We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury retreat”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Ocean Vista

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cabanas, Tavira, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Chris F
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury retreat”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Wow. Seldom have I found the reality of a property to be better than the photos. Ocean Vista is superb. Beautifully furnished,clean and very comfortable. The owners have thought about almost every eventuality. Games, DVDs, music to pass away bad weather days. Comprehensive guest info pack for the adventurous and loungers for those who just want to soak up the rays! Cabanas was a little gem, we loved the town with its boardwalk overlooking the ria Formosa nature reserve. One minor niggle was the lack of BBQ advertised.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The whole package
Liked least: Lift not working
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We are sorry that the BBQ was not available for you during your short stay - unfortunately it 'died' very recently and we are just in the process of replacing it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Apartment and Location”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed in Cabanas at the beginning of June and everything about our holiday in Cabanas was fantastic. The apartment is the best that we have stayed in - the furnishings are top quality and apartment is spacious with everything that you could possible need ,whilst the roof terace was great if you wanted a bit of privacy. The complex itself is quiet yet the bars and restaurants are only a ten minute walk. The whole process from the first email sent to enquire about the accomodation through to dealing with Pauline and Ken over the transfers to and from the airport was incredibly smooth, which added to the holiday and we would definitely look to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: accomodation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor W
SOUTHAMPTON
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed for a week on 21st June. The apartment is looked after for the owners, by Ken and Pauline. They provided a good English speaking taxi company collecting us outside the arrival hall at Faro Airport , within 45 minutes we were greeted by Ken at the apartment, he helped us with our bags to the top floor apartment. Walking into the apartment it looked like a show room , absolutely immaculate throughout and very spacious . He explained all the info required to open blinds , locking doors etc. Making sure before he left that we were happy that any questions had answered.
The apartment has two large bedrooms , one with an en suite facility, the other with the main shower/ toilet next door. The living area was very spacious, with ate, DVD and iPod docking station , the kitchen had all the homely requirements and a breakfast bar seating area separated the living area and kitchen. Outside of the living area was a table/ chairs that we used after a hard day relaxing on the beach. The roof terrace was also a great feature , I would sit up there watching the sunrise in the warm early mornings, so peaceful after a daily visit to the beach we would relax for another hour or so !
Although we never used the BBQ on the roof terrace it is another facility available for use.
The apartment has use of a pool within the complex if required. We are beach lovers so headed to the sand daily !
We ate at the local restaurants, our favourite being A Grelha in town . Most of the restaurants are very good and the prices are reasonable .
The beach is via a water taxi 75€ one way, this is located via a 10 minute walk through the town along the wooden walkway, on arrival to the beach it's stunning, and huge ! If your prepared to walk along for a few minutes you find total seclusion and your own peace and quiet , along with the daring task of tackling the large waves ( depending on tides and the time of year ).
This is our 3rd time staying in Cabanas but the first in the apartment, it is credit to the owners, and home from home place along with dawn to dusk sunshine ! These are only our views, try it for yourself, you won't be disappointed .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home from home feeling
Liked least: Nothing at all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 13, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The end of our holiday
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tibbsy46
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Appartment - Fantastic Location”
Reviewed June 8, 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Just returned from a great holiday in Cabanas, the apartment was in a great location, it had everything we needed for our stay. The cathedral ceiling in the living area was fabulous it gives a great sense of space, all the rooms were bright and airy and two showers came in useful. A great roof terrace, with BBQ was a great addition and had a great view. We also had internet access, which we found useful and never had any problems with access to it. On the balcony we had the benefit of a large dining table which we utilised for breakfasts, this overlooked the pool. The pool area with sun loungers had the addition of security gates which we liked as we have a 7yr old. Guests have their own key and it was kept locked at all times.

The front street of Cabanas is approx 5 mins walk and has a great boardwalk right along the front whch is a really pleasant walk. The area of Cabanas was very relaxed at beg of June and there was definately enough restaurants and bars to keep us entertained. We found the prices much cheaper than west algarve and great value for money.

The beach was beautiful, very clean and had the novelty of taking a small boat to reach it.

Overall a fantastic week and we will definately return to Cabanas and hopefully to the same apartment.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel D
Clermont-Ferrand, France
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 17, 2016
Merci pour vos commentaires. Nous sommes heureux que vous avez apprécié votre séjour - nous remplaçons le cafetiere !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing