We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Resort”
Review of Rawley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rawley Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Severn
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a great relaxing stay at the Rawley. The rooms were spacious, extremely well kept and decorated. The view from our balcony overlooking the water was tremendous.
The dining room was wonderfully decorated and created a warm relaxing atmosphere. The food was superb and very attractively presented. Great Chef! The staff were very accomodating and addressed all our needs. They were very friendly, happy and seemed to enjoy working there.
I highly recommend staying at the Rawley. A great resort. We will definitely go again.
L & J Molnar

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out to write such a great detailed review. I have shared your comments with our team and they were so very pleased to read how happy you were with the service, accommodations andyour dining experience. We have a fantastic team here at Rawley and we all enjoy working together to make our guests comfortable. One of the highlights of working in the hotel business is meeting such wonderful guests like yourselves. You were such a pleasure and we truly look forward to having you come through our doors again for another stay, hopefully in the near future.
the best of the holiday season to you and yours
Warm regards from
ALL THE TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 191 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had dinner at Rawley Resort last year and this year. The restaurant is beautiful and has gorgeous views! The staff are very pleasent and helpful. Our dinner was amazing! The steak was to die for and the soup and dessert blew our minds! If we were not in a restaurant I would of licked my plate clean! Very romantic and I would suggest the Rawley Resort to everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Your compliments on your visit with us is very much appreciated. Our team enjoys receiving reviews that let's us know that the we were sucessful in meeting up to our guests expectations. They work very hard and truly care about our guests and strives to make Rawley's guest experience the best it can be. The kitchen staff were happy to read that your dinner was amazing. Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to having you return to us in the near future.
All the Rawley team wishes you and yours a happy holiday season filled with good food, fond memories and lots of laughter.
See you in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wow. A group of six of us (3 couples) travelled by boat to Rawley Resort on the weekend of September 8th. It poured rain on our entire way up (resulting in quite the interesting afternoon :) ) but upon our arrival, the resort was on hand to help us dock, provide us with a golf cart to transfer our things quickly while staying dry, and all done with a smile on their faces. Our rooms were beautiful, and SPOTLESS. They were accomodating when we needed to modiify our dinner reservation for timing, and even addressed me by name when I passed throug hthe lobby (was very impressed by this). The restaurant had a GREAT vibe to it, and our table was perfect for a social gathering. My meal was not my favourite (I had the caprese salad and a chicken dish) BUT I think perhaps it was due to simply picking the wrong thing for my tastes as I tried a bit of my friends' orders and they were delicious. When I mentioned my distaste for the salad, the waitress, did not charge us for it. That exceeded my expectations. Breakfast was excellent the next day! All in all we truly enjoyed our weekend getaway and will be making it an annual thing I am sure! Well done.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Our dock attendants are going to be so happy that they received a review on Trip Advisor. They really enjoy their jobs. They along with the rest of the team find it easy to smile as we have such wonderful guests staying with us.
Thank you for sharing your great review on our accommodations, staff and decor.
I along with the kitchen are so sorry about your disappointment in the chicken. We tested it, discussed it and agree with you so we have changed the chicken entree to a different choice.
The caprese salad consists of our house made motzarella. The texture is different in a housemade cheese and some guests do not enjoy the texture as they are used to store bought. Our breakfast is one of our guests favourite and we are glad you enjoyed it. Looking forward to your boat and crew returning to our docks next season.
Have a wonderful holiday season and the best in 2013.
Happy holidays from the Rawley team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had the pleasure of choosing Rawley Resort for our wedding on October 5, 2012.

From the initial planning, right through to the night itself, we found the resort to be at a 5 star level, the staff accomodating, helpful and interested in our needs.

Our wedding dinner has been compared by our guests to the best meals that they have enjoyed at any other restaurant or resort.

Our chalet was stunning, beautifully appointed and afforded us the view of a lifetime to wake up to. It was perfectly maintained and impecably clean. Our guests, who stayed in cottages, as well as the hotel itself, had very much the same feedback.

We availed ourselves of as many opportunities as possible to relax in the restaurant lounge, including returning two nights after the wedding to enjoy the musical talents of Eric, who had made our wedding night comfortable, memorable and a ton of fun for all involved.

We hope to get back to Rawley Lodge as soon as possible. There is no chance that we will wait for our first anniversary.

Room Tip: Try a 2 story lakeside chalet. 2 decks, a gorgeous lawn, an unobstructed view of the water and even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Outstanding service is so easy to do when you are looking after such nice guests. What a pleasure you brought to all the staff with your amazing sense of humour and lovely smile.
A beautiful wedding, surrounded by wonderful friends and family is one memory you will never forget and we are glad that you chose Rawley Resort to celebrate you special day.Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor it is much appreciated.
Why not celebrate your anniversary say every few months.....we would love to be a part of your celebration
Again, congratulations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The best night in the local area for dinning, music and the welcoming waterfront guest rooms are very comfortable and perfectly put together. Our room was fantastic right down to the smallest details.....including the popcorn with chocolate drizzle and the incredible red wine. When we booked our stay, the manager Micheal sent us a email confirmation and asked me if there was anything else they could do to make our stay more enjoyable for our anniversarry. Our server Jeremey, who was very professional and experience in choosing the perfect wine for each taster meal, had informed us that Micheal was personally in the kitchen preparing every dish that we had...it was the most amazing meal my husband and I had ever tasted! . We loved this place so much and we certainly want to go back soon. Great job Micheal and everyone else. You really care about what you prepare for your guests for dinner and the finishing touches in the room. Thank you again Micheal and the wonderful staff at Rawley.

Room Tip: The water front suites are beautiful:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

We were pleased to read your appraisal of our team, services and Rawley Resort amenities and we thank you for taking the time to write this review. Every staff member here will be equally pleased when they read your review as all the staff "totally own Rawley". They work hard at making all our guests feel welcome and comfortable and appreciate every kind review that is written on our comment cards, or on Trip Advisor.
You will have to return in the summer months when the sun is shining and the breeze is warm so you can lie back on the chaise and enjoy that large water view balcony. Let's hope that we get another summer like we had this year but know that we look forward to welcoming you back to Rawley at anytime of the year.
Again thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have added the Rawley as one of our favourite places to stay when travelling north. The suites and the property in general are very tastefully appointed, warm, welcoming, and immaculate (which is very high praise coming from a neat freak like myself). Our suite felt more like an extension of our home than an Inn or Resort so settling into a relaxing evening was natural and easy. The view is great and the peace and quiet is second to none. We were fortunate to have a suite with a great balcony/porch but given lousy weather during our visit, we weren't able to make good use of it. We had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and the food was excellent. The piano player added a nice touch to the ambiance of the room as well. We will definitely be returning and if you are thinking of travelling to that neck of the woods, I highly recommend the Rawley!...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelHopper97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Everyone here are all so pleased to have read that your stay with us met your expectations and that you had an enjoyable and relaxing visit. The housekeeping was happy to hear that you were impressed with the cleaniness of your suite. It is also very important to them that they make sure everything is up to their standards as well. They really care and want to please the guest.
It is so great when we can post a review such as yours on the staff bulletin board. It brings a smile to their faces. They work very hard to make Rawley's guest experience the best it can be and they truly appreciate your kind words.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience onTrip Advisor and for making Rawley your "New favourite spot". Looking forward to welcoming you back to Rawley in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

She's a tease... So pretty and sooo alluring but Gawley's at Rawey's continues to send me home wondering if my commitment will ever pay off.

The decor really is lovey and worth a visit in and of itself. With very comfortable seating and a magnificent view you could easily spend an evening and happily spend a lot of money in this place. The embiance is superb - quiet when it needs to be and boisterous when it should be. The menu this fall is really enticing. But the service on the floor (with the expeception of Marylynn) and the follow through from the back of the house just continues and continues to disappoint.

Last night the Baco Noir was oxidised (our server however replaced it with a new bottle when it was admitted that it had been opened yesterday), and the tenderloin entrees (both), were cold. Not lukewarm, not tepid but cold. The veggies were hot and perfectly cooked!! Yay. But the Banoffee? - just imagine picking up your date to find her dressed in a black evening dress and a pair of Croc's. It just doesn't belong here.

Michael, a concerned and dedicated manager seems to want more from this place but just can't put a team in place to support his efforts. Rob the bartender (if he's still there) pours a well measured and thought out cocktail and Marylynn who I mentioned earlier really is a bright spot - she truly takes your comfort and satisfaction seriously.

Gawley's is not horrible - it's just like a Ground Hog Day first date. Greatly anticipated, ripe with promise but ultimately unfulfilling. Again, again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Washopay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwnerRawleyResort, Owner at Rawley Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Myself along with all the staff are concerned about your disappointment in areas of our dining room. Michael and I have had discussions with all the staff concerned and i can assure you that your concerns have brought some ideas to light.
We were aware of the one time you were here and we didn't meet up to your expectations, however we did not realize that this has happened "again and again" to you. This is very disheartening not just to you, but please know to all of us here too. We are sorry that you did not bring this to Michael's attention on these visits as it makes it easier to indentify the problems if we are made aware of them right away so we can correct them immediately.
I want to ensure you that these types of occurences are rare and do not reflect the level of service that the staff and Michael aspire to. I was surprised about your dislike of the banoffee as it is one of our guests favourite desserts. Our in house comment cards and even Trip Advisor reviews reflect that.
Thank you for your compliments on the decor, views and our new fall menu. Michael has nearly completed the new fall lunch menu and we are excited about it.
We hope that you can sample these menus when you return for the 2013 boating season. I apologize for your unfortunate dining experience and please know we all would be grateful to gain your loyalty back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Severn
0.2 mi away
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
Christie's Mill Inn and Spa
#2 of 4 in Port Severn
303 reviews
18.0 mi away
Residence Inn by Marriott Gravenhurst Muskoka Wharf
5.2 mi away
Severn Lodge
Severn Lodge
#1 of 4 in Port Severn
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Sherwood Inn
Sherwood Inn
#2 of 3 in Port Carling
336 reviews
19.1 mi away
Stone Gate Inn
Stone Gate Inn
#1 of 14 in Orillia
590 reviews
17.8 mi away
Horseshoe Resort
Horseshoe Resort
#7 of 19 in Barrie
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rawley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawley Resort

Address: 2900 Kellys Road | P.O. Box 189, Port Severn, Ontario L0K 1S0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Muskoka District > Port Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Port Severn
Price Range: $147 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rawley Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique all one bedroom suite waterfront hotel. Fine amenities compliment our upscale furnishings and fine linens. Some suites have hospitality kitchens to prepare light lunches. Spa on site. Piano bar. From rain forest shower head to superior personalized service we look forward to entertaining you and yours. Free Wifi. 1-1/4 hr. from 401 off 400. Easy off highway. Perfect for Corporate events, wedding,private parties,families, and couples. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rawley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rawley Hotel Port Severn
Rawley Hotel Muskoka
Rawley Resort Port Severn, Ontario

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing