We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“‘Carla the waitress from Cheers’!”
Review of The Jolly Sailor

The Jolly Sailor
Ranked #15 of 64 Restaurants in Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $24
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This is a lovely restaurant a bit off the beaten track in Cabanas, but worth seeking out. It's motto is "fun food and friendship" and that pretty well sums it up! We spend a lot of time in Cabanas and frequent the Jolly a lot. The food is,, we think, the best in Cabanas (the fish pie is to die for) and Eddie and Lily provide friendly, attentive service. There's a nice outside patio for outdoor eating in the warm weather and a very nice, atmospheric interior. It's particularly hand if you're staying in Conceicao as it is half the walk down to the seafront. Give it a try (I've no connection to this place, just don't understand why nobody else has reviewed it on this website).
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“‘Carla the waitress from Cheers’!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We visited The Jolly Sailor after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor. It is well hidden away behind a hedge so not the easiest to find. Unlike all the other ‘restaurants’ in Cabanas that seem to like fluorescent ‘big lights’ The Jolly Sailor has got it right with nice lighting and a good atmosphere. We had a lovely meal but was amused by our waitress who reminded us of Carla out of Cheers with the comments she came out with. She never did complete that customer care course! I only asked what the sauce was like when I ordered tuna steak in sauce to which she replied ‘If I knew that I would be in the kitchen cooking and not serving you!’. We ordered two glasses of wine although John did nearly order a large beer first. When he wanted to order a second drink he mistakenly said ‘Can I have another beer please?’ to which she replied ‘You haven’t had one yet! When we eventually caught her attention to ask her to light the tea light candle on our table when we had finished our main course before our dessert she said ‘What, at the end!’ So beware, don‘t make any mistakes with any requests if she is serving. Apart from that we did enjoy the ambience of the Jolly Sailor and the food and the younger waitress was very happy to make any cocktails requested

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris19_07_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    49
    12
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food but long wait for it.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Restuarant is now very popular so best to book, also signs that service is not as good as last visit poss down to lack of staff, be aware that even on a quiet night you can wait for over an hour for your food but when it comes it is always excellent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank acwgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“super fish pie”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

had a great dinner, we were very late and had to wait as they were so very busy.
we did not mind as we were late.
very busy mid week.
(O monte 100 mtrs away was empty all three nights we visited Jolly sailor)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sall-jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely food when you can manage to get a table”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I hadnt read any reviews before visiting this restaurant. We were staying in Cabanas not too far from the Jolly Sailor so decided to give it a go .......... we hadnt booked but arrived at 7pm and even though we were unable to have a seat outdoors as they were all apparently reserved, even though a lot of the tables were still empty after we had had our meal and were leaving the restaurant we had a table indoors. The food was really good, my other half had Fish and Chips of which it was plentiful, and I had Chicken stroganoff which was lovely,tho it was served with sliced potatoes and veg and I would have preferred rice (not sure if you were able to request this). We decided to go back a couple of days later and again, as we hadnt booked we took a chance on whether we would get a table, it was 5.30pm, Again we were told that outside was fully booked, though only two tables were in use, and so we enquired about indoor tables which at that time were all empty and were told that because outside was fully booked we may have a long wait, they could give no indication at all of how long so we went elsewhere. I appreciate with it being a popular restaurant it is better to pre book a table, but surely a business like this would allow for so many walk-ins ........ So be warned if you would really like to try this restaurant make sure you book a table first !!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvelynClarke61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely little eatery”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Found this on a walk around cabanas and glad we did. We had aimed to cook every night (as we had our baby nephew with us) however after our first visit, we were that impressed, we booked again.

Service spot on - we arrived without a booking on our first visit and were told the restaurant was fully booked. As we were there just before 6pm and said we would be an hour max, they fitted us in.

Food was fantastic and a really varied choice and priced very reasonably too. We ate a mix of dishes from the stone cooked steak, the squid to the chicken and Parma ham and tuna portugese style. All very well cooked and tasted delischious.

We returned for a second meal before we left and again had no complaints - this really is one to try if you are in the area and we recommend booking in advance if you can!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Sailor also viewed

 

Been to The Jolly Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing