We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best fresh fish in Greece”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apanemi tavern

Apanemi tavern
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Moutsouna
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best fresh fish in Greece”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

A small and quiet neck of the woods on the east coast of Naxos but easily the best Kalamari and Greek salad in 8 weeks of Island hoping in Greece.Great scenery at a quaint little taverna

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank solarisnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    28
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The best fish tavern in Naxos island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Probably not the best service ever in a restaurant but it is a great place by the sea with fresh fish, lobsters spaghetti, tuna carpaccio, fresh squid and octapus, excellent salads and yogurt with lemon for disert. The wine list is by far the best in class and very reasonably priced. It is an experience not to miss.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Longest wait ever for less than average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We got food on our table 55 minutes after we sat down and even had to wait 40 minutes after we ordered to discover they were out of fried anchovies (gavros). The quality was average at best and the place slightly overpriced. The service was nonexistent-i had to get up and ask for lemon for the squid myself as they forgot to bring it!very disappointed to drive all the way to Moutsouna for this experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank psiloslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The only place in Naxos with literally fresh seafood. AAA+++ Recommended!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This place is insane, they own a fishing boat and they have each morning fresh gorgeous fishes and seafood. You can choose to eat a lobster that is alive, and you witness it not the supposedly "fresh" fishes that are served in other restaurants for tourists. These guys know how to take care of the client, you will greatly appreciate the quality of products offered.
Really good quality of greek food, truly authentic, in a breathtaking scenery just on the edge of the water. I had an amazing dinner with my wife there seating at a table practically next to the sea under the huge moon moon and eating amazing greek salad (ask for the local cheese not feta, it's mind-blowing) and lobster spaghetti. Really beautiful location and lovely people. The owner treated us with a so simple but amazingly delicious lemon-yoghurt. Definitely top choice when in Naxos.
We've been 3 times tried a bunch of restaurants and my conclusion is that this is the ONLY place with truly fresh fish, and the surprising thing is that prices are really reasonable for the quality they offer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lef T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
220 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Taverna with its owned fishing boat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Many of us have seen octopus tentacles drying under the sun of the Cyclades but, in this Fish Tavern, the owners have drawn out them on board of their fishing boat and then protected them with a net from the flies. Every day the menu change depending on what the "Agios Nikolaos" boat has brought into the kitchen.
We had super fresh grilled sardines and fried calamari . After two days, even if we had changed hotel and it was almost far, we decided to repeat the experience at the Apanemi . The second time we had grilled octopus, tuna carpaccio and a nice and fresh fish salad. Mrs Maria was always smiling and offering some extra bites to taste. It was really delicious. The sea at centimetres from your feet and the shade of the trees on your head.
Directly from the fisherman to your dish...what else could you desire?

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apanemi tavern also viewed

Moutsouna, Naxos
Moutsouna, Naxos
 
Apeiranthos, Naxos
 

Been to Apanemi tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing