We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with friendly and welcoming service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vuokatti
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2014

I stayed with my colleagues in Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti at the end of November 2013. Being a little off-season, the hotel and the whole resort was quiet. This could be seen also in the services available as well as the opening hours of the restaurants. The reception was very welcoming and we had very good service throughout the trip. We also had some meetings in the hotel and the arrangements worked smoothly.

Rooms were very basic and already a bit worn out. Especially the ragged orange fleece blankets didn’t give an impression of an up-to-date hotel. Everything was clean but in my opinion the rooms should be refurbished to keep business and private customers coming back.

Breakfast was served in Amarillo restaurant and there was wide selection of the usual Sokos Hotel chain dishes. Everything was fresh and coffee tasted good. Maybe Amarillo is not the most convenient place to have breakfast as the lighting is dim and you’re practically having breakfast in a night club. On the first night we had dinner in restaurant Kippo and we loved the food there. Also the service in the restaurant was first class.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suns33ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 70 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is located close to all the main attractions of the Vuokatti area. The (small) central Sotkamo is about 5 kilometres from the hotel. The hotel itself is quite new, rooms are well equipped and always clean. There's an excellent restaurant ("Kippo") with traditional local food cuisine and cozy atmosphere downstairs. There are saunas in the hotel but no swimming pool. The thing that really distinguishes this hotel from other Sokos hotels around Finland and makes me give excellent rating is the super friendly and impeccable service. I've stayed here on four different occasions this year and the staff has made an even better impression on every stay. Recommended!

Room Tip: On weekends it's best to avoid the rooms closest to the restaurants/night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jussi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Friendly staff, rooms with all that you need, in a great location. Breakfasts as good as you can get and good restaurant facilities at a reasonable price for Finland. Only problem is the choice of TV channels - no CNN or BBC World.

Room Tip: Balconies to front but back is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

- Friendly staff at the reception, fast check-in.
- Spacious, fresh, bright and clean Superior room with a balcony and all the equipments, including hair-dryer, tea-kettle, minibar, iron and iron-board, TV (though with just a limited selection of channels), etc. Tea, coffee and bottles with water for free in the room. Note: Some of these things are not in normal rooms (e.g. there is no minibar, tea-kettle, free water, etc. in standard rooms.)
- Comfortable beds, calm surroundings = very good sleeping quality.
- Cleaning services - very good.
- 2 restaurants - we tried just one (Amarillo) on the first floor, some kind of Mexican restaurant. Huge portions.
- Sauna available to all hotel guests (haven't tried, though).
- The only problem I had was very very slow wifi internet connection (it's free of charge). But you can connect via cabel (first 24 hours are free, then you have to pay some fee), that's faster.
Overall impression - nice, clean hotel = very pleasant stay!

Room Tip: Choose Superior room with additional services as minibar, tea-kettle, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lekli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Staying one night on business trip. The staff at the reception were friendly. The service at restaurant Amarillo was exceptionally friendly in Finnish scale. Clean hotel. The age of the hotel does not show (5 years). I liked the info displays.

Thank laitis63
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Overall nice and clean hotel with quality restaurants and nice staff. However there were a few setbacks. First of all we had booked a room with a bathtub, but didn't get one (we didn't complain about it cause it wasn't a biggie for us). Secondly there was no minibar nor fridge in the room of any kind. ?? (Fortunately there was an ice machine in the corridor so we could cool our drinks in the sink :D.

There also seemed to be some shortage of staff. We saw only _one_ staff member during the 24 hour visit (in addition to the ones in restaurants employess ofcourse). The reception counter was empty over half the times we passed by it. The ice machine in the corridor was not looked after very good neither, because there was no cups in the holder. The lady in the reception filled it immeadiately when I mentioned about it, but it was empty again in a few hours.

Seriously, only one staff member present in a hotel this size? Staff was nice and polite so don't blame them though. 3 out of 5 anyway, because the overall condition of the hotel was very clean and high quality.

Room Tip: There's no minibar in standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JusuK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Very nice rooms, great restaurant, free parking. located near by the Vuokatti down hill skiing resort and other Vuokatti activities. Also Katinkulta Spa is near by but you will need a car for transfers. Breakfast was excellent, very professional staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vuokatti
1.9 mi away
Holiday Club Katinkulta
Holiday Club Katinkulta
#2 of 3 in Vuokatti
165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vuokatti Sport Hotel
Vuokatti Sport Hotel
#3 of 3 in Vuokatti
10 reviews
17.7 mi away
Scandic Kajanus
Scandic Kajanus
#1 of 3 in Kajaani
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Original Sokos Hotel Valjus
1.3 mi away
Hotelli Vuokatti & Suites
1.4 mi away
Vuokatin Aateli
Vuokatin Aateli
#1 of 2 in Vuokatti
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti

Address: Kidekuja 2 | Snowpolis, Vuokatti 88610, Finland
Location: Finland > Kainuu > Vuokatti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Vuokatti
Price Range: $135 - $726 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti 4*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti is located in the heart of Vuokatti International holiday resort. In addition to accommodation and restaurant services the hotel offers a wide range of interesting indoor and outdoor activities all year round. The hotel has 143 comfortable hotel rooms and 36 holiday apartments. The hotel's meeting facilities seat from 10 to 110 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Break Sokos Hotel Vuokatti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing