We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Rawley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rawley Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Severn
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed October 4, 2008

We went as a family there shortly after the resort re-opened. We really liked the rooms. Between us we occupied a variety of rooms: premium suites, executive suites and waterside lofts. It is clear that time and expense went into the renovations.

The food in the restaurant ranged from very good to excellent. One night we walked over to the Inn at Christie's Mill and had dinner and we really wished we had stayed at Rawley where the food was significantly better. The atmosphere of the restaurant at Rawley could have been cozier but we were all very happy overall.

We also had spa treatments at the Inn at Christie's Mill which is a tacky and outdated place, both in the spa and regarding the dinner menu.

We were at the Rawley Resort with two small children and there is really nothing for them to do, but the small pool area was nice.

Our main complaint was regarding the front desk staff who were very confused and quoted us completely different prices each time we called. They also verged on unfreindly. When we finally got there though, everything was fine. We requested a crib, and not only did they give us one, but made it very cute with toys inside and everything. I think this was the doing of one of the owners who was very friendly and accomodating. The rest of the staff were excellent.

Port Severn is a lock town and is not at all remote or woodsy, so if you go to this place you need to know that it is not "cottagey". Otherwise, it is a very good choice.

  • Liked — Rooms, Food
  • Disliked — Making the reservation in terms of dealing with the front desk
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank escapeGTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    35
    16
    18
    6
See reviews for
31
84
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Rawleys was just what I needed. I needed to get away from work. My husband and I were celebrating five years of marriage. We went to Rawleys for two nights. This place is ideal if you just want to relax by the pool with a good book or in your magnificent hotel room. I have stayed at 5 star hotels that weren't as nice. This place had GREAT modern decor, all the amenities one could want. It was tastefully done. Dinner was delicious, breakfast was alright as well. The service at dinner was a little slow, but they recognized that, and compensated for that. I can't rave more about our room, it was so gorgeous and clean. The pool was quite nice as well. The place is on a marina so you'll see boats go by as you eat on the patio. I did feel that the prices to stay there were a bit pricey and would only suggest that they offered package deals (like dinner and accomodations coupled together). I do intend to go back next year.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJDZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We booked for a two night stay after reading great reviews on TripAdvisor. We first ran into some issues when they booked us in the Executive Suite instead of the Waterside Lofts. After this we told them they had made a mistake and instead of an appoligy and good customer service they informed us they "never double book and we must have made the mistake and besides the lofts were full". This was besides the point, but since we were told the Loft was $450 a night and the Executive Suite was $400 we figured we'd save the $100 bucks and simply stay in the Executive Suite. We arrived and they had made another mistake on when we had booked at the restaurant (they booked us for Saturday night instead of Sunday).
However, our room was beautiful. We were in suite 301 and the view was not over the water, but the balcony was large and the suite was clean, bathroom was huge and the whole suite was nicely decorated. Luckily we were only staying here while visiting family during the day because we found there was not much to do (which is great if you want to simply relax).
In the end we checked out, and we were charged $450 a night (once again we were told it would be $400). However, no change was made. We informed them of all our inconviences and there was still no customer service. We were told that they would contact the person who took our reservation and call us to let us know "what happened". However, our vacation is over and this is too late...and still we never heard ONE apology.
All in all, it was relaxing if it weren't for the reservation staff (restaurant staff was GREAT, including Misty our waitress who had a great sense of humour and attitude!).

  • Liked — Suite Decoration/Balcony
  • Disliked — Reservation/Front Desk Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jscToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We booked at the Rawley Resort for three nights at the beginning of July based on the reviews we saw on Trip Advisor and we definitely weren't disappointed!

Our rooms were least expensive they had - and the only one available that week - in the terrace units, but they were great. They were clean and spacious and the beds were amazing comfortable.

The staff were friendly and the resort was great for a get away. Our only small criticism was that we felt that the restaurant could have done with a bit more menu rotation. The food was top rate, however if we had been eating there every night, we would have soon tired of the selection.

Overall though, a great resort, we'd definitely be back!

  • Liked — The peace and tranquility of the resort
  • Disliked — Lack of menu choice for dinners
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatHowells888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2008

We read about Rawley Resort on Trip Advisor, and have just returned from a five night stay and were not disappointed.

We stayed in one of the Waterside Lodges which was spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with lovely views of the water (which can get a bit noisy at the weekends).
Well equipped kitchen area (small fridge, microwave, sink, coffee maker) for making light snacks.
The Waterside Lodges have a patio area downstairs leading onto grass and the waters edge and a small balcony upstairs.

Lovely outdoor heated pool.

Excellent choice of hot or cold breakfast in the Restaurant.
We would have eaten in the restaurant every evening but sadly there were no vegetarian options however on reflection, we should have asked as the level of service and attention to detail was exceptional and I am sure we would have been accommodated.

Within walking distance: Beer/wine store, small Supermarket and general store, Post Office and pizza/burger takeaway. Five minute drive: launderette, car wash and petrol.

A charming resort finished to an extremely high standard. We would not hesitate to return or recommend.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, Attention to Detail, Views, Location ......
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jangeo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We stayed here for a night on the Easter Weekend and didn't want to leave! We had a waterfront suite on the third floor overlooking the Trent-Severn waterway. The room is well-equipped with a small fridge, microwave, coffee-maker, gas fireplace, flat-screen TV and jacuzzi tub. Beautifully decorated, fine linens and extremely comfortable bed. Had a fabulous dinner and breakfast. Highly recommend this as a relaxing, elegant reteat.

  • Liked — Beautiful room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navigate440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2008

Hi,
I wrote a review about the Rawley a while ago and some of the information was incorrect. There are actually 20 suites and 3 cottages.
We stayed in the Water Loft Suites which has a wonderful view of the water just outside of your door. You and can sit outside and watch the boats go by. We actually swam in the heated pool during our stay in October. I couldn't believe I got a sun burn in October.
The rooms in the Inn are as beautiful as the Loft Suites. It is a hard decision which place to stay at. So go twice and try both. We are booking our third stay today for a future date. Can't wait to go again.
It is first class all the way.
You would go a long way to find any meal as amazing as what the meals are at Rawley.
We are booking our third stay this week. As much as I love the Inn I think the staff and owners are also a drawing card. Everyone is so nice and friendly.
There is a lot to do in the area and if you just want to kick back and relax there is no better place in my mind to do just that.
Enjoy!
Heavenlygal

  • Liked — clean, good service
  • Disliked — no blinds on the lower floor windows
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank heavenlygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Severn
18.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
0.3 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
5.2 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
18.3 mi away
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
Rocky Crest Golf Resort
#19 of 55 in Muskoka District
3.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
15.2 mi away
Bayview Wildwood Resort
Bayview Wildwood Resort
#1 of 1 in Severn Bridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawley Resort

Property: Rawley Resort
Address: 2900 Kellys Road | P.O. Box 189, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rawley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique all one bedroom suite waterfront hotel. Fine amenities compliment our upscale furnishings and fine linens. Some suites have hospitality kitchens to prepare light lunches. Spa on site. Piano bar. From rain forest shower head to superior personalized service we look forward to entertaining you and yours. Free Wifi. 1-1/4 hr. from 401 off 400. Easy off highway. Perfect for Corporate events, wedding,private parties,families, and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Rawley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawley Hotel Port Severn
Rawley Hotel Muskoka
Rawley Resort Port Severn, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing