We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely holiday, cant wait to go back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Golden Club Cabanas
Reviewed May 7, 2014

please don't listen to the wingers! my husband and i are very fussy eaters, but found something to eat at most sittings, but we did eat out some evenings as there is a lot of fish in the evening and we don't eat fish, The room was basic but clean but we don't spend much time in our room on holday anyway! pool area clean and water was cleaned most days, plenty of sunbeds(a bit uncomfortable). Drinks were good we didn't fined them watered down as some reviews have said, sangria was lovely, believe me i had enough of it !!! in side pool looked lovely but we didn't use it as it was so nice at the outside pool and the weather was fantastic, The only fault i could find is that we didn't have our bed changed the whole week! so glad we chose Golden Club Cabanas we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorraine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 872 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2014

We spent 2 weeks over the Easter period at this hotel. Weren't expecting too much to be honest. Our first impression of the bar was a shock. We arrived around 11.30pm. The only bar in the hotel is in the reception area and was closed when we arrived. Noticed there was an abundance of paper cups on several tables and not one glass to be seen!!
We were given a room in the main hotel with a view of the car park. The bath was a disgrace with a huge area of enamel missing from the base area which meant we had to put a bath mat into the bath, and the shower head kept falling of its holder narrowly missing my head!
We hadn't the energy to ask to be moved so we stayed in that room for the duration. All was ok for the 1st week, but the second week was a nightmare. We were kept awake until 5 a.m for 4 nights in a row by noisy people in the next room to us. On day 5 of the second week, water started leaking from the bathroom roof. A "workman" attempted to source the leak and when he was unable to fix the problem, he just left the room minus a bathroom ceiling, with water flooding into the bathroom and with filthy towels left in the bath. After showing the photo of the damage to the hotel manager we were at least moved for the remaining 2 days to another room. Having said this, I think we were just unlucky as we spoke to other couples who had lovely rooms. On the upside, we found the food to be of good quality and all the utensils and crockery and restaurant area were spotless. Overall, taking away the room problems the holiday was good value for money, but unsure whether I would go again, and would hesitate to recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room in the hotel. We were in room 238 with a view of a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eizzy_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have recently returned from spending a week over Easter at the Golden Club. I was looking for a quiet & relaxing break which is exactly what we got. We had a massive new 1 bed open plan apartment with sea view, food at meal times was great with good choice - only complaint was that the desserts were lacking (didn't like mousse or jelly) and on one occassion the same dish was reheated in the evening from lunchtime and snacks were available between 4-5 (ice cream, made up roll,s hot dogs, crisps, cake & juice in the restaurant area). Beer and wine on tap in the restaurant and pumps for soft drinks was a good idea. Easter was busy as many Spanish visited and took over the place and were very loud, but after they left the hotel was quiet again. The pool area was kept spotlessly clean, plenty of sun loungers. The resort was a mere minutes walk away as was the beach, the free boat provided trips over to the island between 10-12 and 2-5pm. Free wi-fi is available in the bar and terrace area.
Enetertainment started from Easter - bingo, quiz (prize was a week's accommodation back at the resort!! & Mr Golden - which were all highly entertaining.
I recommend that you are prepared for the mosquito's - I was bitten 20 times in the week we stayed, however my other half they didn't touch - it's pot luck.
Do not be put off by the negative comments - if you do, you are missing out on a gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Block E new open plan apartments, room 310 had a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slwilliams24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Nice hotel, returned today we stayed all inclusive the food and drink is nice. After reading some of the reviews on here i was quite surprised with the room, we stayed in block R new apartments.I did email the hotel before arriving asking for 2 rooms in the newer blocks and that's what i got the hotel complex is massive but the location is really quiet. The there is a bus stop opposite the hotel and train station about a mile away which is a good cheap way to travel arrive. I would recommend going to Tavira this takes about 15 minutes on the bus also Monte Gordo which is lovely need to catch the train which takes about 25 minutes. We also went to Spain for the day caught the train to vila real san Antonia, then the ferry from there only takes 15 minutes and costs less than 2 Euros. All in all lovely holiday. Takes loads of mosquito spray I got loads of bites. Also this time of year it turned really chilly at night.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have just returned from the GCC 25th April I had researched beforehand so hoped it would be quiet and relaxing. We were not disappointed, beautiful grounds great swimming pools and certainly not crowded around the pool areas ! . The food was very good and better than some reviews would lead you to believe, in fact the salads were the freshest salads I have come across in any 3,4 or 5 star hotels. We were in block G and everything was clean ,fresh and most of it brand new. For the price we paid, my girlfriend and I would recommend this hotel as exceptional value for money. A visit to the nature reserve beach 7km !! long is a must with free water taxi only a few minutes away. Polite friendly staff.

Room Tip: Block G is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have just come home from our holiday and our son enjoyed his first Portugal trip which makes mum and dads holiday much more fun .
The accommodation was excellent clean, tidy with fully fitted kitchen which included a washing machine. BLOCK N is a great block and location. Away from the noise and bustle of the bar and pool area. Only night time noise was other holiday makers returning to apartments.
Food was adequate with good choices every day but desserts could be better!!!!
The large swimming pool was great for our son (steps would be better than a slope though)
Our ONLY criticism with the "all inclusive" package was that there was no ice cream on tap for children. This we feel would be a great asset to the Golden Clube.

The staff were very friendly and helpful with any of our queries we had. The Manager was very helpful when we were trying to hire a car for a couple of days. Used a company called EP they delivered the car to the resort and we were able to leave the car at the airport.


We will definitely return here again.

Room Tip: Block N Spacious and fully equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12sv942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The room was okay but too generic.The big pool was crowded.Long waiting lines at the reception.
The food in the restaurant was good but the restaurant wasn't finished(they didn't finish painting the walls.The hotel was far away from the beach probably a 5 minute walk. If you wanted a drink at
the beach you had to either buy it on the beach or go back to the hotel and get one.The hotel wasn't too far from the city centre but everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a great balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshTheTraveller105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabanas
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Resort Park
Cabanas Resort Park
#7 of 15 in Tavira
658 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
Ozadi Tavira Hotel
#3 of 15 in Tavira
391 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vila Gale Tavira
Vila Gale Tavira
#8 of 15 in Tavira
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Tavira Garden
Tavira Garden
#12 of 15 in Tavira
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vila Gale Albacora
Vila Gale Albacora
#4 of 15 in Tavira
898 reviews
2.5 mi away
Maria Nova Lounge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Club Cabanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Club Cabanas

Address: Rua Tuberaria Major | Cabanas de Tavira, Cabanas, Tavira 8800-591, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Tavira > Cabanas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Cabanas
Price Range: $31 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Club Cabanas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Club Cabanas is located on the waterfront, at the heart of the Ria Formosa Nature Reserve, close to the historical town of Tavira and to six golf courses, and 40 km away from the international airport of Faro. This is the best protected region in the Algarve, hosting the warmest bathing waters in Portugal. Our resort provides three swimming pools, sauna, Turkish baths, Jacuzzi, exercise room, beach volleyball and multisport courts, boat to the beach, restaurant, bars, Children’s Club, sports and evening entertainment. We offer a great base for walking, hiking, cycling and boat trips exploring the Eastern reaches of the Algarve, for active holidays in the midst of nature. Our holiday apartments include studios and 1-bedroom units, with a clean, simple and functional style. All have a veranda or terrace, a fully-equipped kitchen or kitchenette, air-conditioning and TV. Our restaurant provides a healthy, flavoursome and varied buffet (self-service) in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Club Cabanas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Club Cabanas Hotel Tavira
Golden Club Cabanas Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing