We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleased - well done”
Review of Sabores da Ria

Sabores da Ria
Reserve with
Sabores da Ria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 64 Restaurants in Cabanas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Stunning view over the river (Ria Formosa) Special meals by pre-order:Cataplanas, Octopus with sweet potatos, Seafood-rice, Salmon filet with rosemary sauce, Fried prawns in batter beer, Shepherds pie, Mixed fisherman's seafood buffet (shrimps, oysters, crabs, welks, prawns, razor clams, mussels)
Almancil, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Really pleased - well done”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

A friend of mine has been to this restaurant for years and always recommended it.

We had some family over and we were in Cabanas so we decided to stay and eat.

2 of our party had the mixed fish which was great and lots of it.

Myself and my daughter had the prawn curry which was excellent.

Good service, good food, good wine, good price!!

What more do you need?

Have read some of the negative reviews and as a local I must say they should have gone to McDonalds as this is a perfect example of a Portuguese fish restaurant.

Well done!!

Helpful?
Thank CPD1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    302
    116
    47
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stockport
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The reviews of this restaurant are all true . You must book a table on the outside balcony and order the fish or steak on a stone. Staff are amazing and the views to be enjoyed

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnywhitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Have not been served Instant Mash since my granny made it in the 1970's!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I visited this restaurant on my first night in Cabana's and have to say it was my worst dining experience of my holiday. The service was terrible so much so that after 15min waiting for somebody to come near us we had to go to the counter and ask for our bill. At this stage we were still hungry as I could not finish the fish pie that was presented to me. It was a pool of instant mash with very little fish. Absolutely disgusting. Nobody came and asked if our meal was OK.
One of my friends had Lamb Shank which was fine but this was served with frozen or tinned vegetables.
I expect to get fresh vegetables & potatoes in restaurants. Perhaps my expectations are too high Mr Manager?

P.S. I should have read the terrible & poor reviews on this site before I visited. My mistake.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank taocrasorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Went last night and had mixed fish it was lovely lots of different types of grilled fish and it kept on coming ! So good booked again for Friday

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadie3157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“The Best Fish for Many Years”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Having not been back for Portugal for many years I had forgotten how good their fish can be. We booked for an evening meal at Sabores da Ria and the service was excellent. They recommended the prawns as a starter, and we also ordered sardines. The prawns were sublime. They were beautifully tender and so full of flavour, and i lightly spiced sauce. They were fantastic and were definitely the best prawns I had eaten in the last 20 years. The sardines were a lot simpler but also lovely. Our main courses of Tuna and Salmon Linguine were excellent.
It was so good that we went back a couple of days later and had an equally great meal. The decor is rather at odds with the quality of the food, and suited the laid-back nature of the holiday traffic. Superb!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cairokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabores da Ria also viewed

Tavira, Faro District
 
Tavira, Faro District
 

Been to Sabores da Ria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing