We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, calming ambience, nice, friendly staff.....what else could you ask for?”
Review of La Terra dei Sogni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Terra dei Sogni
Certificate of Excellence
Paola, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful, calming ambience, nice, friendly staff.....what else could you ask for?”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

It's a modern agritourism site..... Found a half an hour's drive from Catania's Fontanarossa Airport.....majestically situated in the midst of nature far from the village hustle and bustle.. Very welcoming staff and helpful as well..... It's small but very welcoming at the heel of Etna. It's a perfect place to escape everyday's hassle..... Food cooked on the site and yes it's like homemade. Very clean rooms and easy to find. Highly reccomendable! Well done to the owners and staff!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abigail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    145
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
162
193
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lithuania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great hotel, clean room, very simple but comfortable. Nice breakfast. We also had a nice view of Etna through our window. You need a car to stay at this hotel. Woudl stay here again. Conveneint location to explore surrounding areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint-Lambrechts Woluwe
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Very friendly staff, good English and German, comfortable and clean rooms with balcony. Great to visit Sicily’s east side. The pool is perfect, with warm water showers and clean toilets. The food is good, but the menu gets repetitive if you stay for more than a week. We had some (exceptional) rain in September, and mosquitos afterwards - bring an anti-histamine or get it a local pharmacy if you react strongly. There is a weekly BBQ with a quite entertaining singer on Tuesdays. Lots of space for jogging. The breakfast is good, but not quite up to the previous reviews. For all the quality that Terra dei Sogni (the “Land of Dreams”) offers, the price is quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Ground floor, on the west side (reception entrance). There is no sun in the morning and the rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcodalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalter, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a very nice hotel centrally located on the east coast of Sicily between Taormina (15 min drive) and Catania (30 min drive). Also good to explore the Etna region (50 min drive to south Etna, 50 min to Randazzo). Also doable to get to Siracusa (1hrs05 drive) and Milazzo (1hrs15 drive from where you can catch the ferries to Eolie islands). The hotel is in a closed off area and is surrounded by orange and lemon trees and oleanders giving it a peaceful touch. No noise at all from road traffic.

The rooms are spacious, clean and well-maintained. They are also equipped with a table and chair, ample of open cupboards and a minibar, which you can use as a small fridge. Bathroom is also clean and the shower is properly maintained. We had a room with view on the Etna. Superb! Our rooms were on the second floor with sliding roof. No problem to us though some guests may not like this. The advantage is that these rooms have a big terrace with no neighbouring terrace. So great privacy.

Buffet breakfast give the guests enough choice: cornflakes, yoghurt, coffee (there is a coffee machine) and juices, bread, croissants, meat, cheese, fresh fruit and cake. Possibility of having breakfast outside.

There is a free wifi (didn't try it out but saw numerous guests busy on their ipad) and there is also a computer in the lobby free for use. There is also a bar open during the day.

The hotel has a large swimming pool and like the rest of the hotel, it is clean and well-maintained. There are sun chairs around the swimming pool and there is a sort of roof, which you can open or close depending on which suntan you want... There is the possibility to get changed / take a shower in an adjacent building.

Guests can also have dinner at the hotel. We had dinner once and the food was very nice (large portion) at a reasonable price.

And there is the staff: very friendly and helpful without being pushy. So you feel very welcome and at ease. They speak good English so this comes in handy as well if you don't speak Italian. Two thumbs up for them!

Room Tip: Choose a room with Etna view. There are not much opportunities to have a room with a view on a volca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgian_traveller118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDLANDS
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family of 4 have just returned from a 10 day holiday at this fantastic small hotel. Having read all the reviews beforehand we were not disappointed. We were made to feel so welcome What makes this hotel great is the staff who made us feel at home from the minute we arrived. We would like to say thankyou to Marco, Luka, and Priscilla who helped us with advice and directions on all of the local area, recommending great restaurants to directions to local beaches etc.

We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts particularly the croissants. It is in a great location to explore and when you arrive back after your travels its so quiet and beautiful. The pool is never crowded and its really lovely to sit outside your rooms on your terrace in the evenings. We are missing it already. Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHIVERMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I read all the reviews, and guess they all reflect the hotel. You do need to make sure you know where you are going, yes it is past lots of greenhouses, unless you don't want to leave the pool, or want to only go on organised trips, you really do need a car. Yes the lights flicker and the shower goes hot and cold, but I sort of expect this type of thing as soon as you get out of the towns.
We found it a perfect location from which to explore Etna, the coast and traditional villages.
Breakfast was perfectly ample, although greedy people who took plate-fulls of croissants and cakes meant there were none left by 9:30 one morning.
There was always sun beds available whenever we went for a swim. I really liked the solid wood, high sun beds. We loved the fact the pool was open until midnight, meant we could have a relaxing dip at the end of a day.
Staff were all friendly, and helpful explaining what was available on arrival, but then never pushing afterwards. You got the feeling that nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Room 27 faced the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dearmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great hotel, once we found it! Directions from Fiumefreddo weren't detailed enough and we got lost in the dark! Need to remember to turn off the S114 for Nunziata just south of the village.
Lovely quiet location with beautiful views of Etna and the sea. Staff were efficient and friendly and rooms were clean and spacious with everything we needed, although furniture was basic it was adequate and fitted the farmhouse style profile. Breakfast as good with plenty of fresh fruit each morning and the evening meals were good value altough the menu was limited. Good location for visits to Etna and Taormina and good beach to be found in Fiumefreddo. Car essential but driving was quite scary - didn't appear to be any rules for either drivers or pedestrians!

Room Tip: Rooms have either a view of Mt. Etna or of the swimming pool - both are pleasant, Etna side gets the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
2.4 mi away
Etna Hotel
Etna Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giarre
327 reviews
8.1 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
841 reviews
5.0 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
17.9 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
220 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fiumefreddo Hotel
Fiumefreddo Hotel
#2 of 2 in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Terra dei Sogni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Terra dei Sogni

Property: La Terra dei Sogni
Address: Via Catania Messina 14, 95013 Fiumefreddo di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fiumefreddo di Sicilia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Terra dei Sogni 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The view of Taormina Gulf and the imposing Volcano Etna, are the backdrop to La Terra dei Sogni. We welcome our guests to an enriched environment that will give you a peaceful and enjoyable vacation. We are 30 minutes from the International Catania Airport Bellini Fontanarossa, 10 minutes from Taormina, 5 minutes from the beautiful natural reserve of Fiumefreddo di Sicilia and the beautiful beaches of Marina di Cottone ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Terra dei Sogni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terra Dei Sogni Hotel Fiumefreddo Di Sicilia
La Terra Dei Sogni Fiumefreddo Di Sicilia, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing