We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious food in a historical emery town”
Review of The Net

The Net
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Moutsouna
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“delicious food in a historical emery town”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Net has a lovely setting at the waters edge where you can people watch and see the fisherman cleaning their fish. Remnants of the flourishing emery mines are in evidence as you walk around. For lunch we had a Greek salad with a "just picked" freshness. So good. We also had perfectly seasoned potatoes and Mama's vegetable pie. This was seasoned with dill and mint for a delicious and unusual flavor. We were here 2 years ago and thought it is worth the drive just to relax and enjoy the views. So we came again.And the drive here is stunning. The service was excellent and friendly.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank daydream11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    77
    17
    20
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naxos, Greece
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Moutsouna and the coast side restaurants”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Moutsouna is always the right place for fresh fish and lobster for nice prices. The Net is a very original restaurant with real people serving you. Enjoy

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Christos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a catch!”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We had a Sunday late lunch at 'The Net' on a recent trip to Naxos. We are both fish lovers, so headed over to Moutsouna as it is the best place for fish on the island.

We both chose fresh fish, a scorpion fish and barracuda, which were then grilled to perfection and severed with our choice of potatoes. We had a delicious meal.

The staff were very attentive and we were there for a long time eating lots of small (free) dishes they put in front of us.

The location is lovely, we ate on the water-front sitting under the trees and looking out over the beach and old mining equipment; an idyllic spot. The history of the town and it's mining past were written in the menu which was very interesting.

After our meal we sat on the beach for an hour or so before heading back over the twisting mountain pass. A very good restaurant and a lovely day out to an intersting part of the island.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chazz-Joey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Náxos, Kikladhes, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Moutsouna and The Net”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

If you get down to Moutsouna, and you should, then the Net is a very good place to eat. A family Taverna right on the little bay serving really fresh fish and seafood, and with a a glass or two of local wine it´s a meal in surroundings that will stay in your memory long after you leave.

Moutsouna is a tiny fishing village at the end of the world. Well, not quite, but the serpentine road down from Apiranthos to the Naxian east coast does require some concentration but the views are breath-taking and the atmosphere, land and seascapes very different from the rest of the island. Moutsouna was the export harbour for the now defunct Emery mining business which was once an important part of the Greek economy. The ´Black Gold of Naxos´ Emery is a rare thing. The hardest natural substance after diamond, and they found it in vast quantities in the north-eastern mountains of the island. A cable railway (telfer span) was constructed to bring the incredibly heavy and dense mineral over the mountains, and you can see it as you drive down. The buckets are still hanging there with stones in them, rusting, drelict and folorn. In the 1960s someone found a way to synthesize the carborundum crystals so that they were more uniform and almost overnight, the emery mines closed down, throwing hundreds of people out of work. Huge mounds of the now unwanted Emery can be seen on the drive down and in Moutsouna itself, as well as some of the old loading gear and rail tracks. Fascinating and strange place altogether and with a meal at The Net, a great day out.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StuartThorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Net also viewed

Moutsouna, Naxos
 
Apeiranthos, Naxos
 

Been to The Net? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing