We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveler rating
95
116
60
21
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
95
116
60
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tennis courts studio apartment self catering minute walk news channels bars and restaurants real st relaxing holiday recommend this resort free boat has everything you could need a lovely place to stay end of october sized pool nearest beach in season roof terrace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 299 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2019

Accommodation in the studio was clean and very well equipped with plenty of cooking facilities.It would have been better if there was an information pack regarding the use of the microwave and hob.Room was cold even although the heating was turned up to 30 degrees.The restaurant closed at 5.30 daily,
I would not go back to this resort as it was very quiet,limited bars and restaurants open.No money exchange facilities in the property or resort.Had to travel 3 miles to Tavira or Montegordo to do this,and only one exchange in both of theses towns,

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevis100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018

Now, however I do not stay on the resort but spend many a day here.
Many friends reside on this well maintained resort be it for short stays, longer or permanent and I have visited them in their various apartments or villas depending on who and when. All are very different.
The beautiful pool is the largest in the resort of Cabanas, the onsite supermarket shop is brilliant in season and out of season, and if you cannot get anything, they will try and obtain it for you. The other little shop for newspapers, toiletries ices etc is excellent to and also very helpful staff.
Cleanliness is next to godliness they say, hurrah for the team here working hard to keep your place to how you want it. along with he well maintained fabulous gardens, fountains and hidden delights.
The bowls green is superb as is the bowls clubhouse, the tennis courts and tutor. So much to do and savour if exercise is your want.
The pool is excellent as is the shallow small childrens' pool.
There is plenty of places to sit in and outa the shade, even if pool seats are not vacant there is the glorious lawns to spread ones towel and stretch out in the sun or shade, lovely to smell the grass and not plastic seating in the sun, however townies might disagree,, personally I prefer grass.!!!!
The onsite resturant and pool bar and cocktail bar amazing and here I shall exault their praise.
Here I am outa season having the very best Sunday lunch albeit in a bit of a damper day than normal here but the staff , service and food was excellent.
Sunday lunch out of season is a true delight here.
Over the last month or so I have been to a few events that have been held here in the large restaurant and pool side in side and outside café,and have had a super duper time, plenty of delicious fayre on offer and with dedicated waiters and waitresses who always smile and are mega helpful.
It is a delightful locatin, , 5 minute stroll to the riverside with all its bars , cafes and restuarants, and the boat to take you over to the beach or a 5 minute walk up to the railway station to take youleft to Villa Real St Antonio , the last stop before you cross the river ti Spain or right toward up to Lisbon, here the stops along to Olhao, and Faro etc. Buses each way too Remember if you sre over the 'magic age' prices are reduced on the trains. This place Cabanas is a great spot to spend ones holiday and more and Pedras Rhaina is a lovely spot to be blessed in to enjoy it all.
I thoroughly recommend to stay here and furthermore to enjoy the lovely restaurant and pool bar and the very delicious food , wines and coctails they have to offer you.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sall-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2018

We were staying as a large group (16 in total) in a number of units.

We were staying in a 2 bed villa. It was perfectly comfortable for our stay and had everything we needed. Our only complaints were that the accommodation was quite dark (although I appreciate that in the height of the heat in the summer this probably kept the accommodation quite cool) and the beds were VERY hard. I personally don't mind this, but quite a few members of the group found it very uncomforatble.

One group in our party were in a newer villa. There was quite a difference. There was more space, it was lighter and the beds a lot more comfortable. If we returned we would probably all look to have a newer/refurbished villa.

Pedras da Rainha has brilliant amenities. We visited at the end of October so we were out of season and therefore it was particularly quiet. The pool is great - quite fresh - but not too cold for the majority of the group to have a dip. There is plenty of space around the pool for loungers etc with umbrellas. There is also a bar/restaurant and a volleyball court.

We had great use of the tennis courts as it was so quiet. This became a morning activity for all and the reception staff were really accomodating.

The complex has a little shop on site which has everything you could need, plus a laundrette (that we didn't use). It's a 5 minute walk from Cabanas that has quite a few restaurants, a slightly larger super market and some shops to potter around.

When staying at Pedras da Rainha you can also get a free boat to the beach from Cabanas.

I would highly recommend and happily return.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 53sianbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2018

We had a 2 bedroom villa in August. It was very clean and comfortable. The complex was clean and well run. The staff were all friendly and professional. The complex is very close to the waterfront boardwalk and restaurants which were all very good in Cabanes. There is a free road train to the beach which leaves every 30 minutes, the journey is very short and the beach is great.
There is a good sized pool which got very busy in the evenings. We did not eat there so cannot comment on that. The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced. There is a roof terrace on the villa which is private and great for sunbathing .

The only slight problems we had were that the kettle in the villa was not electric and therefore took an eternity to boil; also there were very limited English language TV channels - some news channels and CNBC (my God, the Tonight show with Jimmy Fallon is terrible - do people actually choose to watch this?). We had the local channels and lots of German language channels. These are very small issues and did not really detract much from our enjoyment of the holiday.

Overall we had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this accommodation.

Room tip: villa 37B is great. In general the villas are better, I imagine the apartments around the pool could be a bit noisy
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 715BrianW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

This was our second time here, but first time we were upgraded and perhaps why we enjoyed it better. We booked a studio apartment and this time got exactly that. It was meant for up to 3 people. We were just two, but found it too small.

Bathroom was ok but needed some updating.

Beds/sofas were uncomfortable and pillows not good for a restful sleep.

Kitchen area was the worst problem. We actually like to be able to self cater as in cooking for ourselves. The cooker only had two rings which were slow to heat up. There was no oven just a microwave grill combo. We found the grill aspect pretty useless. There was virtually no work surface so we had to prepare on the dining table which was way too small for 2 people, let alone when you are trying to prepare food there too. There actually wasn't any space to fit a bigger table. The table on the balcony was a similar inadequate size.

The site itself is run down. Some buildings seem worse than others. The pool area needs updating. In fact a second pool is really needed as there are no where near enough sun bed spaces for the guests. Many people just put towels on the grass. They could at least provide more sun beds for the grass area. The pool is quite busy and noisy with kids as is expected in the summer, but the additional annoying music from the animation team doesn't help. Luckily the beach is fabulous.

The site bar is very overpriced compared to other local bars. Magnum ice creams were 40% dearer than in other local places. Beer and coke were more expensive than anywhere else we went.

We had to complain about maid service as they were turning up after 6.30pm which we found unacceptable.

Tourist train to beach is good and free as is the boat to the beach. Only issue was there was only one boat running (they do have 2) at busy times so you sometimes have to wait for the boat to make 3 or 4 trips before you can get on it.

The resort of Cabanas is fabulous with a great choice of well priced restaurants and a stunning beach. We have been looking into returning here again next year but not to Pedras da Rainha. We have already young cheaper options in the resort with far better facilities.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Pam933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews