improvements being made to the changing areas I can only hope the health suite is on the agenda soon too. Although having looked at the plans for the new changing rooms I have to say i am not impressed with the proposed lack of individual changing cubicles, but that may be nitpicking.

Overall i do enjoy my visits to Wishaw Sports Centre. I feel more at home there than i have done on my rare visits to other centres. I feel a rapport with certain members of staff who are always pleasant and welcoming towards me but while I feel that although there are many positives, there are some problems that need to be addressed

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dannyboyle76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wishaw Sports Centre also viewed

Coatbridge, North Lanarkshire
Bellshill, North Lanarkshire
 

Been to Wishaw Sports Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing