We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, quiet getaway hotel”
Review of Hotel Ducan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ducan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monstein
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We took the train into Davos and switched to a couple busses to get here. Make no mistake - Monstein is a village. It's bigger brother Davos is a cool 8km away. You are in the 'pampas' as the locals say here.

The Swiss are mostly what you will find here. Which I consider a good thing. Monstein is an authentic Swiss village, untouched for the most part by new technology and modernity in general. And that's why someone wants to come here. To get away from it all. There is one store that doubles as a post office and one restaurant, besides the hotel restaurant and that's it.

Ok onto the hotel itself... We were bumped into a bigger room because even on christmas eve, this place was booked up. What a pleasure this hotel is. It has the old wood cabin feel, but with modern amenities. Great decor, makes you feel like you are in a modern resort cabin in the middle of the woods. Love it. More charm, this hotel couldn't have. We had lunch and dinner here, both were excellent. The mere fact that you could here your veggies being chopped and not microwaved was awesome.

We went up the mountain a bit on a short hike, it was great. Stunning views and lots of nature to see.

I picture this place like a celebrity retreat where someone wants to get away from it all and remain hidden from the rest of the world. It would be great for that.

The rooms were well equipped, tv even has CNBC and BBC English channels. They really put the extra effort in this hotel and it shows...

Now onto the only negative I could find. Getting here by bus/train. The only thing I think is lacking is pickup by the hotel. i originally thought they should pickup guests in Davos, but that's not realistic. But I think they should tell guests to take the train to the Monstein train station and they pick up from there. It's just 4km away and taking the train to Monstein station is easier than the two busses.

But don't let that deter you from coming here, even with the two busses its not a huge deal and its worth the trip. The best hotel we stayed at in our two weeks here.(8 hotels)

Oh they have a special Christmas menu also which looked great but we were already stuffed from lunch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrBrendanDotCom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 84 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

The last stop in our long car trip from Italy to Norway and back, we chose Hotel Ducan because we wanted our stay in Switzerland to be as far as possibly detached from the mundane crowds of hip places... like Davos, for instance, despite it being a mere 10 minutes from Monstein.

What a great surprise it's been, discovering that the Hotel Ducan is exactly what other travellers have described... and then possibly more!

Hospitality at its best, genuine and committed, with a tasteful and discrete touch to professional, spot-on care-taking, Ducan couldn't have been more welcoming and home-y than this. And still, it did, come dinner time!

The dinner that was served was the icing on the cake, a bright choice of local specialities and a memorable beer (that's brewed just in front of the Ducan itself). Even the lunchbox we were offered when we said we were leaving long before breakfast time... it was devised with a polite enquiry about our tastes, discrete and creative at the same time, which complemented the gorgeous view we had on the surrounding mountain peaks in the early morning.

In all honesty, as our last stop after driving the second half of a 6.400 km trip, the nth hotel on our list was supposed to be... just about what all the others had been, a roadhouse for tired travellers and not much more, a shower and a bed hopefully helping to make the next stretch of road easier to drive than the last one. What a great surprise!

Our stay at Hotel Ducan was so great, we are planning a new trip from scratch just in order to let our family members experience and enjoy it, too. It's not enough to enjoy it on your own, it's that kind of place you wanna share with the ones you care most.

We'll be there again soon, just for... being there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTF_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed in Davos with my partner, and came to Hotel Ducan for dinner on a recommendation of our hotel staff. Monstein is a beautiful and quaint town, worth the visit if you have a car. We had a nice dinner at Hotel Ducan, and enjoyed a good half hour exploring the small town.
Attached are photos of the town of Monstein.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Shannah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

My colleague and I stayed for three days whilst attending the WEF this year. Benjamin (the manager) went above and beyond to help make our stay comfortable and travel into the Forum seamless. Just up in the hills from Davos, it was perfect to be able to re-group after long days of meetings and it really didn't feel too onerous travelling the 20 minutes in each day. Would definitely recommend and we'll book here again for next year. Would love to come back in the summer for a holiday too!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Monstein is a small village about 10 minutes by car from Davos.
If you imagine a "Swiss mountain village", chances are it'll look just like Monstein - simply beautiful.
Staying here has a whole different atmosphere than Davos (which just looks like any big town).

The hotel is very nice, rustic in style, but renovated all around, well kept and well run.
The food is great. The breakfast buffet has a good spread, and dinners were excellent.
In addition the manager is very friendly and accommodating.

The only thing to be aware of is the difference in individual room sizes. We had one of the smaller rooms with a tiny bathroom (just enough space for toilet and shower; the sink was in the room). Our friend's room was at least twice the size, with a huge bathroom, no comparison. Yet we both paid the same price...

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SW-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My third trip to the wonderful town of Monstein and to the Hotel Ducan. This town is picturesque, right out of a post card. Went with my girlfriend and another couple. We had great rooms and great food and service. Benjamin Schibli (manager) and his staff are friendly and helpful always. The rooms are great and vary according to your budget. The food and service in the restaurant is excellent whether it is for a nice continental breakfast or a relaxing lunch or nice dinner. Most, if not all the food is from local sources, and is delicious and well prepared. The hotel boasts a nice sauna with a great fresh cold water dip (if you dare!). Nice outdoor cafe/biergarten area and an outdoor fireplace. The Monsteiner Brewery (BierVision) is right across the street, and hosts open house on late Friday afternoons. The surrounding area is beautiful, and the sites and views are well worth the hikes. A great place to relax, and recharge any time of the year. All this 10 km from Downtown Davos. Will definately be returning to visit.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnnyZman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Wonderful little hotel in a beautiful village. Friendly, caring staff, delicious food. A real gem.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrieLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monstein
7.0 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss Davos
2.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bellevue
6.7 mi away
Arabella Hotel Waldhuus Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Seehof Davos
Hotel Seehof Davos
#7 of 56 in Davos
359 reviews
6.4 mi away
SPENGLERS Hotel Davos
SPENGLERS Hotel Davos
#1 of 4 in Davos Platz
74 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Davos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ducan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ducan

Address: Hauptstrasse 15, Monstein, Davos 7278, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Davos > Monstein
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monstein
Price Range: $124 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ducan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerge yourself in the rustic and cosy world of our 100 years old mountain hotel. Our newly refurbished rooms with their fragrance of natural wood invite you to unwind and feel at your ease.Enjoy the great silence from the breath-taking view of the surrounding mountains from the Grisons. The hotel is ideally situated to exercise all kind of sportive activities as hiking, skiing, ski touring, biking or snowshoeing.With its calm situation in 1’650 meters altitude, the quaint village Monstein is the perfect place to have relaxing holidays in the Swiss Alps. Breathe deeply, enjoy the fresh mountain air and the view over the magnificent mountains pics. There is nothing better than a stay with us to forget the everyday stress and hectic in our, with sun illuminated, montane idyll.We are looking forward to your visit and to shepherding you with warm-hearted hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Ducan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing