We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing guest house”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A1 Summerville Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Whickham B&B and Inns
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing guest house”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

really enjoyed our stay, couldnt have asked for a better host. paul was an absolute gem, cheers for a great weekend!!! We will be heading back to use your guest house in the near future. breakfast was yummy, rooms were very clean and excellent value compared to other guest houses and hotels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
14
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for 4 weeks whilst working at the Metro Centre. My en-suite room was very cosy and comfortable, exceptionally clean and always warm. The Guest House was very convenient for the Metro Centre being only a couple of minutes drive away. We had use of the dining room/lounge which had a TV fridge and microwave for use of the guests. A big help when working away from home. Paul was a very hospitable and helpful host, nothing was too much trouble from helping with the cases to giving directions. This guest house really was like home from home and I would definitely recommend the A1 Summerville Guest House to anyone staying in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Choose one of the en-suite rooms for convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne2715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here for one week and i cannot fault the place one bit, room was graet, bed was comfortable, breakfast was fantastic and the owner Paul is a fantastic host very kind man. would come back and stay anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumnock
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

slight mixed review but mostly all good. Paul the owner very friendly and warm welcoming, great choice of breakfast quickly served. Room was ok pillows could be better, but thats my opinion. Shared bathroom which isnt too bad. Only bad point for me was noise in morning waking me up with doors opening and shutting alot in morning. But suppose that is not too bad depending how well you take to being woken up...all in all a very nice place

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilWilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

As a young person staying in the guest-house I felt we were treated as such and not with the same respect as an adult may have received. I felt Paul was pleasant yet condescending towards us, hence the perception of being treated like a child. In addition to this the paper thin walls allowed two other guests, who from the sound of it were clearly enjoying their stay, to essentially prevent me from sleeping until around 3 in the morning, by which time there's not much point. Was so disappointed we didn't wait around for breakfast..........

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Stayed for one night, Warm Welcome. Tea making facilities in room but sadly no en-Suite.
Bed comfortable and good breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shayfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2011

A great B&B run by the very friendly and efficient Paul.
spotlessly clean bedroom&ensuite. comfortable beds, excellent breakfast.
Great value and highly recommended.......patrick&susan

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickyrochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whickham
0.4 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Best Western Gibside Hotel
#35 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
260 reviews
0.8 mi away
Newcastle Gateshead Marriott Hotel MetroCentre
2.5 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
722 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
469 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hoppers Cottage Guest
Hoppers Cottage Guest
#1 of 1 in Swalwell
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A1 Summerville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A1 Summerville Guest House

Property: A1 Summerville Guest House
Address: 33 Orchard Road, Whickham NE16 4TG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Whickham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Whickham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — A1 Summerville Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small three star family run guest house located in the picturesque village of Whickham close to the city of Newcastle upon Tyne. We are a stones throw from the A1 and are ideally placed for trips to Newcastle, Gateshead and the surrounding areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your A1 Summerville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing