We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recently Revisited”
Review of The Jolly Sailor

The Jolly Sailor
Ranked #10 of 71 Restaurants in Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $22
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is a lovely restaurant a bit off the beaten track in Cabanas, but worth seeking out. It's motto is "fun food and friendship" and that pretty well sums it up! We spend a lot of time in Cabanas and frequent the Jolly a lot. The food is,, we think, the best in Cabanas (the fish pie is to die for) and Eddie and Lily provide friendly, attentive service. There's a nice outside patio for outdoor eating in the warm weather and a very nice, atmospheric interior. It's particularly hand if you're staying in Conceicao as it is half the walk down to the seafront. Give it a try (I've no connection to this place, just don't understand why nobody else has reviewed it on this website).
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

Must say their food and menu are excellent and would recommend them for quality & service and value for money.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank GorgousGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 244 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

Our first visit. It won't be our last. This is a lovely restaurant. Garlic prawns with lovely potatoes finely sliced and layered with small diced smokey bacon. Beef stroganoff freshly cooked service with rice and layered potatoes. We tried the wine of the month. Great and sensibly priced. The meal was complete with freshly made pancakes served with vanilla ice cream, cream and sliced strawberries. Full of citrus flavours and tripple sec sauce. The waitress was so helpful and very observant. Nothing was too much trouble. Look forward to a return visit.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank jel5525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019

We've heard great things about the Jolly Sailor and it did not disappoint for a family celebratory meal. Service was good, prices were excellent and all the meals served were delicious. Highly recommend this little place for a cosy meal.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank passportsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

Lovely attentive staff to go with a delicious menu. Great with the kids and option fabulous for all. Kids steak was a great option for our hungry bunch and perfectly cooked for them.
All delighted with mains and puddings too. Wine of the month I believe was great and delicious.
Service all in all excellent to match the food, hoping to squeeze in another visit. Good value for a family of five for a main and dessert each plus drinks, beer and a bottle of wine for 80e.
We came here as loved it last year and delighted it’s just as good

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Chrissie1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2018

we went back to this restaurant with friends .it was very busy but very kindly Silvana the amazing waitress fitted us in. our friends loved it highly recommend a visit but maybe book .

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jonjo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Sailor also viewed

 

Been to The Jolly Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing