We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”

Herdshill Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Herdshill Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Wishaw B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

What can I say the couple who run this were fantastic nothing was too much. It was like being home. Thanks for your kind hospitality. They don't do evening meal or have a bar but they allow you to bring drink and food to the guest house. They also recommend a good Indian.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike_mozza_morris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
12
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ORKNEY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A clean well appointed room with ensuite bathroom, complete with a power shower. Both John and Marjorie were welcoming hosts and provided an excellent breakfast for the four days we stayed. The Guest House is situated in a rural setting between Wishaw and Carluke. Although we had a room at the front of the house, road noise didn't intrude and we slept well. A good parking area to the front of the house and we always managed to park our car (Mondeo Estate). We tried the 'Pink Turban' on the last night of our stay and would thoroughly recommend the food. I would have no hesitation staying here again and will probably be back next year.

Room Tip: If you are easily disturbed by traffic noise try and book a room to the rear of the guest house if p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ORKNEYBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our GPS was programmed for Wishaw and should have been the postal code ML28HA.
John and Margorie have a very welcoming Band B. With my hearing deficit It was easy to hear John as he speaks slowly. Very comfortable, clean and a superb breakfast. Good restaurant reservation in Wishaw.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boucher4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My Dad & a friend stayed here in sep as they were at a show in nearby Lanark. The said it was 1st class in every way. Clean very comfortable and breakfast was superb- you couldn't ask for more. The owners were on holiday but their daughter was there and could not be anymore helpful, she even suggested where to eat which was also excellent, so hospitality was also excellent. Dad says he would definately come back here. The only slight snag was the website address was main street wishaw, but its actually main street Bogside, Wishaw which was not far away and The daughter gave them directions to get there.So no real problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This has been our fifth visit to Hersdhill and can't thank Marjorie and John enough for making us all so welcome. We are allowed to treat the guest house as our own home. Rooms are spotlessly clean with towels changed daily. Breakfast is first class and freshly cooked as you come down - Marjorie even remembered that we liked our bacon cooked well done after we had not stayed since last August. They also call us by our first names. Don't know how they remember year after year. Nothing is too much trouble. They even went on the Internet to find us rail times into Glasgow and Edinburgh. One of our party had forgotten his inhaler and Marjorie let them use their house phone to NHS Direct - a 25 minute call and then took them to the chemist to collect it. Where else could you get service like that.

Room Tip: Ask for an en suite room near back of guest house as main road can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smokey15_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for one night only in a large family room - everything was exactly as you would want it to be! Really friendly and very comfortable. I will go out of my way to stay there again!! The hosts couldn't have been more helpful!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGMuld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Can't speak highly enough of my time at Herdshill, I spent time there last year and on a return trip to Scotland this year I was glad to be able to make it my base when in the Glasgow /Lanarkshire area. John and Marjorie are a lovely couple who go out of their way to make you feel welcome and nothing was a bother to them. there is a lovely sense of 'warmth' with them, they certainly extend good Scottish hospitality and although it is a well run business with a steady flow of 'returners' like myself, it is more like a friendly home, in fact, they become friends.
The place itself is kept clean and tidy, and the 'breakfasts', there is certainly never any scrimpimg and the quality and variety are excellent. Marjorie certainly knows how to cook.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harmorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wishaw
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
4.7 mi away
Radstone Hotel
Radstone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Larkhall
588 reviews
3.2 mi away
Popinjay Hotel
Popinjay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rosebank
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
6.4 mi away
Dakota Eurocentral
Dakota Eurocentral
#1 of 9 in Motherwell
830 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herdshill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herdshill Guest House

Property: Herdshill Guest House
Address: 224 Main Street | Bogside, Wishaw ML2 0QA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Wishaw
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wishaw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herdshill Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Herdshill Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing