We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Gastronomoque B & B near Orange”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Bastide des Princes
Ranked #1 of 2 Caderousse B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at this gastronomique B and B outside Orange at the suggestion of friends. It was once a French farm house (bastide) and was converted to a B and B by its current owners. The rooms were spacious and comfortable. Ours had a small anteroom with a minibar, as well as its own bathroom. The husband and wife team who run also provide a four course dinner which was included in the price. It was very well cooked, country style French gastronomique food. There was a small but good collection of wines from the region. We enjoyed our one night stay and would recommend it to others passing through: you will enjoy Annie and Pierre’s hospitality and friendliness, not to mention their chien mechant, Elliott!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 87 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

Husband (chef) and Wife (hostess extraordinaire) team!
Very comfortable accommodations: clean, beautifully appointed decorations, mini fridge, nice French breakfast each morning was included (croissants, fresh bread, cheese, yogurt, fruit, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea, juice).
Dinner was optional and extra and so worth it. If you only have one luxury meal in France, have it here. It was a 6-course pre-fix meal for 46 EU/person not including wine. Incredible atmosphere, outdoor and indoor setting, nice music, the highest level service and the most exquisite food. Just the right amount.
This was my favorite meal during my 2 week stay in France -travelled in both Provence and Paris.
On the hostess side, Annie was amazing. She really cares about all her guests. When my mom got sick she didn't just give us directions, she called the doctor and drove us over.

I was travelling with my son (9), my mom (70) and my brother (38).
There is both an outdoor and indoor pool.
I give Annie and Pierre my absolute highest rating! Do not hesitate to book your stay and dinner at Bastide des Princes!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our Summer trip to Provence and Paris included a 5-night stay with Annie and Pierre at La Bastide des Princes. We chose this property based upon reviews on Trip Advisor. Annie greeted us as we arrived on property and welcomed us to their home which is a lovely, centuries old property they have restored and taken care of wonderfully. She provided us with a local map, several brochures and offered suggestions of places to see including the estimated time it would take to make the trip to the specific sites. She also suggested restaurants/cafes both locally and in other towns around the area for lunch and dinner.

There is plenty of parking inside the gate and near the entrance. The grounds were well maintained with many areas to sit outside and relax under the trees or by the pool. Since the property is outside of town, you can definitely relax and spend some quite time outdoors if you would like. Our room was Helene located upstairs from the main entrance. The room is quite large and comfortable and included an extra twin bed for families. The room was equipped with TV and air conditioning.

Each morning we enjoyed a large breakfast outside on the patio that included warm croissants and baguettes, pain au chocolat, hard boiled eggs, cheeses, yogurt, preservers and coffee/tea. We could not pass up the opportunity to have dinner prepared by Pierre on 3 evenings during our stay. Dinner was served outside under a covered terrace and included an aperitif, appetizer, entrée, cheese course and dessert. The menus were quite varied and included items such as rabbit, fish, pheasant, lamb, beef and chicken. As you would imagine the accompaniments included many of the local Provence vegetables thoughtfully prepared in imaginative ways. All of our meals were delicious and masterfully prepared and presented. Desserts were a highlight and were served on dishes resembling an artist’s palette. The presentations were a delight to the eyes and sinfully pleasing to our stomachs.

La Bastide des Prince is a wonderful place to stay. Annie and Pierre are wonderful hosts. They are very accommodating, helpful and will do whatever they can to help you get the most out of your visit. We recommend staying here as part of your trip to Provence!

Room Tip: Helene is quite large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Just got back from a 5 days stay with the family of 5 and am still high from the wonderful first introduction to Provence.

The purpose of this trip was for good wine/food, good weather and scented drives next to lavender fields ; we definitely were not disappointed. Moreover, the experience were positively enhanced at La Bastide des Princes. Our rustic air-conditionned rooms (Charlotte and Francois on the first floor) were clean and spacious and our daily drives (well recommended by Annie according to our interests) to various Vaucluse attractions were easily within reach with stunning landscapes to keep you entertained along the way. Our evenings were usually spent savouring the most refined cuisine prepared by our host, Pierre, while our hostess , Annie will see that everything is catered for at the table. Her wine recos were also always spot on.

This peaceful old farm house , especially Provence, will always be one of my favorite vacation destination. Hopefully I will also have the opportunity to join Pierre in one of his cooking class on our next visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaja69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed here in June 2010 for three nights and wish we could have stayed longer. Pierre and Annie are the most gracious of hosts at La Bastide des Princes. Nothing is too much trouble. Their hospitality is outstanding. They have struck the fine balance of being helpful without being intrusive.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious. The only issue we had is that the rooms lacked air-conditioning, which in summer in the south of France would have been nice. That said, there were fans and large windows.

The country property is large and great to wander around in. They have an outdoor pool which is very pleasant after a summer day of touring in the south.

One of the great features of staying at La Bastide des Princes is the magnificient banquets prepared by Pierre each evening. Dinner is exceptional and not to be missed. We were there during the world cup and it was great to enjoy it on the big screen with the hosts and other guests. On non football days, concerts or other music would be played during dinner.

This place is magnificient. A great experience with the friendliest of French families. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2010

The dinner here was among the very best and was presented in an intimate, superbly well decorated room with exquisite sense of place. So much attention and love had been given to the dining room and to details as to make one think they were dining in a movie set or in the pages of a catalog. Walking thru the chef's kitchen and entering the dining room for the first time was a 'through-the-looking-glass' experience. Memorable. And the meal was excellent. The menu is fixed so you get the appetizer and the entree that have been chosen by the chef. Not to forget the B&B, the room i had was big and tastefully adorned with antiques providing elegant rustic atmosphere. The bathroom was large and decorated like a spring day.
Being a city person and museum nut, I probably would not have rented a car and would not have driven the 20 miles from Avignon if i had not heard accolades about the dinner. This place was perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was as good as the dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 032611ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

Pierre and Annie Paumel managed to provide us the best dinner and dining experience we had on our 10 day honeymoon in France (Nice, Provence and Paris)! We arrived later than expected, but were immediately welcomed by Annie Paumel who kindly showed us to our room before we sat down to eat.

The dinner was amazing--everything from the food, lighting, music and service were perfect. Annie and Pierre would come out with each dish and explain what was in them and how they were prepared (all with a good sense of humor). The food was incredible--swordfish with eggplant, duck with foie gras in the middle, the best cheeses we had in France, and wonderful wine. You can tell Pierre and Annie love what they do and it is reflected in everything from the food, the rooms, the grounds and the service.

I highly recommend La Bastide des Princes and am glad we made it a part of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holtorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Bastide des Princes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bastide des Princes

Address: Chemin du Bigonnet, 84860 Caderousse, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Caderousse
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Caderousse
Price Range: $143 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Bastide des Princes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bastide Des Princes Caderousse, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing