We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing holiday and lovely hotel”
Review of Pedras da Rainha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pedras da Rainha
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabanas
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Pedras da Rainha this September for one week. It was our first holiday away together and it was exactly what we were hoping for. A quiet relaxed break in a nice sunny location. There isn't a lot going on in Cabanas, so if you're looking to go and party every night this isn't the place for you. The hotel has a great sized pool, lovely for a morning swim, you can actually do some lengths and not feel quite so guilty about the vast amount of Ice Creams being consumed. The hotel staff were all very friendly and we did go to the hotel buffet BBQ one evening our stay which was very impressive for the price 15 euros for delicious grilled meat and fish fresh from the area, with lovely salads and vegetables and a jug of sangria. The other nights we tried a different restaurant each evening and I highly recommend eating as much seafood as you can whilst staying here and really make the most of staying in a fishing village. The village itself is nothing modern or swanky, on initial viewing it could be said a little village facelift wouldn't go amiss, it still has its charm though and we had great friendly service in every place. There are a few restaurants/bars trying to get in on the 'english' tourist thing (e.g.fry up brekkie) but I think this never going to be completely unavoidable. Traditional portuguese food is the main thing here, great fish, chicken, pork, we also tried a traditional Cataplana dish and some mega Prawn kebabs. We found a lovely cafe with an instore bakery (right opposite Pedras boat dock to the beach) that did fantastic portuguese cakes & pastries. Highly recommended.

Our garden view room was great, a lovely balcony view of the gardens and the pool in the distance. It was cleaned regularly and served its purpose. We don't go on holiday to sit in the room all day long. It was lovely having breakfast on the balcony each morning.

The free boat to the beach was handy by staying with this hotel, other holiday-goers would have to pay several euros for this each day, but when its free it doesn't really matter, the beach is very clean, there's no activities happening or watersports, but for a lovely sandy beach with beautiful crystal blue waters to play in it this is a wonderful beach. Others have complained about the beach being too far away, but its clearly stated that a boat has to be taken to the beach, and for me it added a bit of extra adventure.

There are many daytrips in the area that you can go on. Tavira is well worth getting the bus to for the day, its a lovely town and you can spend a few hours walking round its cobbled streets and checking out the shops and cafes. It cost about 8euros for the both of our returns. Not bad at all. Other trips such as the Catamaran day out round the caves looked great, but you need a car to be able to go on these.


If you are looking for a holiday where you can have a week of swimming, relaxing, eating delicious food then this really is perfect for that. I have many other destinations to tick off my travel list, but would definitely come back here again a few years down the line. I couldn't recommend it fast enough!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms I think are the best position on site. Do request a double bed however, we had to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alexasholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 265 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2011

We have stayed here many times.
The big attractions are peace and quiet and superbly kept gardens with many trees and shrubs of the area.
For the sporty types there is a great pool and tennis courts with racket hire.
Lawn bowls is a big feature with local and visiting teams playing. Teams can stay in accomodation from studios up to large villas.
The beach is ten minutes walk and access is via a boat trip which is free to clients during the main season.

Room Tip: Try for a property away from the road but it is not a big problem.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Very clean if a little basic/rustic accommodation set in magnificent grounds. This complex offers great value for money (haggle with them for a deal!!)

The complex is quite large but with lots of green open space and fabulous trees and plants, which make it seem tranquil. Maid service was very good and the towels & bed linen changed twice during our weeks self catering stay. Loads of hot water and ample facilities to ensure you enjoy your stay.

However, I would imagine in the height of the season the pool and public areas maybe too small to cope comfortably with the number of apartments/villas on the site. But in mid September it was nice and quiet.

The resort is very very quiet - just what we wanted - but it would not appeal if you are looking for a lively bar/disco type of place. Highlight of the evenings is dinner and a night cap at one of the 3 or 4 bars - perfect.

Room Tip: Always ask about special price offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank orkneypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Just back from a 10 day holiday at Pedras De Rainha in Cabanas. The studio apartment we had would have actually slept 6 as there were three beds on the ground floor and three low beds up on a mezzanine floor. Place was spotless and cleaners were in 5 days out of 7. Loads of plates, pots, cutlery, etc, a fridge/freezer; cooker, the works. Hot water was always available via a gas boiler. Honestly we were stunned at what was provided for the very very low price we paid. The holiday village was all spotless and everyone was helpful and friendly.

Would definitely recommend Pedras de Rainha and Cabanas de Tavira as a brilliant place for a relaxing holiday. Also, the boat is free over the beach when you show the card reception give you when you arrive and it is a beautiful beach. (Noticed someone commented about the cost of the boat so maybe this is a new thing.)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I previously posted a review last October and have just returned from a return holiday to Pedras that even surpassed the last one.
This time we were allocated a semi villa with beautiful patio leading to the garden. But a better surprise was to come. A stairway from the front door led up to a roof terrace which had table and chairs, built in barbecue/ shower and sink with running water. While the patio had sun and some shade ( which was welcome with temperatures very high), the roof terrace had views over the pool and gardens with sun from morning till night. Cannot fault this place. And even tried to view a similar property that was for sale - only to find it had sold while we were there . Thanks a bunch you lucky person!! :)

As the sun went down at night, all the little birds emerged from their nests and circled around the gardens chirping loudly. I thought it was magical. Meanwhile downstairs in the comfortable house - hubby was tuned to SKY TV. He thought that was pretty magical!!!

So in all - Happy days, Happy Nights, and a brilliant holiday. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Qchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I only knew "Pedras del Rei", about 10km from this one, and i really found what i expected from his "sister": a big, nice pool, a beautiful garden, the grass always clean and cut. Also the tennis and padel courts were clean and usable.
It was great to have breakfast at the balcony in the morning.
The furniture wasn´t much but the essential for vacations, it had satellite TV and air conditioning, although we never used them, cause you have so much to do and see outside, the tours, the beaches, Tavira, and so on...
The staff was so helpful when we needed to print some documents, also giving us promotion prices for the summer and helping with the Buggy rental.

Room Tip: Ask to stay near the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NadiaPortugal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Managed to get a cheap deal to Pedras and fell in love with it straight away. Our little bungalow was a home from home and being able to have breakfast on the sunny patio, lunch on the grass and a barbecue outside after dark was such a treat. Wether couldn't have been kinder with 73 degrees each day. We had hired a care and had out own parking space at the bungalow door. If we go back ( highly likely) , we would just use the train which is so handy. A short walk took us to the village where there was still a reasonable number of places open at the end of October. The beach is truly beautiful and reached by a boat trip of less than 5 mins.The complex itself though is just beautiful - and hello to our "neighbours" Simon and Sue who were so lovely and helpful

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabanas
2.6 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#6 of 15 in Tavira
1,137 reviews
2.9 mi away
Pousada Convento Tavira
2.7 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#12 of 15 in Tavira
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#7 of 15 in Tavira
666 reviews
7.9 mi away
Herdade da Corte
Herdade da Corte
#8 of 15 in Tavira
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedras da Rainha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedras da Rainha

Address: Cabanas de Tavira, Cabanas, Tavira 8800-591, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira > Cabanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabanas
Price Range: $47 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedras da Rainha 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the small fishing village of Cabanas - Tavira, next to Ria Formosa, Pedras da Rainha is a known tourist complex of the Eastern Algarve. It offers a varied type of accommodation and large green areas, with apartments and villas (capacity of 2 to 8 people), equipped to provide a pleasant stay in a familiar and relaxing atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pedras da Rainha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedras Rainha Holiday Village Hotel Tavira
Pedras Rainha Holiday Village Tavira
Pedras Da Rainha Cabanas, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing