We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant base to explore”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Scaninavian lodges set amongst a woodland setting
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Scaninavian lodges set amongst a woodland setting
Great outdoors Ballyhoura
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ardpatrick, County Limerick

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
OughtiJoh...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Brilliant base to explore”
Reviewed July 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

On our first visit to Ireland, we stayed here for a mid-week break on a Wowcher offer. It was all we could wish for and at the price it was really super. There were only 4 of us but the accommodation sleeps 6 in beds. There was ample cutlery,crockery, etc and storage. Plenty of hanging space but It would be better if there were clothes drawers in the bedrooms. Food shopping has to be done on trips out.
A good central location. While there we explored the castles locally along with visits to Cork, Blarney Killarney, Tipperary and many smaller towns and villages in between. It is also a good centre for walking. A note - the satnav needs setting for Ballyorgan not Ballyhoura as this will take you about 18 miles away.
The owners were very friendly and helpful. We had a wonderful few days with no restrictions except to get back to the ferry on time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Lack of drawer space
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee L
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I along with our 4 children spent 5 days here over the Easter holidays. Its such a beautiful area and the accomodation was second to none. Everything was provided for us in the house along with fresh clean linen and towels.

These homes are quite spacious and full of modern appliances and beautiful bathrooms and the log burning fire just added that extra special touch. The houses are located beside the biking trails which we made full use of and our children had great fun in the play grounds provided on the site and it was hard to get them to come in for bed time. We were welcomed with open arms by the owners who were there on hand to offer any information about attractions in the local area. We would highly recommend to stay here if your a family looking to get away from it all for a relaxing holiday. We hope to visit again soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from Home Comfort
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surfchick...
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Weekend in the Woods”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We booked the homes as part of a voucher deal with the intention of going mountainbiking on the Ballyhoura trails. The houses were a perfect location for this. They can be a little tricky to find if you don't know the area, however we were in contact with John and Mary about our arrival time and they were ready and waiting to greet us and show us the house. The house itself is really well equipped, modern and extremely relaxing and comfortable. A great place to spend a week or weekend chilling out and forgetting about the world especially since phone coverage is limited and no internet access in the homes. For a news addict this was tough at first but in hindsight, nice to get a break from phone addiction! The local pub is a 10 min walk and good banter and songs down there. Some good facilities for kids also with play areas in and around the homes. Overall a great weekend and we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique location in the forest, peaceful, comfortable, close to local pub and Mountain Bike trails
Liked least: Limitied phone coverage and no WIFI but might be good thing!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duv_9
cork,ireland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quiet, woodland retreat surrounded by beautiful countryside.”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We enjoyed a relaxing weekend away with another couple in this comfortable wooden house. The living area is open plan with three ensuite bedrooms. We had almost everything we needed at hand. The house is set in a woodland setting with lots of walks around it. There are several little assault courses and zip wire type play grounds which were good fun. The village was a stone's throw away although there was no shop in it. Kilfinane is a short drive and had all we needed including a nice restaurant for an evening meal. A few small things were missing like breakfast bowls, soap and shower gel in the bathrooms and spare toilet rolls. It could have done with a deep clean too to remove mould from the bathroom tiles and ceiling .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The woodland setting.
Liked least: Mould in bathroom.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lill-miss...
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Calm, peaceful and enjoyable getaway”
Reviewed July 31, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in a luxury forest cabin with family and friends in July. We were met upon arrival by the friendly and helpful owners with complimentary wine and cheese. Cash was needed for deposit on arrival.

The cabin was clean and perfect with full kitchen, sitting room with fire, dining area and 3 ensuite bedrooms (1 was a double and the other 2 were twin). The kitchen had cooker, fridge, freezer and everything we could possibly need including a dish washer! We had gone shopping on our way here so that worked out great for us to be able to cook breakfast/dinner etc. It's right at the edge of the village but the nearest town was only a short drive away so it was lovely to have that secluded feeling yet still close to shops if needed.

The walking trails start from the cabin grounds and there were also playgrounds on site for anyone with kids. Phone signal came and went in different parts of the cabin but that wasn't a problem for us. There are some great scenic drives with stop-offs to go walking nearby as well as the walking and mountain bike trails.

When checking out we received our full cash deposit back and the amount of electricity we had used was calculated which we also paid in cash. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet and calm feeling of the location.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus200...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Accomodation - Great Value - No Mobile phone reception!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a weekend with a group of friends. We rented a few cabins. We brought plenty of supplies with us. Cabin was a great size. It had everything we required.It was warm and the big fire was a huge bonus...... Bedrooms were big and beds were comfortable. All were ensuite - each ensuite was relatively modern and very clean. The owner was very welcoming and we were given a complimentry bottle of wine and some local cheese.

The cabins are in the forest - so you get a great secluded feel. The town is tiny as expected, but the next town over is only about a 5min drive and has a large shop/off license/bars etc.

we were visiting purely to stay in and drink and catch up, so the local amentiies werent that important - it is a small village afterall. The forest walks were great, though we didnt venture far.

Its about a 2.5hr drive from Dublin, and the main cork road is motorway most of the way. The last part of the drive isnt too bad either.

you have to wave your phone around to get reception which has its advantages/disadvantages....but generally, you'll find some somewhere, even if it means making the 5min walk up the drive out of the forrest!!

we paid a special rate which was a huge plus but id defo recomment the place (if you're looking to do something similar to the above)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the setting was idea. a cabin in the woods!!!
Liked least: no phone reception
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EsTKildar...
kildare
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ballyhoura - luxury, calm & relaxing”
Reviewed May 9, 2012 for a stay in June 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Ballyhoura Luxury Forest Homes last June, with 4 children. House was very well appointed, spotlessly clean & we really appreciated being able to come back & light the fire in the evenings. 3 ensuite bathrooms also meant no waiting for showers after being out on the bikes for the day! Great location, forest walks on the doorstep, mountain bike trails just a few minutes away, little playgrounds in the woods @ the houses - great for children of all ages. Fota just an hour away. Very traditional village pub just a stroll. All kitchen equipment etc. top class. Very relaxing place for a break - will definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very clean & well-equipped house.
Liked least: Approx 15 min drive to nearest shop.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing